The Writer and the Artist Excerpt #3 | Ecrits du Coeur

waves

Hello everyone!

It’s Thursday again and that means another writing excerpt. I’ve already introduced you to both the characters in these chapters (Chapter 1 and Chapter 2) and now we’re getting into the actual story part.

This chapter is from Rose’s point of view again and is a little longer than the previous two chapters. Remember, this is a rough draft and was only briefly read over. It’s nowhere near perfect so you just have to ignore that stuff. 🙂


Chapter 3:

Rosemary-

As I rode home on my bike, I watched the birds flying in the sky. To someone else, they might just seem like animals. Like they were higher up than the birds because they were bigger or louder or smelled better.

Even to people who like birds would say, “Hey, there’s a bird.” And continue on with life.

Not me, though. I don’t dislike birds but I’m certainly not in love with them. To me, they were a metaphor. A metaphor where the birds represented beauty and health. Even if the world was ending, I bet you’d still see birds flying in flocks.

Even if someone you loved were sick, the birds would have no idea and still act the same. That’s exactly what was happening. My mother had been diagnosed with cancer three years ago with a life expectancy of four to five years. As the end was approaching, she became skinnier than she already was, more pale, her long blonde hair was coming out in chunks, and she soon became unable to get out of bed.

It also didn’t help that three months ago, my father left. His reasons were unclear to both of us since he never called or stopped by. The week after he left, he paid some guys to get his stuff for him.

I was taking it better than my mom was. She was a wreck, having to do everything herself around the house and worrying about how she’ll get money. I mean, she was so sick that she couldn’t even pee by herself.

It was then that I decided to grow up a little. I made some decisions that I probably wouldn’t have if it weren’t for him leaving like getting a job. I wanted a full time job, but my mother wouldn’t let me quit school so I took the second best thing available. I started working afternoons and half of the night at Taco Bell to make six dollars an hour.

Once I found out how much my going to an all-girls private school was actually costing, I pushed her into letting me go to public school. No uniforms, no paid classes, and there would be boys there. What’s the worst that could happen?

That very day was my first time trying public school. I was scared out of my mind and I was worrying about how tired I’d be during my shift because of staying up late thinking.

I had managed to make it home within twenty minutes. It was definitely a lot less time and effort riding to and from public school than my old private school.

I slipped my bike into the garage and took out my key. Although mom was always home, I hated the idea of her being there alone. If someone were to break-in, she’d be a goner.

“Rosemary?” she called when I shut the door, letting in a blast of cool air. “Is that you, honey?”

“Yeah, it’s me, mom,” I yelled back. I grabbed two bananas off the kitchen counter and brought them to her bedroom. She was sitting up as much as she could which was only with her head upright and flipping through the TV channels.

“How was school today? Did you meet anyone new?” She stopped flipping and set the remote down. Her skin was so pale that I felt an icy vibe coming from her. And it just so happens that her hands were indeed as cold as ice.

“I did meet a few people. This one girl in my calculus class helped me with a few problems, this one guy in my history class asked me out for pizza sometime. Overall, people were very friendly.”

“Aww, that’s so nice, Rosemary. You know I always worry about you so I’m glad you’re doing okay.”

“I know, mom.” I handed her one of the bananas that I already had peeled for her and she started nibbling on it. “Did Mary come by today?”

“She did, but I let her go home early. There wasn’t much to do anyway.” When my mom first became bedridden, we hired a woman named Mary who was a qualified housekeeper and agreed to aid my mother in whatever she needed.

Since I was always at school or work and mom never left her room, there was never much to clean. However, the main reason why I still paid Mary every week was so she could take care of my mom. Making sure she took her pills, helping her bathe, putting socks in the dryer so they’d be warm when she was ready to wear them, and things like that.

“Did you take all of your prescriptions?”

“I did. Now, I can’t say they were all on time but they were taken.”

“How about food? Have you eaten today?”

“I’m eating this banana right now.”

I knew I was sounding like a helicopter mom, but I couldn’t help it. Ever since dad left, she was my responsibility and I couldn’t stand to see her no being taken care of. “I’ve got to get to work in twenty minutes. Will you be okay without me?”

“Rose, I’m okay without you all day. God knows I’m not going anywhere and besides, you can’t miss work.”

“I’ll do whatever I have to, mom. If I have to miss work to stay here, I will and they will just have to deal with it.”

“I hate that you have to be the parent figure now. Your dad was such a jerk for doing that to you.”

“I’m fine,” I assured her. “It’s you that’s taking this the hardest.”

“I know,” she gave a loud sigh. “I might take a nap while your gone. Do you mind giving me an extra blanket before you go?”

I fixed up her bed, fluffed her pillows and put a glass of water beside her bed. As soon as I turned off the light and walked to my room, I could hear her loud snoring echoing through the house.

I knew she worried about me, but I worried about her more than she could ever know.


I hope you liked that chapter! I’ll probably only be sharing one more chapter and then you have to wait until it’s edited and published. 🙂

I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Friday Prompts on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

 

toodles

Find my previous post here: 20 Things About Me! | Tag Tuesday

 

 

GIFS BORROWED FROM GIPHY.COM. ALL WRITTEN WORKS AND OPINIONS ARE MINE AND ARE NOT INFLUENCED BY ANYTHING OR ANYONE. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS, EMAIL ME AT JASMINEDAWN.WRITES.BOOKS@GMAIL.COM OR USE THE FORM IN MY ‘LET’S GET IN TOUCH’ PAGE.
3 thoughts on “The Writer and the Artist Excerpt #3 | Ecrits du Coeur

    • Thank you! Awww, I hate keeping you all waiting but I get so excited by showing you so I just want to post them all! Eventually, I’d have to stop so it might as well be before all the action comes in. 🙂
      Thank you for your lovely words! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Honorable Blog Mentions | Ecrits du Coeur – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

