Happy Birthday, Ecrits du Coeur! | Writing Q&A

Hello, everyone! Today’s post is very special because we’re celebrating the one-year anniversary of my blog! Well, actually, it’s been one year and 3 days, but I had some problems uploading this so you’re getting it now. 😉

On December 18th, 2015, I wrote my very first blog post. It was just a writing Q&A (which you can find here) and I was just starting out with social media and stuff, but I’ve changed so much since then.

For starters, the blog name has changed. If you’ve been here from the beginning, you’d know that it wasn’t always Ecrits du Coeur and instead was Jasmine’s Writing Corner. With some new themes and a new name, Ecrits du Coeur became what you see now! I’m so proud of my blog and I’m so glad it’s become something that I love doing, even if I’ve been slacking recently.

If you haven’t read my very first post, I put a link in the second paragraph and you should really read it because I thought it would be fun to re-do that Q&A and look at the progress. So, thank you for tagging me to do this a year ago, Mollie. Let’s do it again a second time. 😉

 

WHEN DID YOU FIRST START WRITING? WAS BEING A WRITER SOMETHING YOU ALWAYS ASPIRED TO?

I started writing when I was about ten or eleven and, at the time, it wasn’t supposed to be a book. I had the idea and I wanted to write it down to remember it and it became something more than just a dream. I never thought of myself as a writer until I finished writing that book and I never would have imagined myself where I am today.

WHAT GENRE DO YOU WRITE?

It’s a mix between YA and NA, but mostly young adult. And I’m horrible at writing anything non-fiction so it’s strictly fiction.

CAN YOU TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT YOUR CURRENT WORK IN PROGRESS? WHEN DID YOU START WORKING ON THIS PROJECT?

As of this time, I’m not really working on anything. If you read my post about my Lorelai Gilmore Dilemma, you would know that I’ve been taking a bit of a break from writing. I just finished writing Light the Way for NaNoWriMo and I should start editing it in 2017 so I would say that one.

WHAT WAS YOUR FIRST PIECE THAT YOU CAN REMEMBER WRITING? WHAT WAS IT ABOUT?

I wrote a few stories when I was younger, but they never turned out to be anything and I have no idea what happened to them, so the first one that turned out to be a full book, was called A Ghostly Kiss and it was based on a dream I had. In the dream, there was a ghost family that lived across the street from me and my family were the only people who could see them. AGK is a lot of the same story-line but, of course, the story takes you where it takes you.

WHAT’S THE BEST PART ABOUT WRITING?

My answer hasn’t changed for this one bit. In the original, I said the idea part and that’s my answer now. When you’re actually writing the book, it doesn’t quite come out how you originally thought it and I think the way I want the story to go is way better than how it turns out.

WHAT’S THE WORST PART ABOUT WRITING?

This one is the same as well! I hate editing with a passion. I’ve only edited AGK twice and it still needs a lot of work and I just want to write other things, not read through crappy writing.

WHAT’S THE NAME OF YOUR FAVORITE CHARACTER AND WHY?

I really like Everest from Light the Way. He’s the main character’s eight-year-old brother who she accidently turned into a cat and can’t change him back. No matter what she did to him, though, Everest has always loved his sister and looks up to her as a role model. Also, he can’t speak English so he’s in a constant game of charades which I think it pretty funny.

HOW MUCH TIME A DAY/WEEK DO YOU GET TO WRITE? WHEN IS THE BEST TIME FOR YOU TO WRITE (MORNING OR NIGHT)?

Like I said, I haven’t really been writing, but when I was doing NaNoWriMo, I wrote every single day (even if it was just a few hundred words) and it was at all different times of day. In the beginning of the month, I wrote at night because that was when everything was settling down, but then I started to write in the morning and I found that it was more productive. Then towards the end, I procrastinated so much that it was usually really late at night when I would get the words down.

DID YOU GO TO COLLEGE FOR WRITING?

I’m still in high school, so no, I haven’t gone to college for writing, but I do want to. I’ve talked about going to Emerson and getting a degree in English but NYU is also in the running. After all of that, I’d like to become a publisher (specifically at Harper Collins, but anywhere is fine, really)

WHAT BOTHERS YOU MORE: SPEELING ERRORS; PUNCTUATION, ERRORS, OR ERRORS FOR GRAMMAR?

I’m not the best with grammar (I blame it on living in Texas where every sentece starts with ‘So, y’all’) and I’m pretty good with punctuation so I’d say spelling is what does it in for me.

WHAT IS THE BEST WRITING ADVICE THAT ANYONE HAS GIVEN YOU?

