The Writer and the Artist Excerpt | Ecrits du Coeur

Hello my lovely readers!

I don’t think I say this enough, but I really do love you guys.

love you.gif

For real, though, you give me the inspiration to keep posting on here despite how stupid it is sometimes. I would practically do anything for you guys because you’re so awesome.

Anyway, now that I’ve weirded you out and you probably want to run as far away as you can, let’s get to the post!

Some of you may or may not know, but I participated in Camp NaNoWriMo in April and I’m planning on doing it again in July with the same story. The story I’m using is titled The Writer and the Artist and it’s about a boy who’s an artist and a girl who’s a writer. They meet and slowly get to know each other. It’s a story about love and loss and decision making.

I originally wrote this story in 2014 when the idea first popped into my head. In the original story, so much was different but still the same in a way. The characters looked totally different in each story, they’re better developed in the newer version, the plot is so much better, and the writing is just overall improved.

I think I actually posted the first chapter of the original story, but it was so far back that I have no idea when and where it is. If you have an hour, though, feel free to go through all my posts and find it, I guess.

So here we go. This isn’t edited at all so there may be a few typos and grammar problems, but you should just read it as an overall picture. I’m going to give you the first chapter that I wrote in April and maybe next week, I’ll give you the second chapter!

ready.gif

lets go.gif

Chapter 1:

Daniel:

May eighth was the start of a grand story. It just so happened to be the day she moved to our school. Her blonde hair was bound up in a bun on the top of her head and her fingernails were painted a gold to match it.

She had her head slightly lowered as she walked into the nearly empty classroom and was trying to avoid everyone’s eyes.

I heard Ms. Jackson read from her paper “Rosemary Davison? So glad to have you in my class. There aren’t very many seats left but you can have the one in the front.”

And then they both turned for her to sit down and saw me looking at them. “Oh, Daniel,” she said. “Would you mind being a friend for Rosemary? To help her get settled and everything?”

“Of course,” I told her. I didn’t necessarily want to help the new girl but I wasn’t going to tell the teacher no.

“I…don’t think I really need any help.” She said. Her voice was like a river, flowing with power but soft and beautiful all the same.

“That’s fine,” I told her and smiled. “I’ll be here if you ever need me.”

She nodded once and went to her seat, never glancing at me again for the whole period. I watched her, though. Watched isn’t really the word I’m looking for because ‘watched’ seems like I was stalking her. I was merely observing the new girl.

The air around her was very tense. She sat forward in her chair, her shoulders nearly at her ears. Her pencil was clutched so tightly in her hand that I was surprised it wasn’t already broken in half.

By the time the dismissal bell rang, she was out of there with lighting fast speed. I mean, I wouldn’t have talked to her, but I would have liked to walk past her and smile or something.


I hope you liked it! It was a short one, but I was happy with the starting point. Plus, it leads into the next chapter which gets even better. *wink wink*

winky

Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Friday Prompts on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

bye2

Find my previous post here:#1lineWed Favorites: May 25

 

 

Images above borrowed from Giphy.com. All written works and opinions are mine and are not influenced by anything or anyone. If you have any questions or concerns, email me at jasminedawn.writes.books@gmail.com or use the form in my ‘Let’s Get in Touch’ page.

 

7 thoughts on “The Writer and the Artist Excerpt | Ecrits du Coeur

  1. Pingback: Friday Prompts #7 – Écrits du coeur

  2. Pingback: The Writer and the Artist Excerpt #2 | Ecrits du Coeur – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

