BaUpYoNo- A Scary Tale | Random Ramblings

Dear Readers.

We’ve had a death. A death which includes thousands. Of words.

Okay, I’ll be less dramatic. But seriously, recently I lost hours worth of writing because I didn’t save and back up my novel!

Fortunately, I was one of the lucky few who were able to rewrite it all easily. Some people, however, lose entire novels to this madness!

You always hear those stories where the writer is writing- la-dee-la-dee-da- and then all of a sudden, the computer crashes. Or the cat unplugs the charging cord. Or the power goes out. Or they lose the flashdrive. Or they spill coffee on all of their notes. Or so many other things. So, the writer goes on a rampage because they hadn’t saved ANYTHING. All of their hard work is gone and they even Google how to get your unsaved files back and still nothing. The writer slowly collapses on the floor and licks the old coffee stains from the rug to survive before a family member finds them. But then, it’s too late. The writer is already dead inside. Months of writing is now gone forever and the writer has nothing to live for. The end.

I know- scary, right? So, to do yourself a favor, don’t forget to save, save, save. Every new chapter, save it. At the end of your writing session, save it. When it’s raining uncontrollably, SAVE IT. (I’m actually pretty sure that’s what happened to me. The power was constantly going out due to the rain and it made my computer extra slow and soon froze it completely. I then had to restart it and then I died. [Obviously not really, though])

Even better, every once in a while, save it to something. Create a Google Drive account, email yourself your novel, add it to a flash drive, print it out. DO WHATEVER YOU NEED TO DO TO ENSURE THE SAFETY OF YOUR NOVEL!

(For more ways to back up your novel, I would check out this website- http://blog.katmellon.com/2012/10/10-ways-to-back-up-your-novel.html)

Now, go forth and protect yourself from such catastrophe! I’d hate for anyone else to go through what I went through (or even worse- losing their whole novel.)

To help other writers around you, tweet using the hashtag #BaUpYoNo (Back Up Your Novel) so they can remember. You’re saving lives (and novels) every time you use it.

If this does happen, Twitter is a great place. Your followers can be your best friends in dire situations like this because it’s happened to them too! They can be like a support group! (Or if no one wants to comfort you, I’m always there to help. You can always tweet me, message me, comment down below, or even email me [All my links are in the ‘Let’s Get In Touch’ page at the top of this screen])


That’s all I have for you today. I hope this helped you on your journey to finishing your novel and even if it doesn’t happen to you, it happens to others so keep it safe!

That’s all I have for you guys today! Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, currently Camp NaNo updates on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

 

Find my previous post here: Almost There… | Camp NaNoWriMo Week 3

 

ALL REVIEWS AND OPINIONS ARE MY OWN AND ARE NOT INFLUENCED BY ANYTHING OR ANYONE. ALL OTHER WRITINGS UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED ARE MINE. IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS, YOU CAN EMAIL ME AT JASMINEDAWN.WRITES.BOOKS@GMAIL.COM AND I’LL GET BACK TO YOU.
8 thoughts on “BaUpYoNo- A Scary Tale | Random Ramblings

  1. I had a scare recently when my previous laptop slowed to a crawl before it died. While it was slow, I plugged in my two flash drives to back everything up, including my 2 1/4 novels. When the laptop finally died, I used a public computer at my school of work for a day while I shopped for a new laptop. Long story short, I plugged in one of my flash drives and it wouldn’t work. “No problem,” I thought, “everything is still backed up on my other flash.” I plugged in the second flash drive and it didn’t work. Immediately, I wondered if my dying laptop had corrupted both of my flash drives. “If everything’s gone,” I said to myself, “then I quit.” Seriously, if I had lost everything, I was done with writing. The universe had spoken. I can’t rewrite the four chapters I had of my third novel, and almost 50 pages worth of notes, and two books don’t make a trilogy.

    Fortunately, before trying to format my flash drives so that I could use them for anything else, I had an idea to plug one of them into a different USB slot, and it worked! I plugged the other one into the same slot and it worked as well. It turned out that the first USB slot I tried to use was just bad. Crisis averted. I lost nothing and now have a new laptop. And now I back up my WIP stuff on my phone as well as my flash drives. And unfortunately for the general reading public, I’m still writing.

    Thanks for sharing that “10 Ways…” link. It’s much appreciated. And I hope what you ended up rewriting came out better than what you had before. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness! I literally almost cried when I realized I hadn’t saved the five chapters but I would have a panic attack if that happened to me! I’m really glad you got your stuff back, though. Like, seriously you’re writing is AMAZING (and you need to stop being so hard on yourself. Just trust me when I say that I have become a fan of you and your work) and I’d be really sad.

      Since then, I back it up every five minutes to Google Drive and I have it synced to my phone. For some reason, Word keeps crashing on my laptop and it’s making me mad. When it does, you can’t click on any of the words you’ve written and the whole top bar goes away. Like, the exit button, the italicize, the save, everything. Yesterday, it did it and I hadn’t saved or backed it up for a couple hundred words so I immediately took a picture of the screen with my phone. After about ten minutes of waiting for it to exit (I have to use task manager to close it when it does this) it finally closed and it hadn’t saved. I was glad that I had taken a picture of it because I just zoomed in and wrote what was in the picture. This morning, I looked and it had autosaved so I didn’t need to do that, but it was still extremely helpful.

      Of course! I’ve used pretty much all of those tips from the website (I found it after I lost the words and was trying to get them back) and my life has been so much better (when I remember to use them, of course. :P)

      I think it DID come out better the second time. Less words but it flowed more easily and I knew how I wanted the scenes to go. It just sucks that I had to rewrite it because I pretty much forgot everything about what I wrote.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad your scare wasn’t more serious than that! I have lost files before and suffered terribly because of it! But I learned from that. It’s brilliant of you to create a post like. Might save a few lives (and by lives I mean stories).
    Thank you 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: By the Waters of Babylon | Short Story Thursday | Écrits du Coeur

Leave a Reply

