Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon Book Review | Écrits du Coeur

Last week, I posted a review of Me Before You that was EXTREMELY late, so I thought, why not keep it up and post ANOTHER late review! I read Infinity in the same weekend as I did Me Before you and never posted either of them and I need to get it off my to-do list so here it is!

Also, I apologize for posting two posts today and both are reviews, but it’s a new year and I really need to just put this out there. Enjoy!


Welcome back!

If you’re new, I’m Jasmine and I’m a writer but I also do other things like review really good books! 😉

coloredcoloredcoloredemptyempty

infinity.png

Title: Infinity (Chronicles of Nick #1)

Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

Published: St. Martin’s Griffin

Edition: 2011 Paperback

My rating: ***/***** (3/5)

 

Today’s book review is about Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon. It’s a book I received for Christmas as a present from my aunt and I’ve been putting it off for a long time. I have no idea WHY I haven’t read it, but it just never happened, but when I took part in the 24in48 readathon, I picked it up.

I was told that this book was excellent and that it was kind of like City of Bones. Both of those were kind of true. I feel like this book lacked description and it didn’t flow as well as it should. The words sounded too forced and rushed and there was a lot of telling instead of showing. Other than that, it was pretty good.

This was also alike City of Bones (more on that later) but I feel like this was much better (surprisingly.)

Anyway, let’s go to the summary portion of this review, shall we? This is the review that’s on Goodreads: At fourteen, Nick Gautier thinks he knows everything about the world around him. Streetwise, tough, and savvy, his quick sarcasm is the stuff of legends. . .until the night when his best friends try to kill him. Saved by a mysterious warrior who has more fighting skills than Chuck Norris, the teenaged Nick is sucked into the realm of the Dark-Hunters: immortal vampire slayers who risk everything to save humanity.

Nick quickly learns that the human world is only a veil for a much larger and more dangerous one: a world where the captain of the football team is a werewolf and the girl he has a crush on goes out at night to stake the undead. But before he can even learn the rules of this new world, his fellow students are turning into flesh-eating zombies–and he’s next on the menu.
As if starting high school isn’t hard enough. . .now Nick has to hide his new friends from his mom, his chain saw from the principal, and keep the zombies and the demon Simi from eating his brains, all without getting grounded or suspended. How in the world is he supposed to do that?

Here’s how I would describe it: A teenager named Nick is pretty misunderstood. He doesn’t have a bunch of friends and the friends he DOES have usually turn on him. He enters into the world of Dark Hunters who rid the world of demons. (This is the part where it sounds like City of Bones.) He goes on an adventure with his friends to find the cure for this plague of zombies and find out who Nick actually is.

This book has a bit of romance, tons of sarcasm, and a bunch of zombies which is always a plus in books.

While I was reading, I kept thinking of who my favorite character was. For some reason, I couldn’t find myself in love with any of the characters. They were all fairly well-written characters, but none of them were in your face good. I did come up with the conclusion that Simi was my favorite character. She’s a little dinky  and doesn’t seem to know much about what’s going on but she was completely badass when it came down to it. The rest of the other characters were confusing, and didn’t really make sense in the story other than for a few miniature plot points and then nothing.

Now, I’m not bashing on this book because it was actually really good and I would recommend it more than I would City of Bones but it wasn’t really up to my standards. I tried hard to like this book and I mostly did, but there were some things that bugged me. That;s why it gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

I have a system for rating books. I give a book a star for each of the qualities I love in books (but I also take into account the other qualities to make my final decision). I ask myself if I liked each of the things and then give a star for each. 1 for likable/relatable characters, 1 for the overall plot, 1 for the overall writing of it (like if it was easily readable and flowed nicely), 1 for sarcasm/humor/wit (of course, this doesn’t count in all books, but I do love when some characters are sarcastic and the writing has some humor), and the last star would be for if I would re-read it again.

I didn’t really like the characters, the plot was extremely exciting, the writing could have been better, there was a bunch of sarcasm and wit, but I don’t think I would read it again. I enjoyed it, but I think it’s a one time deal and I would probably stop midway and give up if I read it a second time.


 

That’s it for today, everyone! Thank you so much for reading and I hope you enjoyed my book review! I tried to keep it spoiler free, but if you’ve read it and I gave something away, please let me know.

I also have this same review on Goodreads and you can find all the links in my ‘Let’s Get in Touch’ page at the top of this screen.

I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Chapters of Face All the Pain on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

One thought on “Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon Book Review | Écrits du Coeur

  1. Pingback: Chapter 3: ‘Funny how these things come about’ | Face All the Pain – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

