The End… | Camp NaNoWriMo Week 4

CNW_Participant

Well, it’s the end of the world. Just kidding!

I’m starting to think I’m being really dramatic on my blog, but that’s okay. I mean, you all know me well enough to know that I’m weird and everyone just has to deal with it.

Anyways, it’s NOT the end of the world, just the end of April! We had a hectic month (or at least I did) and I’m glad it’s over. I’m sad, however, that all the random typing came to an end. It’s a good thing we can do it all over again in July!

If you participated in Camp NaNo this April, tell me your word count goal and if you made it or not!

My goal was 25,000 and I just fell short of it. It was all stressful, but I tried and I’m proud of myself. Below are the last journal entries for Camp NaNo April 2016 and I hope you enjoy!

 

April 22, 2016, 2:07pm

So, I’m in the car. And I realized I forgot to update everything. I forgot to post the week 3 update and I forgot to write the rest of the one I promised for today, but here I am. I’ll be hanging out with my aunt we’ll be wasting our night playing The Sims 3 (we just got the supernatural and pet packs so I can be a witch with a cat or a zombie with a dog or a fairy with a unicorn!) There won’t be much writing I’m afraid, but at least I can make myself as a Sim. (Oh, and to those of you wondering why I hang out with my aunt like this so often, my aunt is the same age as me so we’re pretty good friends). I think this will be the last update for today so my word count is staying at 18230.

 

April 23, 2016, 9:46am

I got a call this morning from my dad and he said that my grandma just died this morning. It’s sad, but she’s had cancer for a while and has suffered a great amount. I started to think that we were being selfish keeping her around when I knew in my heart that it was her time to go. Needless to say, she’s in a good place now and we can have a beautiful ceremony for her passing. I’m going to the mall later on to find a black dress to wear to the funeral this week.  Again, not much writing will happen today since I’ll be hanging out with my aunt (most likely playing The Sims 3 again.) so my word count is still 18230.

 

April 24, 2016, 3:35pm

I’m coming home today! I don’t want to leave because I have so much fun with my aunt, but I finally get to write again (I have this weird thing where I can only write if I’m with my computer- even if I write in a notebook, I have to have my computer open. I have no idea why…) I’ll give you more updates later when I’m home. Update 2: I’m home! It’s 7:30 now and I’m ready to write! I have 1,770 words to go until I hit my goal for the day (which is 20K words) I don’t know if I’ll be able to do it tonight but we shall see! I have a little over 18K and we’re going to write tonight! Update 2: Yeah, I lied. I was totally meaning to write but it was just one of those days where I couldn’t focus. Maybe I’m just tired. We shall try again tomorrow. Right now, I have 18360 words…

 

April 25, 2016, 6:32pm

Yeah, yeah, I know it’s really late. Well, we went clothes shopping this morning to find stuff for my grandma’s funeral (I never found anything this weekend) and we didn’t get back home until noon. Then, we ate lunch and did school for hours, cleaned the house, and I practiced my other languages. Now, I’m ready to write. Hopefully I can get somewhat on target because I didn’t yesterday… Update 2: So, it’s been almost four hours since the last update, but I literally haven’t written a word. I put on some music and thought about what I was going to write today and then my dad called telling us that my grandma’s funeral is on Wednesday and the viewing is tomorrow. Instead of picking us up and dropping us off over and over, we’re just going to stay with him in between. This means lots of last minute packing. I’m just slowly getting behind again, which sucks, but I feel like it’s understandable. It’s 10pm now and I’ll be going to bed soon. I also won’t be able to write tomorrow since I’ll be with my family and I probably won’t do it Wednesday  (but maybe- I don’t know). So yeah. My word count might be at 18360 for a while.

 

April 26, 2016, 8:52am

It’s almost 9am and I’ve done nothing but iron and watch Phineas and Ferb. I think we’re going to take Toby on a walk in the park but it might still be closed from all the flooding so I’m not sure. We’re leaving at three and I might not get any writing done today so, this is my update for the day. My word count is STILL at 18360.

