Sunshine Blogger Award | Tag Tuesday

Tag Tuesday

Happy Tuesday!

Three things:

  1. I seriously need to change the picture above because if you can’t tell, it still says Jasmine’s Writing Corner on the bottom right corner which is the previous name of my blog. I don’t know why I haven’t changed it yet, but it’s still there sooo…
  2. I completely thought today was Wednesday because I thought yesterday was Tuesday because I thought Sunday was Monday. Yeah, it’s been that kind of week. And then I looked at my calendar and was blown away with the fact that it was only Tuesday! I was already getting ready for the end of the week!tuesday
  3. I was nominated for the Sunshine blogger award! Why? Because I’m a big ball of sunshine!

sunshine.gif

Actually, I’m probably the opposite but I guess we’re still going to do it because… I was tagged to do it? Yeah, we’ll go with that. 😀

I forgot to say who I was tagged by! :O I was tagged by the lovely Jewel last week (I think… As you can tell, I have trouble keeping track of time and days)

Like all things in life, this tag comes with rules. One thing you should know about me, I absolutely hate rules. If you give them to me, I will deliberately try to not follow them. But I’m also a goody-two-shoes most of the time so I still follow the rules but barely. 😛

  • Answer the eleven questions from the blogger who nominated you.
  • Nominate up to eleven wonderful bloggers and write eleven questions for them to answer.

I will now be answering the questions Jewel came up with for those people that she tagged. 🙂

1. Of your own writing, who’s your favorite character?

For this one, I’m going to say Liz from a story titled ‘The Miracles‘. She’s really snarky, has a lot of problems mentally, and she has this weird relationship with pretty much everybody and it’s really fun to write from her point of view.
2. What trait of any of your own characters do you wish you had, yourself?

Hmmm… This is a hard one because most of my characters are loosely based off of me. Even if they don’t have the qualities exactly like me, it’s always based off of or related to it. If I have to answer this question, I’m going to say… Carrie from ‘Land of the Free‘ because (since this is a zombie apocalypse book) she never really had a family which resulted in her being extremely independent. I’m mostly independent (as in I like to be by myself and do things alone, etc.) but Carrie is just… her own person… if that makes sense. She doesn’t need anyone to keep her grounded, she doesn’t need to have anyone around her for her to be sane, and she’s perfectly capable of doing most things completely by herself.

Wow, that was a long answer. 😛
3. What’s the biggest pop-culture reference that’s shown up in your writing?

I have this thing with music. Like, music is a big part of my life and therefore a big part of my writing. Before writing a book, I have to make a playlist (or even a station relating to it on Pandora) and I listen to it on repeat. I don’t think… anyone knows about this but I title my chapters based on song lyrics. I go through my entire playlist and look at the lyrics. If I think the line/lines can relate to the story, I write them down. This also applies to book titles. I wrote this one book called ‘Saviour of the Broken‘ which deals with mental problems, suicide, and family issues and the title is actually a line from My Chemical Romance’s song Welcome to the Black Parade. And then another one that I’m working called The Writer and the Artist (you’ve all heard of it before) is based on an Ellie Goulding song called The Writer. So yeah, music is the biggest pop culture reference I use. 🙂

More long answers! What’s wrong with me today???
4. What’s the nicest thing someone has said to you about your writing?

Well… I’ve talked about this multiple times because it was really a turning point in my confidence with my writing. I write this short story a few months ago which was based on the My Chemical Romance song ‘Dead!’ (see what I mean about the song thing showing up?) and my good friend Pete absolutely made my day by commenting that he liked it and taking it a step further by mentioning it in one of his blog posts! I still think about it all the time because it really made me realize that people out there actually read and like my writing. (If you want to see me short story, click here. If you’s like to read Pete’s post about said short story, click here.)
5. How do you deal with lack of motivation to write?

Simple answer, I don’t write. I let it take over and I just don’t do it. Probably not the most effective method, but I usually have so much stress on me for a 15 year old and sometimes, I just need to give up on everything, at least for a few days. It usually wears off and I get back to writing again. 🙂

6. Where do you write?

Here’s a picture of where I write:

reading spot

It was actually supposed to be a picture for a book challenge I’m doing on Instagram which was where I read, but it’s also where I write so I’m going to use it here, too. This is my sister’s glider (it’s like a rocking chair, but it doesn’t rock back and forth, it moves forward and back in a straight line if you get what I mean) and I use it to do all my reading and writing activities. To the left (or the right in the picture) is my fabulous bookcase and the the right (or the left in the picture and also not visible because I couldn’t fit everything I wanted to in the pic) are my parakeets! They chirp a lot and it gives me that little bit of noise that gets me in the writing mood. 🙂
7. Where do you wish you could write?

