To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han | Book Review

Bonjour! Aujourd’hui, j’ai une revue de livres pour vous! Just kidding, I know most of you are from the states. 😉 In case you don’t speak French, I just said: Hello! Today I have a book review for you!

to-all-th-boys-ive-loved-before

Title: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

Author: Jenny Han

Published: Simon & Schuster

Edition: 2014 Paperback

My rating: *****/***** (5/5)

5stars

I had seen this book around on Goodreads, Instagram, and YouTube, but I hadn’t bought it yet. I got it for Christmas, though, and it was the first book that I read out of the pile that I got as presents.

I absolutely loved this book. I read it in two days and couldn’t put it down when I probably should have. And twenty minutes after I finished, I went directly to my local bookstore to find the next one. Sadly, they didn’t have it and I ended up buying more books than I actually needed because I was sad, but that’s besides the point. I loved it so much that I needed the next one.

I don’t think any of the summaries for the book matched the actual story of it. I mean, it partially did because the summary on Goodreads is: What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them…all at once?
Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved–five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

Yes, Lara Jean’s letters did get mailed, but that was really only the beginning. The rest of the story is about Lara Jean keeping secrets and dealing with new relationships while still figuring out how to support her family. The letters being mailed was just the start of the plot.

I give a book a star for each of the qualities I love in books (but I also take into account the other qualities to make my final decision). I ask myself if I liked each of the things and then give a star for each. 1 for likable/relatable characters, 1 for the overall plot, 1 for the overall writing of it (like if it was easily readable and flowed nicely), 1 for sarcasm/humor/wit (of course, this doesn’t count in all books, but I do love when some characters are sarcastic and the writing has some humor), and the last star would be for if I would re-read it again.

The characters were okay. They weren’t bad and that’s why I’m not taking away the star, but I didn’t think they were anything special. There wasn’t really any character development, but they were all well-written. I loved the plot. I don’t think I was quite expecting the plot that came, but it was nice and it made the whole story flow nicely. The writing was one of the best parts, actually. I found that the whole story had a voice of its own. It was funny and had some scenes in it that I literally laughed out loud with. I think I would read it again, but at this point, I’m just thinking about reading the second one. 😉

I won’t say anymore because I want to keep this spoiler free, but if you haven’t read it, you really should. If you have, comment below and tell me how you liked it! 🙂


That’s all for today, lovely readers! I really hope you enjoyed this review and hopefully I’ll be putting more out in the new year! I’ll see you later, but until then, keep writing, loves. 😉

Leave a Reply

