Silence by Natasha Preston | Book Review

Happy happy Monday to you!

Okay, that was a little weird, not gonna lie. 😛

I have a book review for you guys today! I’m actually quite proud of myself because this is two in a row! Hopefully there will be more to follow because I’m in a reading kind of mood. Maybe it’s because I got a new bookshelf AND am trying out a new tea (which I absolutely LOVE)? I don’t know but there has been a lot of reading.

I don’t have much of an intro to this book review, so we’re just going to get started.

silence

Title: Silence

Author: Natasha Preston

Published: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Edition: 2012 ebook

My rating: *****/***** (5/5)

 

This review is actually going to be from the SECOND time I read it. If you want to read the review I posted the first time I read it, you can find it on my Goodreads page here.

First off, I want to tell you that this book is completely free on Amazon for Kindle. I LOVED this book, so if you want to try it out, I would highly recommend it. What’s the harm? It’s free.

Like I said, I loved this book. I gave it five out of five stars the first time AND five out of five stars the second time. I read it in April of 2015 and recently remembered how much I loved it. Therefore, I decided to read it again.

In this book, the main character, Oakley, doesn’t talk. No one knows WHY she doesn’t talk and she doesn’t tell the reader why she doesn’t talk even though it’s from her point of view. There are subtle hints, but if you’re not looking for them, they might not mean anything to you.

Oakley makes it through eleven years of being mute from the help of her mom, her brother, and her maybe-more-than-a-best-friend. She’s bullied and has a bunch of emotions because of everything, but she still manages to make it through. It really makes you open your eyes to others who are going through the same thing as Oakley.

There’s romance, emotion, action, suspense, and I lot of reading. When I read this book both times, I couldn’t help myself from just reading. I sat down and opened it up and didn’t put it down unless I had to sleep.

I’m going to keep this spoiler-free because I don’t want to accidentally ruin anything for anyone who hasn’t read it so that’s all I’m going to say about this book. Again, it’s completely free and you can get it on your kindle/tablet/phone if you download the Kindle app. I highly suggest you read it and if you do, I’m here for those of you who have the feels!


 

Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Friday Prompts on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

 

Find my previous post here: #1lineWed Favorites: May 18

 

Image above is not mine and belongs solely to the author and publisher. All written works and opinions are mine and are not influenced by anything or anyone. If you have any questions or concerns, email me at jasminedawn.writes.books@gmail.com or use the form in the ‘Let’s Get in Touch’ page.
5 thoughts on “Silence by Natasha Preston | Book Review

  1. Pingback: #1lineWed Favorites: May 25 – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