 

April 27th, 2016, 5:06am

I’m currently at my great-grandma’s house and it’s raining like crazy. I don’t know how my older sister is asleep next to me with all the thunder, but she is…and she’s snoring pretty loud. I don’t know how the funeral is going to go today because of all the rain, but I guess we’ll see. I’m really tired but I have this thing about not being able to sleep fully without being in my own bed plus the rain woke me up and I can’t go back to sleep. So, I’m updating this right now and I’ll read Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe until everyone wakes up. Update 2: It’s around 8:30am now and we’re just hanging out. There’s a bunch of puddles and stuff outside and it’s making my mood more down than it already was. My great-grandpa made us breakfast this morning and now we’re watching the news and talking on the patio until it’s time to start getting ready for the funeral. Update 3: My eyes really hurt. I was crying for most of the day and now I’m really tired. It’s currently 5:35pm and I kind of just want to take a nap, but I know I should update you guys. The funeral was gorgeous- she got to pick out all her own things like the flowers, the casket, the burial site, which I think is great. I got to be with my family again (I only get to see them on Christmas) and even though it was because of something sad, I’m glad we could all spend time together. She had a great life and I’m happy to know that she won’t be suffering anymore. I just want to thank all of you on Twitter who have said prayers for her and my family and have offered to talk. I appreciate all of you and I couldn’t ask for better friends. I’m really behind on my word count, but I don’t really feel like writing right now, so I hope everyone understands. Good night everyone- see you guys tomorrow.

 

April 28, 2016, 12:13pm

I still don’t want to write but I remembered that there’s a funeral scene at the end of my book (that’s a huge spoiler but I don’t care because I want you to know anyway). Even though I’m still writing the middle part of my book, I want to put my feelings down in that one chapter before I forget how it was at the actual funeral. I’ve written 497 words in that chapter which brings by total up to 18857 words. I don’t know how much more I’ll be writing this month, but I’ll just go with it all. If I feel like writing, I will. If I don’t, I won’t worry about it and try again in July.

 

April 29th, 2016, 11:42am

So, I didn’t write anymore yesterday. I was actually watching Netflix all night and I’m not that ashamed of it now that I’m not pressuring myself to write for camp anymore. My word count is still at 18857 words which isn’t that bad for the month. There’s only a few more days left and I don’t think I’ll be able to write that much so we’ll see where we end up. I’m most likely not going to write today and that’s okay. I’m actually quite happy with the decision I’ve made. 🙂

 

April 30th, 2016, 12:07am

Okay, I know it’s not technically Saturday anymore but I figured I’d count this as Saturdays entry since I haven’t slept yet. I’m at my aunt’s house again and haven’t gotten any writing done. I did however, watch a full season of The Secret Life of the American Teenager on Netflix (which is incredible just by the way) in the span of a few days. It’s no longer April and my word count is still a few thousand behind what it was supposed to be. I’m a little disappointed that I didn’t manage to make my goal but I tried and that’s all that matters. I’ll try again in July with a lower goal and maybe I’ll make it.

 


Thanks for staying with me through it all you wonderful people! If you liked this, don’t be afraid to tell me in the comments and if I do it again in July, I might consider documenting it!

I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, prompts on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you later with another post but until then, keep writing, loves.

 

Fine my previous post here: By the Waters of Babylon | Short Story Thursday

ALL REVIEWS AND OPINIONS ARE MY OWN AND ARE NOT INFLUENCED BY ANYTHING OR ANYONE. ALL OTHER WRITINGS UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED ARE MINE. IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS, YOU CAN EMAIL ME AT JASMINEDAWN.WRITES.BOOKS@GMAIL.COM AND I’LL GET BACK TO YOU.
5 thoughts on “The End… | Camp NaNoWriMo Week 4

  1. Pingback: #1lineWed Favorites- May 4 | Écrits du Coeur

Leave a Reply

