#1lineWed Favorites: May 25

1linewedfaves

Happy Wednesday, writers!

How has your week been so far? Hopefully pretty good! We’re flowing into June so there’s been a lot of preparing. My sister is graduating, I’m going to my first concert, I’m doing a June challenge on my bookstagram (my username is @ecrits_du_coeur if you wanna go check it out) and I’ve been working my butt off on a special surprise that you’ll see in June or July!

Before we get into the post, I want to share this picture that I found on the internet. I can relate to this on a personal level so I figured you guys could too.

blogger

Anyway, to the post! For those of you that don’t know, #1lineWed is- you guessed it- a hashtag on Twitter where writers from all different stages of their writing come together every week and post a line based on the theme. The theme is usually posted within a week’s time by Kiss of Death on Twitter but I normally retweet it so if you can’t find it, look on either of our feeds.

Today’s theme was anger.

Here were my lines from the the day:

“Mom…I hit a fox. TWICE. And now your car is in a ditch.” “What?” she yelled, her face red with anger. 

I really just wanted to put her in the car and drive her home, but I was sure that she would be angry. And call the police on me.

If she was the star of a cartoon, her hair would be in flames. That was how angry Laura was at that moment.

And here were the tweets from you guys! Congratulations if your tweet made it this week! 🙂

A look of realization came over his face.“You killed her. That was your earring! You stabbed her with your silver earring!”

Drawn to the candle, her eyes remained fixed on its flame, purposely feeding her fear into its persuasive and enigmatic energy. HM

He stared at the man with open fury, hate radiating off him in thick waves. Rage shrouded his eyes, painting the gray with black

I tried the lucid dreaming technique to try to control it, but the scarier the dream, the more certain I was that it was real.

Heat surged through her veins, singed her fingertips, settled in her gut as she stared down at the little man. “You don’t own me.”

Angry welts, open and raw, yet unseen by the naked eye. Wounded by words, bleeding soul, lowering slowly into an unmarked grave.

“What’ve you got planned?” “A magic trick,” she said, “I’m going to teach you how to make douche-bags disappear.”

Brede’s words ricocheted through my mind. “Died” rang, and rang on. My anger towards myself would soon outpace hers.

Acid rose in his throat. His chest grew tight, and it became difficult to breathe. Clutching his bag, Thatch turned and ran.

“You need to calm down.” “Damnit, I am calm!!” “I’d feel more confident in that statement if you put the knife down.”

My palm slid up the dagger’s hilt, violence hot in my veins. Maybe they needed a reminder of what happened when I was provoked.

I tighten my grasp on the cage, throwing myself against the bars as bruises begin to surface on my skin with each thrash.

Timber lost all sense of human consciousness. Her wolf took complete control. She got to her unsteady feet.

Niamh looked at her father. His anger was different to her mother’s. It wasn’t loud; it was silent, judgemental, and far worse.

Gunter exited the vehicle, puffy red jowls seething rage as he yelled into the clown’s mouth, “yes I bloody want fries with that.”

“Chill.” “I’m fine.” “‘Fine’, my ass. You do more in a cold rage than most do in a full on kung-fu freak out.”

I couldnt use my powers in front of all these people, but I could at least leave a nice bruise or two for him to remember me bye.

“Murder.” The word, hissed in anger, sent shivers down her spine. “Yes.” – A Hero’s Birth  

It wasn’t as if he was angry, more like the giant had decided to stop tolerating the mortals.

Acid anger dripped from her voice & though it was convincing her insides felt as burned away by it as her audience was supposed to.

Anger clung to him like a dirty ring inside a coffee mug. The bitterness had sat there so long it was impossible to remove

I wanted to tear at his heart until it bled like mine. Instead, I drew in a deep breath and let it out through my clenched teeth.

Her head snaps forward, eyes at last filling with emotion–anger. “Whatever you think of me, I am NOT a demon.”

I know what I heard. ‘For all to die, they must rage with Fire.’ Well guess what, I’m raging. I won’t let you kill my family.

I closed the door gently. I did not want to give him the satisfaction of knowing how hurt, how diminished, or how angry I was.

“You don’t want to see me angry.” “Did you just quote the hulk?” “Maybe.” “Careful,” he chuckled. “Your nerd flag’s showing.”

Then my dad lost control. He shoved my uncle up against the trunk of the tree so hard, the branches around me shook. Whisper-Woods

“If she’s still seizing in two minutes, dose her again.”


Well there you go! These were only a few of the many lines people put on Twitter today so if you’d like to go check the rest out, click any of the links above that say #1lineWed and it’ll take you directly to the hashtag!

Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Friday Prompts on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

 

 

Find my previous post here: Silence by Natasha Preston | Book Review

View past #1lineWed tweets in these previous blog posts:

 

People mentioned and where you can find them: There’s too many people to name, but if you click their names in the tweets above, it’ll take you to their Twitter profile.

15 thoughts on “#1lineWed Favorites: May 25

  1. Pingback: The Writer and the Artist Excerpt | Ecrits du Coeur – Écrits du coeur

  2. Pingback: #1lineWed Favorites- June 15 – Écrits du coeur

  3. Pingback: #1lineWed Favorites: June 22 – Écrits du coeur

  4. Pingback: #1lineWed Favorites: June 29 – Écrits du coeur

  5. Pingback: #1lineWed Favorites: July 13 – Écrits du coeur

  6. Pingback: #1lineWed Favorites: July 20 – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

