Here We Go Again…| Camp NaNoWriMo Week 1

So… it’s July already. I don’t know how on earth this happened, but it did. Also, you might be wondering why you didn’t get an intro to Camp NaNo like you did at the end of March and that’s because I wasn’t expecting July to be here this fast.

You see, in March, I was getting ready for my very first Camp NaNoWriMo. I planned, I stayed up until midnight to write, I made multiple playlists… but then July Camp NaNo completely snuck up on me.

I barely know what my word count goal is let alone prepare like I did last time. I decided I’d just put the intro in with the weekly update.

Also, I’m trying to vlog my Camp experience, but I’m absolutely horrible at filming myself so that’s not going so good. I edited it the best I could and it’s… alright. (You’ll finally get to witness my awkwardness up close. 😉 ) Here is the video, but if you copy the link, you can subscribe to my channel and get notified in your subscription box when I post videos!

 

So I’m writing the same book that I was last Camp NaNo which relieves some of the pressure of preparing, but I haven’t read over any of it since April I have no idea where to start this month. My goal is 20K words and hopefully I’ll be able to make it!

Just like in April, I recorded entries for the month and if you’d like to see them, keep reading. If not, I guess you’re out of luck. 😛


 

July 1st, 2016, 3:13pm

I suck at vlogging. Like literally. I recorded the exact same thing three times and it came out horrible all three times. Maybe I’ll get better? I don’t know. Anyway, it’s day one of Camp NaNo. Like I probably already said above, I’m not prepared at all and I don’t think this is a very good start. It’s already three in the afternoon and I’ve gotten zero words down. I might write a couple hundred words and then try to vlog again. Why am I even getting your hopes up? I don’t even know if this is going to work out or not… Update 2: It’s now 9:30pm and I stopped at 701 words. My daily goal is only 645 so I’m technically ahead. I think I’m done for the night. Hopefully, tomorrow will be better! 🙂

 

July 2nd, 2016, 6:28pm

It’s now the second day of camp, I’ve gotten a little better at vlogging since yesterday. 😛 I recorded a YouTube video earlier this morning and edited it all today and I just got to writing an hour ago. I now have 969 words and I’m hoping to write a little bit more before reading for the rest of the day. Update 2: I managed to get my goal to be 1632 and now I’m going to read.

 

July 3rd, 2016, 8:51pm

Yeah, it’s already the end of the day and I haven’t written anything. You wanna know what I DID do? Watch Netflix… Once you start an episode, you have to keep going and then the next one just pops up… so I’m not going to get any writing done for the rest of the night is what I’m saying.

 

July 4th, 2016, 10:03am

Happy Independence Day! 😀 I have not written any words yet, but I’m about to do a word sprint right now! Update 2: My word sprint was not successful. I wrote 80 words and I’m not feeling my story right now. Maybe it’s the excitement of the day ahead or maybe I’m just getting tired of this story. I’m going to watch Netflix to maybe relax a little. Update 3: WHY?! It’s already 5:14pm and I’ve just been watching Gilmore Girls! Now we have to go buy fireworks and do that all night and I won’t be able to write. I should have learned my lesson from a few days ago when I watched Netflix all day, but apparently not.

 

July 5th, 2016, 6:38pm

I was editing a video all day today and got carried away and now it’s 6:30… BUT my sister and I just did a word sprint and I managed to get 307 words which is the most I think I wrote at once during camp. I don’t have to do anything for the rest of night so hopefully I can get stuff done! Update 2: I’m finally past the scene that I was having a hard time with these past few days and it’s going pretty good. I now have 2409 words and I only need 3225 to be caught up today. I’m going to try to write as much as I can today and then spend all day tomorrow writing (either to catch up or get ahead) because I don’t feel stuck anymore. 😉

 

July 6th, 2016, 10:13pm

Nope, no writing done. I had an appointment with my eye doctor this morning and it threw off my whole schedule. I seriously wanted to write but I couldn’t bring myself to do it. Tomorrow, though. Definitely.

