The Crown by Kiera Cass | Book Review

Happy Monday!

In case you have a little bit of those Monday blues we all get from time to time, here’s a video of some pretty funny alpacas:

No need to thank me there, America. 🙂

Speaking of America, I recently read a really great book! It was the fifth and final book in the Selection Series which makes me kind of sad, but it made up for it by being incredible.

If you’re new here, you might not know that The Selection has had a huge impact on my life.  It’s one of the only series that I’ve read more than five times (no, that’s not even an exaggeration) and it’s pulled me out of multiple reading slumps. It has a light a airy feeling to it while still being action-packed and leaving you on the edge of your seat. It also helps that it’s pretty much a series about princesses.

I don’t have reviews of the previous four books on Ecrits du Coeur , but you can find them all on my Goodreads page if you really wanted to read them. I’m just going to get straight into the review because I’ve wasted enough time as it is.

the crown

(Picture taken from my Instagram @jasmine_writes_)

 

Title: The Crown

Author: Kiera Cass

Published: HarperTeen

Edition: 2016 Hardcover

My rating: *****/***** (5/5)

 

This book was actually a Christmas gift from my mom. One that I couldn’t get until it came out in May. But that’s okay because I really loved it and I’m so glad I got to read it. Originally, my mom had preordered it in December but a few days before it was released, we checked on when it would ship and it said that the order was cancelled. We don’t know why, but we were refunded the money and couldn’t preorder it any longer. It did give me a chance to go to Barnes and Noble and get the edition with the poster and bonus scene which was pretty awesome (and if any of you don’t have the bonus scene, feel free to DM me on any of my social media and I can send you pictures. :D)

I immediately started reading it because, you know, booknerd and all. I had the same feeling I had when I read The Selection, The Elite, The One, and The Heir and that was awesome because I missed reading those books.

Here was the summary you can find almost anywhere: When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone. Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

That summary is actually pretty accurate. Usually, this would be the moment where I make up a new summary/synopsis so that you know exactly what the book is about, but I don’t think I could do better than that.

I gave this book five out of five stars because it had that sense of nostalgia for me, the characters were all relatable, (or as relatable as you can get to a royal family :P) it was a really quick read because it was so easy to go deep into the story, and it was ultimately a fantastic ending to a great series.

If you DO end up reading it, I need to give you a little word of advice. For the duration of you reading it, STAY OFF THE INTERNET. The internet is a dangerous place when it comes to spoilers and you DO NOT want to get spoiled with this book. Take it from someone who has experienced this first hand. Here’s what happened; I posted the picture you see above on my Instagram which shows the sticker that says bonus scene and poster. A nice lady commented on the picture asking what the bonus scene was and what the poster looked like. I replied telling her what it was and offered to send her pictures of the bonus pages since she said she got a copy before she knew there was one with the bonus scene. I took the pictures and DMed them to her, careful to not read anything as I was taking them because I was still only halfway through the book. Then, the very next day, she messages me back saying thank you. Or so I thought she was just saying thank you. I opened it and began reading it and all of a sudden- BAM!- spoilers. She thought I had read the ending and was fangirling about how good it was. I didn’t want to make her feel bad so I just played along I told her that I was excited the ending happened that way too but inside, I was practically dead.

The worst part is, as soon as I walked into Barnes and Noble and bought this beautiful book, I told myself (and my mom for that matter) that I wouldn’t spoil it for myself. Here’s a secret that not many of you know about me, I spoil books FOR MYSELF. I absolutely cannot refrain from doing it. Before I read anything, I research the book to know what I’m getting myself into. If I manage to read reviews without spoilers, I’m fine. And then when I have the book in my hands, I like to read the informational pages (I know, I’m really strange). Before I read the first page, I read the acknowledgements, I read the info page in he front, I read about the author. If you read those pages, you know that they are usually in the back of the book. Right next to the last page. I can’t help it if my eyes wander to the last page and start reading before my brain registers what’s happening! So, I told myself that I wasn’t going to read anything about this book until I had finished it. So much for that…

So yeah. Stay clear of spoilers if you want to live.

That’s all I have for the non-spoiler section of this review so if you haven’t read it, please leave. Trust me, you definitely want to leave while you can. I’ll see you all of you later! Bye!


Okay, now it’s just those of us who have read the book, right? If not, don’t blame me for ruining your happiness.

I was so consumed with this series that it was extremely hard for me to pick which person I wanted Eadlyn to be with. It, of course, didn’t matter because I was spoiled (totally not her fault, though, she didn’t know) but I have this nagging feeling that I knew all along that she would eventually pick Eikko. The subtle (for some reason, it took me like three tries to spell subtle right. I went from suttle to suddle and finally to subtle. I don’t know why I can’t spell right now) hints that Kiera placed in The Heir kind of threw me off and it was easy to see them in The Crown since I knew the ending.

I’m ultimately very happy with how the last book panned out or we could just go with how my friend Tabi put it, “I’m still flailing at the ridiculously swoony ending that happened” (I don’t know if you’re reading this right now, Tabi, but I loved your short and sweet review of this book. It was very…you :P)


That’s all I have for you today, everyone! I really hope you liked this and maybe you found a new favorite book/ got a new insight in it.

Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, Friday Prompts on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

 

Find my previous post here: A Toast to the Mothers of the World | Random Ramblings

People mentioned and where you can find them:

Tabi Card- Twitter, Instagram, Inkshares, Tumblr, Facebook, Goodreads

 

All images in this post are mine unless otherwise noted and may not be used without permission. All written works and opinions are mine and are not influenced by anything or anyone. If you have any questions or concerns, email me at jasminedawn.writes.books@gmail.com or use the form in the ‘Let’s Get in Touch Page’.
Leave a Reply

