Me Before You by Jojo Moyes Book Review | Écrits du Coeur

Okay, so I’m ashamed to say that this post was scheduled for July, but I never got around to posting it, so I’m doing it now. I’m keeping all of the original writing (except for this part) mostly because I’m lazy, but also because I think it’s funny to look back on. 😉


Hello there!

Man, everything’s been quiet around here lately, hasn’t it? I took a bit of a hiatus and it wasn’t planned but much needed. It was refreshing to not have to schedule anything in. I haven’t had school, or driver’s ed, or writing blog posts. To be completely honest, I haven’t even written anything in so long. I promise we’ll get into the swing of things even though it might take me a while to do.

So back to the post! If you weren’t aware, I participated in the 24in48 readathon in July and finished Me Before You and Infinity (review coming next week!) and I promised a review of both of them. Since I was on a break, I never wrote the review for either of them so I’m taking the time now to do so. 😉

 

coloredcoloredcoloredcoloredempty

 

me before you.png

Title: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Published: Penguin Books

Edition: 2013 Paperback

My rating: ****/***** (4/5)

Before I forget to tell you, this is a completely spoiler-free review and it’s only over the book (I have yet to watch the movie.)

Since this is a book that has a lot of attention and I know nobody reads reviews the whole way through (or maybe that’s just me?) I’m going to tell you how I feel about it first. I definitely cried. Not as much as I was expecting to (I did my research) but I did cry.

If we have to bring it up, I’ll tell you something else. I’m an emotional person anyways. I cry at the end of pretty much every single book. Now, there are some instances when I was ACTUALLY crying (like snot and multiple tears and it goes on for about three hours) like when I read The Fault in Our Stars and this was nothing like that. I have no idea what that means or what that makes me, but I don’t think I would call it a full on sob party.

This book also made me laugh, though. Unexpectedly, this book was more funny to me than it was sad. (Believe me, it was very sad, though.) It wasn’t even like funny things happened but… I don’t know, I’m a strange person.

This book is about a young girl named Louisa who is looking for a job and picks up one working as a caregiver for a quadriplegic man who lived his whole life in an adventure. Now, he’s in a wheelchair and his life is literally turned upside down and the only one who seems to help him get through his hard time is Lou. This is a sad book with many moments of crying and many moments of laughing. It was wonderfully written, had a great plot, and fantastic characters.

I have a system for rating books even though it looks like I just pick a random number. I give a book a star for each of the qualities I love in books (but I also take into account the other qualities to make my final decision). I ask myself if I liked each of the things and then give a star for each. 1 for likable/relateable characters, 1 for the overall plot, 1 for the overall writing of it (like if it was easily readable and flowed nicely), 1 for sarcasm/humor/wit (of course, this doesn’t count in all books, but I do love when some characters are sarcastic and the writing has some humor), and the last star would be for if I would re-read it again.

Like I said, I liked the characters, the plot was great, I loved the writing, I laughed quite a bit, but I don’t think I would read it again. It takes a lot to get me to reread a book and this book just didn’t have that. I was expecting so much more from this book (even though it was great) and it fell short.


Thank you so much for reading! I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Chapters of Face All the Pain on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

 

Leave a Reply

