Fay Storms by A.A. Frascati | Book Review

Hello, all! Today, I’m coming to you with a book review of Fay Storms. I was given an ebook version in return for an honest review by the author. 🙂

Fay Storms comes out on December 19th, so you should snag yourself a copy when it comes out to form your own opinion. 😉

cover-fay-storms-page-001-200x300

Title: Fay Storms

Author: A.A. Frascati

Published: Dec. 19th, 2016

Edition: ARC Ebook

My rating:***/***** (3/5)

3stars

The synopsis of this book, which you can find on Goodreads, is as follows: Thief by trade. Half-breed by blood. Fifer is part-Fay and all pluck.
When her partner goes missing and she is abducted by demanding clients, Fifer finds herself trapped in a plot she wants no part of. By fulfilling her contract with the Aestus, the brotherhood of powerful and secretive warriors, she will discover that she’s not what she thinks.
The Aestus need her—even though Arkadius, Master in training, can’t see it. In order to stop the Aestus clans from warring among themselves, Arkadius must rely on Fifer to steal a powerful magical artifact. But how can a woman save the mighty Aestus? When he discovers the answer, the fate of the Empire will rest on the edge of his sword.

Usually, I would give my own summary of a book, but I actually couldn’t tell you because I didn’t finish it. I talked with the author in early November about reading this book, and I expected it to be a quick fun read, but it was actually so much more than that and it took a lot out of me to read it.

Since I was writing during NaNoWriMo, it was a bit difficult to read without falling asleep, especially because the writing was SO descriptive. I do love descriptions in books. They make you feel like you’re there and add voice to the story, but sometimes when the descriptions are too much, I find that it’s a little too much and that was the case with Fay Storms. Actually, I found my mind drifting off while reading it because the sentences were long and took a lot of effort to understand.

I read about half of the book before I was running out of time and had to write the review, so I stopped. I also realized, once I stopped, that I was just forcing myself to read it through to write a review, but I didn’t want to do that. I want to read this book for fun and feel like it’s a pleasure instead of a chore. I will most likely read this again in the upcoming year and, hopefully, I will put up a different review. 🙂

I give a book a star for each of the qualities I love in books (but I also take into account the other qualities to make my final decision). I ask myself if I liked each of the things and then give a star for each. 1 for likable/relatable characters, 1 for the overall plot, 1 for the overall writing of it (like if it was easily readable and flowed nicely), 1 for sarcasm/humor/wit (of course, this doesn’t count in all books, but I do love when some characters are sarcastic and the writing has some humor), and the last star would be for if I would re-read it again.

I really liked the characters and I felt like they were well-written. Sometimes, I find that the characters are so flat that they don’t keep the story going, but Fifer was one of the most complicated characters I’ve read about. The plot was a great idea and when I read the synopsis the first time, I got extremely excited to read it. Sadly, the overall writing of it fell a little flat for me with run-on sentences and a lot of description that it felt overwhelming. I don’t think it’s fair to add this one for a fourth star, since it didn’t really have any humor or sarcasm. (Like I said, this doesn’t count for every book, and if that’s the case, I look at the overall book and decide if giving it the extra star is worth it. For this book, I felt more comfortable giving it 3 stars instead of five.) And the last star is for if I would read it again, which I would. I think once I’m less busy, I’d really enjoy reading this, but for now, it’s going to stay as a ‘didn’t finish’ book. (November and December have been SUPER busy for me and it was hard to sit down and focus on reading this book.)

But reviews aren’t everything. Sometimes, you may love a book that others weren’t very fond of and that could be the case, so I would suggest you read it for yourself when it comes out on December 19th. Plus, you might be less busy and enjoy sitting with a cup of tea with this story. 😉


That’s all I have for you today, my lovely readers! Thank you so much for reading this review and if you’d like, you can add me as a friend on Goodreads and see more like this one! I’ll see you all later, but until then, keep writing, loves. 😉

2 thoughts on “Fay Storms by A.A. Frascati | Book Review

  1. I know what you mean about reading to write reviews. I was stressing myself out to do just that, even if I didn’t like the book. When I really thought about it, I was putting aside the mustreads in my tbr pile to read stories that I had no interest in. I decided to do exactly what you did- put aside books that I couldn’t get into. I’m also fussier about what books I take on for review.

    Once again, I’m reading for fun and enjoying it much more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you’re on the same boat! Being a book reviewer is hard when you try to juggle pleasure reading with business reading, but as long as we can remember that it should all be fun, I think everything will turn out fine in the end. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

