Friday Prompts #7

Happy Friday!

tgif

It seems that I haven’t done a Friday Prompt in a long time. Hopefully I’ll get back in the groove of writing these every week, but you can also leave your prompt suggestions in the comments below and I shall do them! 🙂

Now, to get into the post. This prompt literally came to me a few minutes ago. I thought to myself “I haven’t done a Friday Prompts in a long time. I should do one this week.” And then BAM! An idea…

idea

This week’s prompt is going to be about two strangers meeting for the very first time. Something sparks an interest in your characters and maybe something happens? You get to decide! 🙂

shy

If you’d like to do it, feel free! It can be a short story like I’m going to do, a couple paragraphs, a sentence, or even a full length novel if it gets ideas sparking. Comment down below with your stories or make your own post about it! The whole point of a prompt is to get your writing flowing! Even if you don’t use the prompt, you just write nothingness, it gets your brain thinking!

pretend.gif

So let’s get on with it! Cue the dream/memory/transition fog…

fog.gif

The caterer was late. When I ordered online, I specifically said to not be late and what do they do? Be late.

I was pacing in front of the dining hall with what I could only assume is an annoyed expression.

A lovely couple asked me personally if I could help organize their wedding and I wasn’t going to let a lousy caterer ruin my chances for a helpful review.

I pulled out my phone and dialed the number I had coursing through my mind for an hour when I found out they were late. It rang a few times before a frantic voice said, “Mike’s Catering, this is Louis speaking.”

“Louis?” I repeated, trying to keep my voice calm. “This is Katherine Foster from LoveBirds Wedding Planning and I ordered a caterer to be here an hour ago. I don’t appreciate when someone causes a whole wedding to be set back!”

“I’m sorry, Mrs. Foster. I was late into work because my sister has the flu and then there was a lot of traffic and then I took a short cut and then got lost and…” Louis started mumbling the rest of his sentence in a hurry.

“I don’t want any excuses, I want you to be here. Now.”

“I’m on my way. It should only be a couple more minutes.”

“It better or I’m not paying you.” I said before I hung up and shoved my phone in my pocket. The nerve of some people. Does he understand that someone’s wedding is nearly ruined because he was late to a job?

A few more minutes of me aggressively pacing before I heard tires squeal. I looked up quickly and I was glad I did because the large purple van came rushing right at me.

I quickly dove to the side as the van kept coming, and it stopped just before it hit the steps to the large dining hall.

A tall man with perfectly groomed hair, a white apron, and wild eyes ran out of the van without even turning it off first.

“Oh my goodness, ma’am!” He shouted as he pushed through crowds of people to get to me. It turns out that almost getting hit by a large purple van warrants for bystanders to look. “Are you okay? I really didn’t mean to go that fast, it’s just that I’m late to a wedding where I’m supposed to be catering and…”

I sighed and got up from the concrete myself, inspecting my bleeding elbow and dirty dress. “You must be Louis then?” I asked him. I would know that frantic voice anywhere.

“Yes ma’am, are you Mrs. Foster?” He was wringing his hands in anticipation for my answer.

“It’s Miss Foster and you’re extremely late. A whole wedding is waiting for you in there.”

“I know, I know. My apologies, I’ll get everything set up as soon as I can.” And with that, he ran off to set up the food. At least he showed up eventually.

The rest of the wedding went smoothly. Louis seemed to be a hit and no one commented on the fact that he was an hour late. Watching him work was fascinating. He talked to the guests like he was a friend and socialized like he was invited.

In return, the guests laughed with him and it was hard to tell that he was a caterer. Meanwhile, I was walking around silently, making sure everything was going smoothly.

Once I did my round again, I sat down at a table in the back and sipped my glass of water. “A cocktail, madam?” Someone from behind me. I jumped at the sound, but regained my composure quickly.

“Oh, no, I’m fine, thank you.” I said as I turned to see Louis standing with two drinks.

“Suit yourself,” he shrugged. “Do you mind if I sit here? You look a little lonely.”

“No, I just choose to stick to the outside of the crowd. You can sit.”

And he did. He sat and made himself comfortable like he was in his own home. “What is with you?” I asked him. “You are being paid to be here, you weren’t invited as a friend.”

“I know,” he said, taking another swig of his drink. “That’s the beauty of it. I get paid to come here, make friends, and drink.”

“That’s not why you were paid.”

“I know, but it’s much cooler than saying I work for an old man who makes food all day.” I nodded in understanding. I always glorified my job description too. “So why are you over here by yourself?”

“It was made very clear by my boss to stay out of the way once I was finished with everything I could. Now, I just wait until a fight breaks out by drunk uncles and I can break it up. It’s really the highlight of my day.” I let myself laugh at that and he did too.

We sat in silence for a few minutes before he looked at me- really looked at me- and asked, “Do you want to do something after all this? I always need a drink after a long day.”

“But you’re already drinking,” I laughed. He just shrugged. “Alright,” I said. “You seem like a strange person so it only seems right to get to know you.”

And that was how I met my husband. The following year we got married and I planned and he catered in his own way. The next year we had twins and adopted a puppy. Two years after that, we had another daughter. Forever after that, we lived peacefully and happily ever after.


 

Well there you go! I hope you liked it and if you did, press that like button! It doesn’t do anything but let me know that you enjoy these types of posts!

Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Friday Prompts on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

bye

 

Find my previous post here: The Writer and the Artist Excerpt | Ecrits du Coeur

 

Images above borrowed from Giphy.com. Short story is mine and may not be used without permission. All written works and opinions are mine and are not influenced by anything or anyone. If you have any questions or concerns, email me at jasminedawn.writes.books@gmail.com or use the form in my ‘Let’s Get in Touch’ page.
5 thoughts on “Friday Prompts #7

  1. Hi, Jasmine!
    I really liked your story! I love how you wrote it and I was drawn into the two characters. I pretty much squealed at the end knowing that this was a love story of how they met. It’s very well written and I’m looking forward to read some more of your work!
    Happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Writer and the Artist Excerpt #2 | Ecrits du Coeur – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

