#1LINEWED FAVORITES: January 17

Holy cow! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? The last time I posted a #1lineWed favorites was in July of last year so it’s past time we get it up and running again, eh? I loved doing this and seeing all the lines from everyone so I’m excited to see more from you all! Also, I apologize that this is so late, but I was busy for the better half of the day, so I hope you don’r mind.

In case you’re new here, bonjour! My name is Jasmine and you’re watching Disney Channel. Just kidding. They can’t copyright me for that, right?… Anywho, thanks for stopping by and if you like what you see, you can follow me for more on here or my social media! 😉

You may be wondering what #1lineWed is. Actually, probably not because it’s a pretty huge deal on Twitter for most writers, but if you don’t know, I’ll tell you. It’s a hashtag on Twitter where writers from all different stages of their writing come together every week and post a line (or multiple) based on the theme. The theme is usually posted within a week’s time by Kiss of Death on Twitter but I normally retweet it so if you can’t find it, look on either of our feeds.

Today’s theme was: TREES, limbs, branches, leaves

Every Wednesday (well, every Wednesday until July last year…) I gather some of my favorite lines from the community and retweet them as well as put them on here. The links to everyone’s Twitters will be on their name below, so go like, comment, and retweet them!

I also post the lines that I’ve tweeted for the day so here they are:

The leaves stretched out across the expanse of the sky and blocked out the sun, making shadows along our path.

Large trees were struck by lightning, falling over in front of me. The charred bark smell shattered the beauty of my dream.

I slowed to a jog and ended up tripping on my pants. My forehead hit a tree root and I screamed as blood flooded my vision.

And these are some that I found on Twitter from you guys! (In no particular order)

Large tiles paved the ground, some half covered with moss and old leaves.

The treetops lapped against the mountain’s sides like twilit green foam, and the glow of the village’s windows shone for miles.

Sunlight filtered through the leaves, and the trees flashed by, a kaleidoscope of colors distorted by the carriage glass.

I stared morosely at the tree, part of me wishing I’d never learned about its existence, never learned I was fae. Never met Alec.

As my leaves fall one by one, all that I’m holding onto seems futile. My branches let go with a reassurance that spring will come

No one wants to be in this place where the silence shrouds like a veil and pain is woven through each branch and blade of grass.

Midnight. A tree falls in the forest. Nobody helps it up. Maybe they’re right not to. Sleep it off, tree. You raging drunk.

Snow dusted my cheeks as I walked toward a grove of aspen trees across the cemetery.

The treetops glimmer in the distance, backlit by a golden orb. Shine on you crazy diamond.

I saw him from a distance My legs shook like trees blowing in the wind My arms quivered like branches No one should know such evil.

A flowering tree that, after a moment of hesitation, burst into the shapes of a thousand butterflies, abandoning sparse branches.

Stacks of horror books covered every surface, gathered as if the pages would rebuild themselves into monsterous trees.

Heaving the most teenagerly sigh in the world, Holly pulls her silver knife from its sheath and walks to the nearby linden trees.

Slipping on a large squishy mushroom, she fell and landed on her side where the odor of moldy leaves and decay made her retch.

Gramps died a month before my foray into the criminal underworld. Now the Copeland family tree consisted of me, myself, and I.

We pass a low-hanging tree, grey and dry like aged skin. I can’t tell if it’s dying or if that’s how it’s supposed to look.

Don’t let him see how nervous he makes you. You are a strong tree, and your feet are roots. Stand firm. Don’t sway.

Had to rethink happily ever after when she cut down the tree I carved our initials into.

He was an oak. Gentle. Timeless. Quiet. We hung on his words and on his arms. When the storms came, he never gave an inch.

Green, wet leaves, so large I could hide behind them. “Stay quiet,” said papa. I was quiet. Even when he screamed, I was quiet.

Clambering up the bark of the nearest tree, I settled upon a sturdy limb. Its form nestled my weary form and, at last, I slept.

“Is it taken care of?” “Yep, buried him right under that big gnarled tree in the garden.” “The Resurrection Tree?” “Oh crap.”

She wore a black dress that clung to her body. The ends of it trailed across the ground like tree roots. She smelled like death.

….the limousine cruised slowly past a line of oak trees, browns and greens smudging in front of Will’s eyes.

A tree harboring memories like lost souls loomed in the center of it all, a chunk of time recycled, a moment relived.


These were only a few of the many lines on Twitter, so if you want to see more, click on one of the links above and it’ll take you there!

I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Chapters from Face All the Pain on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays.

Thank you so much for reading! I hope you all have a wonderful day and a wonderful week. Keep writing, loves. Au revoir.

People mentioned and where you can find them: There’s too many people to name, but if you click their names in the tweets above, it’ll take you to their Twitter profile.

One thought on “#1LINEWED FAVORITES: January 17

Leave a Reply

