2017 Can’t Come Soon Enough

Bonjour! If you haven’t already realized, it’s 2017 (but I’m writing this post ahead of time, so actually, it’s still 2016, but when you read this, it’ll be 2017.) I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for 2016 to be over.

Recently, I was looking back through my old posts on here (it’s been a year since I started my blog already!) and found one I titled “2016, Here We Come!” My first thought was ‘Wow, remember when we were all so hopeful that 2016 was going to be a great year?’ and then my second thought was to make a conclusion post.

In there, I attached a 2016 ‘bucket list’ that I hoped to do and said that I was going to come back on January 1st, 2017 and tell you how I did, so here we go!

  • Stay to my New Year’s Bucket List: For the most part, I did this. I guess you’ll see as we progress through the list.
  • Get my book published: Still didn’t do this. Honestly, I can’t even come up with a good excuse for this, it just didn’t happen.
  • Write more of my books: I did do this one. Kind of. I wrote a book for NaNoWriMo 2016, but it’s not completed yet and I’ve been working on several other stories throughout the year.
  • Read more: Yep! As of writing this post, I read 26 books in 2016.
  • Post on my blog regularly: I started out doing this, but then I trailed off a little because I was feeling a little obligated to do it.
  • Make a crown for my dog so that he can be king and someday rule the world: I actually forgot about this one, so it didn’t happen, but I did get him a throne (it’s actually just a tiny chair)snapchat-397550511
  • Read all of my TBR before buying more books: Did past me really think this was going to happen?
  • Doing more yoga since God knows I need it: Nope. Completely forgot about this one as well.
  • Learn to draw something other than stick figures: I’m actually so proud of myself for getting this one done! I’ve been taking an art class for extra credit and I’ve learned a lot! I now know how to draw cupcakes, heads, and owls. Not all of them look very good, but they’re not stick figures! 😀
  • Go to violin lessons every week: I actually quit violin lessons because I didn’t like my teacher and I wasn’t learning anything, so I’ve been teaching myself. I do violin every other day and it’s going pretty well. While I didn’t do EXACTLY as the thing said, I’m counting it.
  • Get my Learner’s Permit: Did this in early July! I’m still working my way to an actual licence, but it’s going pretty good!
  • Work on my grades. Mostly math: Eh. I mean, I’ve been getting good grades, but I don’t know if I’ve improved any since last year.
  • Write more poetry: I tried this in the beginning, but then I found that I don’t understand poetry. I can’t read it and I certainly can’t write it. Maybe if I put my everything into trying to learn, I could do it, but for now, it’s still a mysterious form of writing to me.
  • Try at least ten new things in 2016: I should have been making a list, but I doubt it was ten things. Honestly, though, 2016 has been such a long year that I can’t remember half of the things I even did.
  • Finish making my 2016 calendar that has been sitting in my closet for months: Nopety nope nope.
  • Win NaNoWriMo!: Woohoo! I did this and a day early in November!
  • Find new flavors of tea: I tried some fruity teas, but found that it wasn’t my thing so I’m sticking with regular flavors like white, green, and black. Also, I got a box of different teas for Christmas and I’ve been trying those. There should be a YouTube video of that coming soon. 😉
  • Go to a book signing: Did I do this in 2016? I think so. Well, I went to the signing with Rachel Hawkins and V.E. Schwab and wrote a post about it on here, so it only makes since to say it was 2016. So, yes. I did.
  • Meet a famous person: Define famous. And define meet. I met Rachel Hawkins and V.E. Schwab (and interviewed them!) but they might not be the definition of FAMOUS. And then I was in the same room as Andy Biersack, but that doesn’t mean I MET him. 😉

 

I guess 2016 was productive. Looking back on all of the things that have happened in 2016, though, I’m surprised I did anything other than crawl under a blanket and think about the decisions of the world. And because I want to have at least a LITTLE hope for 2017, I’m going to be making another bucket list for the year.

  • Win NaNoWriMo!
  • Get through a 2017 reading challenge without giving up.
  • Donate during Project For Awesome.
  • Get my driver’s licence.
  • Stay alive.
  • Make my dog a crown since I didn’t do it in 2016.
  • Read AT LEAST half of my TBR pile.
  • Finish watching TWD. (I’m behind and this is an important goal to have, okay?)
  • Don’t spend all my money on books.
  • Talk to people IRL more often.
  • Finish writing The Writer and the Artist.
  • Finish writing Light the Way.
  • Win Camp NaNo at least one time.
  • Put more songs on the album I’m doing with my sister (more on this later 😉 )
  • Pet 5 different cats.
  • Beat my own high score on Just Dance.
  • Get through 11th grade without failing.
  • Figure out how to do a winged eyeliner

 

As you can see, most of these aren’t actual goals, but honestly, I don’t think 2017 will be any better than 2016. I will be back with another one of these in January 2018… Wow, that seems like so far away.

Thanks for reading, everyone. Have a great year and don’t give up. No matter how much we have to go through, I know we can do it. 🙂 Keep writing, loves.

15 thoughts on “2017 Can’t Come Soon Enough

  1. I love your list. XD Talking in IRL, I’d have to be feeling adventurous, I mean fictional characters are so much more understanding. Ah, winged eyeliner though, I doubt I’ll ever master that art, but I may try. I hope you have an awesome year achieving all these goals though, it sounds awesome!
    P.S. That dog needs a crown, I means he’s a handsome king/future ruler anyway. XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!
      I feel the same way about talking IRL, but if you pretend real people are just fictional, it makes for a way better conversation. 😉
      I think I’ve just been afraid to even try winged eyeliner, so maybe this will get me out of my comfort-zone.
      Aww, thank you so much, I hope you have a wonderful year and may 2017 bring you many accomplishments!
      P.S. Of course he does. I think that’s why he’s not talking to me; HE knows he should have a crown. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

        • I think the best advice I can give you to sum it all up is to write what your heart tells you (which just so happens to be the name of my blog 😉 ) Always write what you like to write about or what you like to see, because as soon as you start writing for things other than yourself, it seems a bit forced, if that makes sense.
          I have a schedule for my blog (Monday is book reviews, Tuesday is tags, Wednesday is #1lineWed tweets, Thursday is WIP or short stories, Friday is chapters from my book, Saturday is a break day, and Sunday is Random Ramblings) It gives my blog some variety, but not too much to where it feels all over the place. And of course, it doesn’t matter if you skip days or write something outside of the theme for the day, because it is your blog, but it makes it feel more organized.
          So to answer your questions specifically: 1. I write how I feel and what comes to my mind. 2. Not necessarily. A blog is like a piece of you and it’s just a way to get your feeling out there. Write about your day or a funny story or even advice for someone.
          I really hope that helps you and if you need more, feel free to ask me; I LOVE questions. 😉

          Like

  2. These are wonderful goals and I applaud you for everything you did in 2016. I also love the fact that you have “talk to more people IRL” on your list… That’s on mine, too. 😉 Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Best of luck with all your 2017 goals, my dear! And don’t be too hard on yourself. Think positive and you can achieve anything you set your mind to! I know that you can do it! Keep believing in yourself and I’ll be here to cheer you on every step of the way ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

