Books Are Like Friends | Random Ramblings

Hello! Long time no see, eh? I’ve been a bit busy with NaNoWriMo, school, and just normal everyday stuff, so it’s been hard to find time for writing on here.

Yesterday, I was reading Anna and the French Kiss by Stephani Perkins (I was assigned it for my French History class which is pretty cool) and I had this thought. Books are like friends.

Let me start from the beginning. (“Oh no, she’s about to tell us a long story.” Just shut up and listen. It’s not a long story.) I hadn’t read any of AatFK other than the back of the book. I had no idea what it was about or who the characters were and that’s one of the best parts about reading a brand new book!

It got me thinking that that is exactly how it is when you meet people. Now, I haven’t met very many people because I’m extremely introverted, but I have met some and this is how it goes: You see the person from a distance and you think some kind of thought about them whether it be good or bad. Maybe you heard from some other close friends or acquaintances that the person was pretty cool so you decide to give them a chance. You walk over and they introduce themselves, maybe giving you a little information about them like what they like to do or where they live and such. Maybe you decide you don’t particularly like this person, so you kind of shy away from them, or maybe you want to know more. You spend more time with this person and learn new things about them to the point where you can anticipate how they’ll react to something.

Now, let me explain it in book terms, just for fun. You see a book from a distance and you think a thought about, maybe good or bad. You’ve heard from a few people that this book is good so you decide to pick it up. You read the title and then the synopsis. If the synopsis bores you or isn’t something you’d read, you put it don and move on. If you like it, you might buy it or borrow it from the library. You spend some time reading this book, from the beginning without knowing anything to the point where you know how the characters will react to certain things or which way the plot might go.

It’s a gradual process, but you end up gaining a new friend or a new favorite book. Sorry, if this bored you or wasn’t what you were expecting, but I just thought of it and decided to write a RR about it. 😉

 


How has NaNoWriMo been treating you guys? Have you already finished with the challenge? When I see someone like that, I wonder if they’re robots because I can barely write 3,000 words in one day before getting tired of everything. 😉

Oh, by the way, I wanted to tell you about this really cool website. It’s called Pacemaker and it lets you create a plan (kind of like how NaNoWriMo is set up, but you can do it all year long) for your writing. It’s extremely easy to use and it helps a lot (and it’s free!) Also, Pacemaker is doing a NaNo challenge where writers get on a team (planner or pantser) and update their word counts like they normally would. In the end, we see which team has the most words to see which way is better. 😉 To see the challenge, here’s a link: https://pacemaker.press/users/PacemakerOfficial/challenges/pacemaker-nanowrimo-tournament

(By the way, I was not paid to talk about Pacemaker, it’s simply my own opinions of the useful website. 🙂 )

And with that, I’m saying farewell! Not forever and hopefully not for as long as I’ve been away, but I don’t know exactly when I’ll be back. If you still want to see what I’m up to, follow me on my social media because I’m on there pretty frequently. 🙂

Until next time, keep writing, loves. 😉

Leave a Reply