Everyone likes giving advice and so do I, which makes it hard to find a specific piece. I think my favorite general one is simply ‘write what makes you happy’. This can mean so many different things but all of them are so deep and genuine.

Also, I wanted to share my answer from a year ago because I think it’s pretty ironic. As a note, when I was picking out a new name for my blog, I didn’t go back and read the first post so the fact that it’s always been lingering there makes me feel like it was meant to be:

“Write what your heart tells you.” Is most likely my favorite. 

And also the answer for the next question a year ago was this:

Write from your heart. Write what you love to write and don’t let anyone tell you it’s wrong. Literature is personal and you can make it any way you want.

(If you don’t understand, my blog name is French for ‘Writings from the Heart’)

WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO ANOTHER WRITER?

There are no rules when it comes to your writing. Write what you feel and what you know and no one can judge you for that. Writing is like a piece of you that you’re sharing with the world, so don’t be afraid to let go a little and let your voice come out.

WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE WRITING SITES OR BLOGS THAT YOU TURN TO FOR HELP, TIPS OR ENCOURAGEMENT?

Oh, there are so many! When I need tips or encouragement, I turn to my friends. I’ve made so many since starting Ecrits du Coeur and I don’t think I’d be here without them. I’ll tag some of these people at the end to do this tag. 😉

BESIDES WRITING, WHAT ELSE DO YOU ENJOY DOING? WHAT ARE YOUR HOBBIES?

I’m a huge fangirl so I love watching movies and tv shows and freaking out over the cute guys. I make YouTube videos sometimes and I enjoy editing them so I guess that’s a hobby. 🙂

WHAT’S THE BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ THIS YEAR?

It’s a tie between both of K.J. Chapman’s books. I read EVO Nation first and fell in love and then I read Thrown to the Blue, which is beyond words. If you haven’t read them, you should definitely check them out. 😀

WHAT’S THE BEST MOVIE YOU’VE SEEN THIS YEAR?

I don’t really watch new movies. I’m more of a fan of old/older movies that I find on Netflix and such. I do have to say The Breakfast Club (even though it was a rewatch… multiple times this year) because that will always be one of my favorites.

Ooh, another on just came to me. I recently watched La Famille Belier (three times, actually, I think) with Louane Emera as the main character (and I LOVE LOVE LOVE Louane) and I enjoyed it so much. You can actually watch it for free online (and you should) with English subtitles if you don’t speak French.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE BOOK OR SERIES OF ALL TIME?

Hmm… this one is so hard! Maybe The Selection?

WHO IS YOUR FAVORITE AUTHOR?

Definitely John Green. I devour all of his books and I love his writing style.

WHAT ARE YOUR PLANS FOR THE REST OF THE YEAR IN TERMS OF YOUR WRITING?

Because it’s already December and I’m still taking a little break, not much. I might begin editing Light the Way or outline a few more books, but I probably won’t be writing anymore this year.

WHERE ELSE CAN WE FIND YOU ONLINE?

I have two Instagrams; my personal one (@jasmine_writes_) and my book one (@ecrits_du_coeur).

My Twitter: (@jasmine_writes)

My Snapchat: (@jasminedawn22)

And my YouTube channel: Ecrits du Coeur or here’s a link- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMKfs9Oa_B8H5juIKiCYwDQ

 

Finally, to tag some lovely people! If you’ve already been tagged and haven’t done it in a while, do it again and see how your answers have changed!

Mollie

Jewel

Gabriel

KJ

Faith

Pete

Rachel

Jen

Holly

And you if you’re reading this! I’d love for you to play along! 😉


That’s all I have for you today! I really hope you enjoyed this post, without readers like you, we wouldn’t be celebrating my blog’s birthday. So, thank y’all from the bottom of my heart! Keep writing, loves.

11 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Ecrits du Coeur! | Writing Q&A

  1. Happy anniversary Jasmine, looking forward to year two 😃 Thanks for the tag, will do after the Christmas stupidity has calmed down and I have a minute to myself

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy first year! I hope you keep this going for many more! 🙂

    I remember being tagged for this, so I don’t feel like I can participate this time. But I can tell you that I’m currently nearing the end of my third novel! Only three chapters to go for the trilogy to be done… then I can start revising all three manuscripts. That will be a whole lot of fun. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! Where have I been that I missed this announcement 😦 Most well deserved and heartfelt blessings to you, my dear! Happy Belated Birthday to your beautiful blog! You are a kind soul and a great friend and I hope that 2017 brings much happiness and great experiences your way 🙂
    And thank you for the tag. I will try to get to it soon 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