 

July 7th, 2016, 9:53pm

Yeah, when I said ‘tomorrow’ I mean tomorrow tomorrow not today tomorrow. My excuse today is that I bought a new notebook and pens and I’ve been copying down my story into there so I can eventually continue handwriting it. If you didn’t know, handwriting something is 10x harder and slower than just typing it out so that took up a good portion of my day. I didn’t write anything today, but I don’t have any appointments (I had a dentist appointment today and lucky to say- no cavities!) so I’m 100% free. If I don’t write tomorrow, it’s solely my own fault and I should be punished by… I don’t really know. We should all come up with ways to punish me… actually, let’s not because we’re all writers and we come up with pretty gruesome things. Anyway, I’m not going to do any writing tonight so my word count is 3359. Still.

 

July 8th, 2016, 11:37pm

I wrote a little bit today and got my word count up to 4775. I can’t write anything else tonight because my brother and sister came over for the weekend. Maybe I’ll get to write some more tomorrow, but I guess we’ll see.

 

July 9th, 2016, 5:02pm

I wrote a little over 700 words today! It’s not a lot, but it’s better than what I usually get. My word count is now at 5514. I’m starting to realize that these updates are getting shorter and shorter. Anyway, my head hurts and I honestly don’t think I can write anything else today. It’s killing me to type this right now…

 

July 10th, 2016, 8:21pm

We went out to the store and were there all day so no writing was done. We’re redoing all the rooms in our house and that means painting, getting new shelves, and mounting things to the wall. We’re buying the paint tomorrow, but we put up the shelves and put things on the walls. Hopefully this can be done soon and I can get back to writing.

 

July 11th, 2016, 7:28pm

You should already know what’s coming. It’s become a trend so even I can predict it. I didn’t do any writing today! The day went by so fast and I don’t even know how it’s so late already! We took the dog for a walk, bought paint from the store, filled up little tiny holes all around the rooms, moved my books off of my bookcase so we can paint it, (which is a challenge all on it’s own) and rearranged the furniture. We finished about an hour ago and then I realized I was feeling pretty sick so I’ve been lying in bed but figured I’d go ahead and update you guys. My word count is still at 5514 and I doubt I’ll write tonight. If I do, it’ll be in the next update because this will be on my blog in a few minutes. 😉


 

Thank you for reading! Don’t forget to check out my YouTube channel because… you know, I really don’t know why you should, but you should. 😛

Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Chapters of Face All the Pain on Fridays, and Camp NaNo Updates on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.:)

 

Find my previous post here: Intro and Summary into ‘Face All the Pain’ | Face All the Pain

13 thoughts on “Here We Go Again…| Camp NaNoWriMo Week 1

  1. Completely forgot about July camp, I was supposed to sign up! Hopefully I’ll be in the right frame of mind for the next one.

    Keep at it, even if it is just a few words…its more than you had at the start of camp

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh no! It’s partially my fault because I said I would remind you (or was that last Camp??) I’ll definitely remind you next time and we’ll see if you’re all set to go at it again. 🙂
      That’s wonderful advice, thank you. 😉 And it’s not all about winning. As long as I’m having fun and I’m getting those words down, I’m fine with any outcome. 🙂

      Like

  2. The journal entries are great way to judge how your CampNaNo experience went this time around. I forgot all about it too, and only signed up the day before. As luck would have it, I got into a great cabin, so I’m happy.

    Good luck with the remainder of the month!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! It seems to be going differently than April even though I’m doing everything exactly the same. I guess we’ll see what the final outcome is. 🙂
      Oh, that’s awesome! I’m in the same cabin with the same people as I’ve always been so I don’t know what a bad cabin is. xD From what I heard, being in a good cabin can alter your whole experience so that’s excellent. 🙂
      Thank you- you too! 😉

      Like

  3. Pingback: #1lineWed Favorites: July 13 – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

