Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan | Book Review

Hola readers!

hola.gif

I have a book review for you today and I’m so excited! Said book is Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. I actually read it while on vacation last week and it helped pass the time during the long car rides. You see, I live in Houston and we visited Brookeland which is about three hours away from where I live. We went to a few different lakes/campgrounds/hotels all within a few hours distance so there was a lot of car time and this book was a good distraction.

Anyway, I wanna get right into the book review because I don’t like leaving you guys hanging there.

Oh wait, I almost forgot! This morning, I hit 50 followers on Écrits du Coeur! It might not be a big deal for you guys but it always makes me smile to know that 50 of you like my blog enough to follow me. And it happens right after I make my 100th post? You guys are truly my favorite people. 🙂

yessss.gif

will grayson, will grayson.jpg

(Picture taken from my Instagram: @ecrits_du_coeur)

Title: Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Author: John Green and David Levithan

Published: Speak

Edition: 2010 Alternate Cover Edition (Paperback)

My rating: ****/***** (4/5)

 

Like all my reviews, I start out by telling you the synopsis used on the book and the short summary that I can give you. So here’s the one you can find on the back of the book: Will Grayson meets Will Grayson. One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers are about to cross paths. From that moment on, their world will collide and Iives intertwine.
It’s not that far from Evanston to Naperville, but Chicagos suburbanites Will Grayson and Will Grayson might as well live on different planets. When fate delivers them both to the same surprising crossroads, the Will Graysons find their lives overlapping and hurtling in new and unexpected directions. With a push from friends new and old – including the massive, and massively fabulous, Tiny Cooper, offensive lineman and musical theater auteur extraordinaire – Will and Will begin building toward respective romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most awesome high school musical.

And here’s the summary that I have for you: Two people named Will Grayson meet unexpectedly and they seem to have some sort of connection between each other. They’re very different people (one written by John Green and the other written by David Levithan without having the knowledge of the other’s Will Grayson) but their worlds combine and you get a story about two Will Graysons.

It has alternating chapters so you get to read from each Will Grayson’s point of view. It’s very easy to differentiate between the two characters because of the writing style from each of the authors (if you’ve read any of either author’s books, you’ll know what I mean) and because David’s Will Grayson talks in all lowercase letters. Literally. (But don’t get to frightened, you get used to it and a few chapters in, you don’t even notice it.)

I don’t know if it’s just my edition or it’s in all of them , but there’s a few pages in the back of the book where the authors are having a conversation. John asks David why Will talks in all lowercase and David responds by saying that Will thinks he’s a lowercase person. I’m not sure how much of that explanation I understand, but still. 🙂

One of my favorite things about the book (other than it being absolutely funny and having appropriately placed plots) was the fact that both WGs were so different. will grayson with lowercase letters was this outsider with depression and it turns out that he’s secretly gay. His character was fun to read and mostly relateable (as relateable as a kid with depression can be).

The other Will Grayson (John Green’s WG) was hilarious and he had the same feeling as most of John Green’s characters. Don’t get me wrong, all of them are different in their own ways, but you can always tell it’s John Green’s character and his writing and whatnot.

As for the other characters, they were all very well written. Tiny is a fabulously large guy with a lot of wit and songs, Jane was definitely someone I feel like I could be friends with, WG’s parents didn’t have a big role in the book, but they were always there supporting him and they were also extremely funny (do you see? All the characters were so funny!) I tolerated Maura and then I hated her (which was the whole point of writing her that way), Gideon became one of my favorite characters in the book, and wg’s mom was also so supportive of him, especially when he came out as gay to her.

I gave this book four out of five stars. If you aren’t aware of my grading system, I’ll lay it out easy for you.

I give a book a star for each of the qualities I love in books (but I also take into account the other qualities to make my final decision). I ask myself if I liked each of the things and then give a star for each. 1 for likable/relateable characters, 1 for the overall plot, 1 for the overall writing of it (like if it was easily readable and flowed nicely), 1 for sarcasm/humor/wit (of course, this doesn’t count in all books, but I do love when some characters are sarcastic and the writing has some humor), and the last star would be for if I would re-read it again.

Loved the characters, loved the plot, loved the writing, loved the humor, but I probably won’t be reading it again unless I forgot what happened completely or there was a reading challenge or something. Also, I felt like the overall book wasn’t really five star quality, then again, it wasn’t three stars either, so I’m going with four. 🙂


 

I’m keeping this review spoiler-free because there isn’t really anything to fangirl/be excited about (I guess that’s one of the reasons I only rated it four stars?) so this is where my book talk ends. 🙂

im out.gif

I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Friday Prompts on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

 

bye.gif

 

Find my previous post here:“The Test” Book Trailer and Interview with Tabi Card | Ecrits du Coeur

 

IMAGE ABOVE IS MINE AND MAY BE USED WITH PERMISSION. GIFs WERE BORROWED FROM GIPHY.com ALL WRITTEN WORKS AND OPINIONS ARE MINE AND ARE NOT INFLUENCED BY ANYTHING OR ANYONE. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS, EMAIL ME AT JASMINEDAWN.WRITES.BOOKS@GMAIL.COM OR USE THE FORM IN THE ‘LET’S GET IN TOUCH’ PAGE.
3 thoughts on “Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan | Book Review

  1. Pingback: 20 Things About Me! | Tag Tuesday – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

