The Writer and the Artist Excerpt #2 | Ecrits du Coeur

Hello readers!

haaayy.gif

So, last week, I posted the first chapter of the novel I’m writing for Camp NaNoWriMo this year and it turns out, a lot of you liked it! I decided, what the heck, let’s post another chapter!

The first chapter was solely from Daniel’s point of view, but the next chapter is all Rosemary! Personally, writing from both of them is so fun, but Rosemary is my favorite because I relate to her the most.

If you didn’t read the last chapter click the link right…here… and then come back and read the second one!

Also, before you start reading, I just want to say that this is my 100th post on Ecrits du Coeur. Like what??? I just want to say a quick thank you to all of my readers because I probably wouldn’t be writing my 100th post if you didn’t read them. You’re all awesome and I love you so much. 🙂

sb kiss.gifsb love

Okay, let’s go into the chapter! Remember, I BRIEFLY edited this so if there’s spelling/grammar/confusing parts, just ignore it.

ignore it.gif

 

Chapter 2:

Rosemary-

The weird kid with the pretty eyes seemed to be following me. He was in my science class, my history class, my AP biology class, and my English II class. I knew it was crazy to think, but I was almost positive he was following me.

The part about the gorgeous eyes? From what I saw of him in my first period class, his eyes were like green gems and I swore they sparkled. I smiled and wrote it down in my notebook of ideas.

I always brought it around with me, my notebook. It was a tattered old thing with a million puppy stickers on the front but I still carried it around all day. I called it my “ideas” but they were really just sentences or names that I accumulated over the years and thought they’d do nicely in my writing. The one I was writing at the moment was a fairytale retelling of Sleeping Beauty. I was having a hard time carrying on with the story because the main character is asleep for it all but I still enjoy daydreaming about it.

Which is exactly what I was doing during lunch when a guy with oval glasses came up to me. He slid his tray across the table and plopped himself down in the chair in front of me. “Are you Rosemary? I’m Richard. I was going to talk to you earlier but you left the room so fast.”

I looked dazedly at him. “Oh,” he said. “I got carried away and forgot that I didn’t tell you what I was actually talking about. I’m in your World Economics class for fourth period.”

I nodded, “I remember you. You were the kid that repeatedly raised his hand and made the teacher literally frown.”

“Yep,” he said as we both laughed.

“Not to sound rude or anything, but how old are you?” He looked to be only in the sixth grade but he was in my sophomore level World Economics class? Needless to say, I was extremely curious.

“I’m supposed to be a freshman this year but I skipped seventh grade,” he told me.

“So you’re a child genius, then?”

“Something like that.” We sat in silence for a while eating. Me, eating my salad and Richard eating a “meatless hamburger” in which I wasn’t in the mood to find out how it was meatless and a hamburger. “I should probably go. I have a phone interview with the people who make the newest dictionary.”

I raised my eyebrows at him. “Is that supposed to impress me, Rich?”

“Actually, no. I made this phone interview months ago because one of the definitions was completely wrong. It’s a hobby I have.”

“Okay, then. I guess I’ll see you later?”

He nodded and jogged over to the payphone in the cafeteria where he furiously dialed.

I went back to eating my salad and felt strange. It was like a weird feeling that someone was watching me. I glanced up and, just as I suspected, the weird kid with the gorgeous eyes was looking at me.

I wasn’t sure what I was supposed to do. Did he want me to talk to him? To look away? I finally managed to lift my hand up in a wave and he nodded his hello.

What a strange school this was.

 


happy dance.gif

Like I said, they’re extremely short chapters, but I like them like that. If you guys liked it, then I’d be happy to give you a few more chapters. I don’t want to give too much to you guys because I want a lot of it to be a surprise, but I don’t mind showing you the rough draft of the first few chapters. 🙂
stop talking.gif

Okay, okay, I’m done rambling, haha. 😛 I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Friday Prompts on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

sw bye.gif

 

Find my previous post here: Friday Prompts #7

 

 

GIFs borrowed from GIPHY.com. All written works and opinions are mine and are not influenced by anything or anyone. If you have any questions or concerns, email me at jasminedawn.writes.books@gmail.com or use the form in my ‘Let’s Get in Touch’ page.
6 thoughts on “The Writer and the Artist Excerpt #2 | Ecrits du Coeur

  1. Perfecto! I enjoy the short chapters, because I was expecting lengthier chapters myself, but its nice to read from a different writers point of view. Keep up the work with Camp NaNoWriMo.
    I should be staring mine from scratch soon too!

    Like

  2. Pingback: “The Test” Book Trailer and Interview with Tabi Card | Ecrits du Coeur – Écrits du coeur

  3. Another great excerpt. Some of the best chapters are short. I always like to think that length is subjective. As long as you achieve what you need to.
    Congrats on your 100th post too! That’s such an accomplishment! I always love following your blog to see what’s going on! Keep up the amazing work, Jasmine ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

