Infernal Ties by Holly Evans | Book Review

Hello lovely people!

hello!.gif

Happy Independence Day to those of you who are celebrating and for those of you not, happy Monday!

I’m here with a very special review of a very special book! You all know Holly Evans, right? If not, you’re missing out because she’s absolutely lovely. )I’ll leave all of her links below like I do every time.) 🙂 Well, Holly has written the book I’m going to talk about today!

I’ve received an ARC copy of this book to read and review but that doesn’t change my review and opinion in any way.

Both Infernal Ties and Infernal Bonds went live on Amazon on the first of this month so go snag yourself an ebook copy! (Believe me, you’ll want to. If you aren’t sure yet, keep reading.) So, a happy belated book birthday! 😀

 

infernal ties.jpg

Title: Infernal Ties (Infernal Hunt-Book 1)

Author: Holly Evans

Published: Chaos Fox

Edition: 2016 ARC ebook

My rating: *****/***** (5/5)


 

Like every other review I have, I’ll tell you the summary first: Evie’s twin brother goes missing unexpectedly and she has to go on a mission to find him. Along the way, there are alchemists, zombies, witches, and so many other mystical beings.

Now my thoughts. This book was beyond amazing. Holly’s descriptions of… really everything were so great. I could imagine exactly what she was telling as if I were there.

The characters were all…. what’s the opposite of flat? I don’t remember, but whatever it is, they were that. 😛

Being a novella, the plot was incredible. My initial thoughts were that the story wouldn’t be able to go very far because the concept seemed so minuscule, but she made it work and it was honestly brilliant.

The action was my favorite part of the whole book. The descriptions were great, they were well placed in the story, it didn’t feel too rushed or too drawn out, and it kept me wanting to know what happens next. It’s also a bonus that Evie is completely badass and it just makes everything that much better.

This would be in my top ten for recommendations and I feel like so many people will enjoy it. 🙂

I have a system for rating books. I give a book a star for each of the qualities I love in books (but I also take into account the other qualities to make my final decision). I ask myself if I liked each of the things and then give a star for each. 1 for likable/relateable characters, 1 for the overall plot, 1 for the overall writing of it (like if it was easily readable and flowed nicely), 1 for sarcasm/humor/wit (of course, this doesn’t count in all books, but I do love when some characters are sarcastic and the writing has some humor), and the last star would be for if I would re-read it again.

I loved the characters, I loved the plot, I love the writing, Evie was definitely pretty sarcastic and witty, and I would for sure read it again.

I’m going to keep this review spoiler free because I don’t want to give anything away to those of you who haven’t read it. You’ll just have to read it for yourself, won’t you? 😉


 

Thank you, Holly, for letting me be an ARC reader and for letting me review this book. 🙂

By the way, I won’t be buying the books just yet because I’d really like physical copies of them (maybe Infernal Bonds if the physical copies take too long) so that I can put them on my shelves and admire them like they’re always meant to be. 🙂

Thanks to all of you for reading this! It was so fun going on the journey with Evie and I think all of you should read it as well. 🙂 I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Friday Prompts on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

bye.gif

Find my previous post here: #1lineWed Favorites: June 29

 

People mentioned and where you can find them:

Holly- Twitter, Amazon.com, Goodreads, Blog

 

BOOK COVER BELONGS TO Holly Evans. GIFS BORROWED FROM GIPHY.COM. ALL WRITTEN WORKS AND OPINIONS ARE MINE AND ARE NOT INFLUENCED BY ANYTHING OR ANYONE. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS, EMAIL ME AT JASMINEDAWN.WRITES.BOOKS@GMAIL.COM OR USE THE FORM IN MY ‘LET’S GET IN TOUCH’ PAGE.
5 thoughts on “Infernal Ties by Holly Evans | Book Review

  1. Thank you for taking the time to review this! 😁 There will be paperback copies available of all three books, I’ll be doing them all at once this month, then we’ll see how long it takes for the proofs to be delivered. So, hopefully they’ll be live in August. Thanks again, I’m so glad you enjoyed it! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Intro and Summary into ‘Face All the Pain’ | Face All the Pain – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

