Thrown to the Blue by K.J. Chapman | Book Review

Welcome back to my blog! Or if you’ve never been here before, hello! My name is Jasmine and I’ll be your hostess tonight. 😉

welcome

Just kidding. Today, I’m giving you a review of this ABSOLUTELY AMAZING book that I just finished reading like ten seconds ago. Well, for you, it’ll be yesterday since I’m writing this on Sunday, but it’ll be up on Monday. Anyways, let’s get started so I don’t bore you to death with my blabbering. 😉blabbering

Thrown to the Blue comes out on November 11th, but I have read this as an ARC in exchange for an honest review. Everything said below about this book is my opinion solely with no outside influences. 🙂

 

thrown-to-the-blue

Title: Thrown to the Blue

Author: K.J. Chapman

Published: K.J. Chapman

Edition: 2016 ebook

My rating: *****/***** (5/5)

5stars

Firstly, I’ll tell you what this book is all about (without spoilers) so you can know what you’ll be getting into. 😉 Ezrahli is a princess who might also be a witch who might also be the only one who can save everyone from the wrath of darkness. She is also an assassin who doesn’t care who she has to kill to protect herself and the ones she loves. Which leads her to meet Reed, an archer who is also an assassin and a sorcerer. Together, they must conquer the evil witch who is somehow defying the rules of magic to save everyone! Sounds awesome, doesn’t it?

wow

I usually compare books to other books because there are just so many alike out there, but for this one, I can’t think of a single one. Maybe it’s just because my knowledge of books stops at an early point or maybe it’s because this book was so unique. It has witches and sorcerers, spells, magic, romance, suspense, princesses and princes, murder, and so many other things that even if I tried, I couldn’t name all of.

magic

The way everything was happening in so much detail, it felt like I was actually there, which I LOVE in books. And all of those feels! It was like…. my emotions had no idea how to feel so it just went all over the place!

crylaughingstranglewhat

Now for why I gave it five stars out of five. You all know my system by now. I give a book a star for each of the qualities I love in books (but I also take into account the other qualities to make my final decision). I ask myself if I liked each of the things and then give a star for each. 1 for likable/relatable characters, 1 for the overall plot, 1 for the overall writing of it (like if it was easily readable and flowed nicely), 1 for sarcasm/humor/wit (of course, this doesn’t count in all books, but I do love when some characters are sarcastic and the writing has some humor), and the last star would be for if I would re-read it again.

I gave one star for the characters. They were well-thought out and loveable and the ones who were not loveable still had so much emotion in them that it was easy to hate them. I gave one star for the plot because that was… crazy. That’s all I’m going to say because I’m not going to spoil you. 😉 The writing was magnificent so it received a star. Instead of sarcasm, humor, and wit, I’m switching it out for feelings and emotions. Well, like I said, this had me feeling so many different things so this definitely gets a star. Lastly, I would CERTAINLY read this again. Actually, once the paperbacks come out, I will be reading it more than is probably healthy for a reader and a book.

Like I told K.J. on Twitter, this has become one of my favorite books of 2016 and I think you will all do well with reading it. 🙂

love

Thank you so, so, so, so, so much for reading. You know I love you all and I hope you have a fantastic rest of your  week. 🙂 I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Chapters of Face All the Pain on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.❤

7 thoughts on “Thrown to the Blue by K.J. Chapman | Book Review

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Ecrits du Coeur! | Writing Q&A – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

