YouTube Videos and Copyright Issues | Random Ramblings

Hello, everybody.

hola

Today I’m coming at you with another Random Ramblings post. This one is all about YouTube and copyright issues.

YouTube-icon-full_color

If you didn’t already know, I have a YouTube channel called Écrits du Coeur (here’s a link) and I have gone through what every other YouTuber has gone through before. Copyright issues.

On Twitter a few weeks ago, I had a mini-rant about the whole problem:

tweet

That pretty much said all that I needed to say, but I wanted to give you a little more detail. This all started when I uploaded a video titled The Siblings Tag. Usually, when editing videos, I use background music and that in itself isn’t a problem. However, if you use a song in it that has some kind of license attached to it, it can be a problem.

If you go to the end of the video, you can see that I used ‘I Want What You Have’ by Willamette Stone. I knew that I wanted to use it because I liked the beat and tempo so I went on the audio library (a place on YouTube where you can see if you can use the song or if it has a license/ attribution with it) and searched for it. It didn’t show up, but I still wanted to use it, so I made sure I clearly stated that I didn’t own the song multiple times and said who it was by in the description.

Of course, this didn’t work and it was a mistake on my part. I’m not saying that anyone was in the wrong but me but I think it’s so time-consuming to do all this.

YouTube has an automatic computerized… thingy (I have no idea what to call it. An algorithm maybe? I don’t know.) that goes through your video literally seconds after you publish it and finds all the copyrighted material. This is an amazing thing to have because the owner of said copyrighted material doesn’t even have to watch the video and flag it for it to be labeled as copyright.

Anyways, I was given a copyright notice on a few of my videos so I took it down, went back to my handy-dandy editor, and changed the music to non-copyright music (it’s always only the music, though you can get flagged if you use a picture or video clip as well).

It happened again for this video so I went on to see what they had claimed and the penalties for it. You see, when someone flags a video as having copyrighted material in it, they can do one of many options. They can take it down, they simply flag it as their own and that’s it, or they can even add ads to your videos.

I just want to say something about monetization for a second. Many YouTubers have ads on their videos and they make money whenever someone watches those ads. Firstly, I don’t have many people to watch my videos so it wouldn’t even be worth it to enable monetization, and I honestly hate ads.

When my video got flagged as copyright, the owner of the song sent me a message (not directly. It was automated by YouTube) saying that they’d let me use the song in my video, but they’re going to put ads on it and every time someone watches it, they get money.

It might sound like it bothers me, but it really doesn’t. I’d rather not have any copyright claims to my account and I’d rather have no ads, but I’m glad they’re still allowing me to keep my video up.

It does give me a big headache to think about everything in the YouTube industry (and I’ve just skimmed the surface. There are tons of other blog posts out there who explain everything more and in more detail) but it does make me happy to know that we’ve evolved so much that we can, one, make videos and you viewers can watch them for free and two, automatically tell if our music,songs, and videos are being used by other people.

Like I said in the tweet, though, I love making videos, I love editing them, and I love seeing your reactions to them so I’m in no way trash-talking YouTube. 😉

Okay, my rant is over. If you have any questions, suggestions, or stories of your own, feel free to leave a comment below!

Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Chapters of Face All the Pain on Fridays, and Camp NaNo Updates on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.:)

Find my previous post here: #1lineWed Favorites: July 27

8 thoughts on “YouTube Videos and Copyright Issues | Random Ramblings

  1. How do you know if something is copyrighted or not? Starting a YouTube channel is something I want to do in the near future, but haven’t because I don’t know what I’m doing and I know it’s not as easy as it looks.
    At the same time, though, if you give credit to the artist of the song and such you think they’d be happy their song is being used. It’s like free advertisement for their work, you know? Lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You’d think they would realize they’re getting free advertisement, but for some reason, everything now is all about ownership and money and greed. “I own this so you can’t use it without paying me.” This is actually an avenue to stagnating creativity. A person learns to be creative by using the tools someone else created. The stringent way in which copyright is handled on YouTube, not being able to use any copyrighted material, can not only drown out a person’s attempt to be creative, but also stifle their desire to learn to be more creative. It’s like taking a coloring book away from a child just wanting to color because the child didn’t draw the pictures in the book that are to be colored.

      Actually, in Jasmin’s case, it’s more like she drew the picture and made a few crayons to color it with, but now she’s being penalized for using one crayon that she didn’t make herself. And like you said, by allowing her to use that crayon, those who did make it would have more exposure for that color, giving someone who may not know about it the opportunity to discover it for the first time. But again, this system isn’t about discovery; it’s about greed.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I’ve tried multiple times to come up with a comment to your comment but I can’t think of anything because you’re right on point. The whole thing with the copyright and the owners really makes it hard to do anything. I’ve watched many videos and read articles discussing this topic and found that a lot of people are on the copyright owners’ side. There was a lot of ‘well, it makes sure that everyone is original’ and ‘that way, no one has to feel bad about using someone else’s work’ and I guess I agree to that to an extent. In my opinion, if we had the option to use the songs in the background of our videos, I’m sure we would still make the same original videos that we would have if we didn’t have the option.
        AND, if you really don’t care about the copyright because you always intended to use it in that way, you can completely ignore it and nothing would really happen, which means it’s just more hassle for the people who didn’t mean to use any copyrighted items.
        I loved your example, by the way. It put everything into a way better perspective than how I would have explained it. 😉

        Liked by 2 people

    • If you go into the settings of your account once you’ve made a video, you can click on some link to bring you to all the videos you’ve made. On the right side, it’ll say either ‘You have no copyrighted material’ ‘Includes copyrighted material’ (or something along those lines.) If you click on that, it’ll take you to a more detailed explanation on why you’re being copyrighted. I’m in no way an expert, but I know a little bit so if you have any problems or questions, feel free to ask me. 😉
      That’s exactly how I feel! And some people don’t mind, but others are extremely greedy (like Gabriel said) and it really makes the whole thing very difficult.

      Like

  2. It’s amazing how complicated things can get! I hope it doesn’t hold you back from continuing to post your videos!
    And don’t worry about the ranting. It’s all understandable 🙂
    Stay well, my dear ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Lego House- Ed Sheeran | Short Story Thursday – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