Ummmmm…. I wish I could write outside. I don’t know why, but I get distracted by things easily like if a squirrel comes by or I see my dog’s bright pink frisbee in the yard. Even things like how hot it is (I live in Texas, so it’s something to be distracted about) or why I can’t drink my hot tea because it’s so hot out. So yeah.
8. What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Well… I…umm… I play the violin every once in a while? I… watch YouTube….watch Netflix….I clean out my purse a lot because I’m very messy. I don’t really do anything but write, read, write/plan blog posts, and watch vegan cooking shows despite the fact that I’m not vegan.
8. Name a big-time author you look up to.

I really look up to Kiera Cass and John Green. Both are wonderful authors and I always feel like I can learn something from them every time I see an interview or read an article or something along those lines.
9. Name an indie author you look up to.

One of my absolute best friends, Tabi, is my number 1 indie author to look up to. I’ve read her books and have preordered many more of them! She has this way of describing things in her writing that I can’t look away no matter how hard I try. Also, she’s the funniest person I know which makes for very strange text conversations. 😛
10. In your wildest dreams, where does your writing take you?

Since this is a dream we’re talking about, I hope to sell so many copies of my books that practically everyone in the whole world has read it. It’s mad the NYT bestsellers list multiple times and I get to travel the world meeting all my fans and doing booksignings. That is like the dream that every author would want to live. 🙂
11. Have you ever spilled a deep dark secret in your fiction writing?

Oh, of course. It’s kind of hard not to because fiction is strictly from your head. It doesn’t even have to make sense and it makes it completely personal. The best thing, though, no one will ever know if it’s your secret or the character’s secret…. You don’t think I was going to tell you what it is right? Good because I wasn’t going to. 😛


 

The next rule is to nominate eleven bloggers to answer questions I come up with.

I don’t know who all has been nominated already because this award thing has been all over this blogging community so I’m not going to tag anyone. If you’d like to do this tag, go ahead! I’d love to see your answers, I’m just too lazy to write your names down. So, if you’re reading these words right now… yes you looking at the screen… I officially tag you. Right now. Go do it or I’ll find you (even though I probably don’t know who you are) and I’ll make you type your answers.

See? Great ball of sunshine. 😀

The next rule is to make up questions! Since I’ve already broken the second rule and haven’t even tagged anyone, I’m going to skip this one. Instead, feel free to answer Jewel’s questions!

1. Of your own writing, who’s your favorite character?
2. What trait of any of your own characters do you wish you had, yourself?
3. What’s the biggest pop-culture reference that’s shown up in your writing?
4. What’s the nicest thing someone has said to you about your writing?
5. How do you deal with lack of motivation to write?
6. Where do you write?
7. Where do you wish you could write?
8. What do you like to do when you’re not writing?
8. Name a big-time author you look up to.  (I know it’s not a question but I’m a rule-breaker.)
9. Name an indie author you look up to.  (Also not a question but I’ve already broken the rules, so oopsie-doodle.)
10. In your wildest dreams, where does your writing take you?
11. Have you ever spilled a deep dark secret in your fiction writing?

sun.gif

Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Friday Prompts on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

 

 

Find my previous post here:Honorable Blog Mentions | Ecrits du Coeur

 

Since I’m so lazy right now, I’m not even going to link people I mentioned. You’re on your own on that one, fellow writers. 😛

 

GIFS BORROWED FROM GIPHY.COM. ALL WRITTEN WORKS AND OPINIONS ARE MINE AND ARE NOT INFLUENCED BY ANYTHING OR ANYONE. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS, EMAIL ME AT JASMINEDAWN.WRITES.BOOKS@GMAIL.COM OR USE THE FORM IN MY ‘LET’S GET IN TOUCH’ PAGE.
8 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award | Tag Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Sunshine – A Little Me, Apparently

  2. Pingback: #1lineWed Favorites- June 15 – Écrits du coeur

  3. Love your answers! That looks like a beautiful chair. So comfortable!
    I think it’s amazing that the title comes from Ellie’s song. The Writer is one of my favourite of hers. Makes me even more eager to see where you take the story 🙂
    You’re a ball of sunshine in my life. Keep shining bright, because you do, as a person and a writer ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s very comfortable unless you accidentally fall asleep in it… then it get’s so uncomfortable that you might just want to cut your own head off. ;P
      Yep! The original idea (the book that I’m writing now is a rewrite of the original I wrote a few years ago and the new one is KIND OF similar to the original idea) was mostly based on the song but it evolved a lot since then. 🙂 It’s one of my favorites too! Ellie is just a beautiful singer. 🙂
      You’re so sweet!! I don’t even know what I’ve done to get such an incredible and supportive friend like you. ❤ ❤ ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

