Five Minutes by Tabi Card | Book Review and GIVEAWAY!

Hey everyone!

It’s so nice to be getting in the groove of things again on my blog. Even if it isn’t 100% back to normal, it’s getting better. I’ve been posting book reviews more often, putting up more tags, and I even have more Random Ramblings scheduled (for a while there I thought I had run out of random things to talk about. Then, my random trains of thought came chugging back!).

Anyway, today is a VERY special post. Not because it’s a book review (though that’s very exciting.) Not because it’s written by a great friend of mine (though that’s DOUBLE exciting.) It’s because I’m doing my very first giveaway!

Let’s backtrack a little. My friend Tabi was hosting a giveaway for her book Five Minutes and me, being the crazy book nerd I am, obviously entered. I was so lucky to win AND it was signed! It was like I was in book-nerd heaven!

So, while I was reading it, I was also talking to Tabi and she was kind enough to send me an extra SIGNED copy of Five Minutes so that I could do a giveaway on my blog! I’ll tell you more about how you can enter at the end so stick around!

Now, to get on with the review! Unlike my other reviews, this one is spoiler free!

2016-04-07_11.31.42

Title: Five Minutes

Author: Tabi Card

Published: CreateSpace

Edition: 2016 Paperback

My rating: *****/***** (5/5)

 

Before I start out with my opinions on everything, I’d like to point out that Five Minutes is a short story that’s actually in a much larger collection of short stories titled Scribbles. Tabi is trying to reach a certain number of preorders before she can make a publishing date so you would be the best person on Earth to preorder Scribbles. The ebook is only $10.00 (but if you sign up, you get five credits so you’ll only pay $5.00!) OR you can pay a little more for a physical copy but regardless, you should think about buying it.

Not to mention, if you order Scribbles you automatically get a free signed copy of Five Minutes and a chance to win 1 of 4 exclusive art prints. If you order 3 or more copies of Scribbles, you automatically get ALL 4 ART PRINTS which is an amazing deal!

Now, let’s get on with the actual review! I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars and it was well deserved. If you don’t believe me, Five Minutes has an average rating of 4.67 stars on Goodreads. That’s pretty awesome.

In case my review doesn’t do her book justice, I’ll just give you the synopsis:

Rachel struggles to make ends meet. With an absent mother and a dad who won’t keep a job, her life is composed of one worry after another.

Lind lives in a five minute loop of amnesia. Haunted by a mysterious tragedy, he is desperate for his memories . . . but terrified of the hidden past.

As the two teens are drawn to each other, Lind’s fate gives Rachel the strength to push past her own troubled past, and Rachel is the girl Lind is determined to remember.

All of the characters were so great an I felt that I wanted to learn everything there was to learn about them! Sadly, it’s a short story but I wish it were longer so I can revel in the beauty of it. 🙂

Lind was a character that you never really learn much about yet you still love him so much. I felt like Lind and Rachel were destined for each other from the very beginning and everything that happens after that leads up to the final moment. What that is, you’ll have to read for yourself!

It’s such a peculiar concept but Tabi made it work really well. I didn’t feel like anything was really forced and it all flowed smoothly into one another.

Tabi is such a funny person and it definitely showed in her writing. The characters were pretty funny, the plot had some funny elements (even if that wasn’t completely the goal, it was.)

It’s pretty lighthearted throughout most of the story, though it does have it’s sadder elements. Like I said before, it’s a short story and I think it’s about 165 pages so if you read for the whole time straight (I couldn’t and that’s why it took me a few days) you could probably finish it in a day.

 


I know the moment you’ve been waiting for is the giveaway and I can’t make you wait any longer so here we go!

I set up a Rafflecopter account for you guys so if you’d like to enter, click this link and it will take you to the page where you can get 7 entries.

–> https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/247db15b1/?

You can have UP TO seven entries (but of course, you don’t have to do all seven to be entered).

You HAVE TO be following Tabi on Twitter (it’ll say all the information in the raffle link and you get 1 entry)

You HAVE TO Tweet a message telling about the link (again, it’ll tell you what to say and you get 1 entry)

You CAN (but don’t have to) follow me on Twitter (it’ll say all the information in the raffle link and you get 1 entry)

You CAN (but don’t have to) add Five Minutes on Goodreads (all the information is in that link and you get 2 entries)

You CAN (but don’t have to) visit Tabi’s Facebook (info in the link and you get 2 entries)

So, yeah. If you do all that stuff, you get a better chance at winning the prize! Of course, if you Preorder Scribbles, you AUTOMATICALLY win a signed copy of Five Minutes so if you don’t win at least there’s that.

The giveaway is open right now so go enter because you really need this book. It’s amazing. And even MORE amazing is that it’ll look great on your shelves!2016-04-11_21.22.23

That’s all I have for you guys today! Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, currently Camp NaNo updates on Fridays, and Random Ramblings on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

 

Find my previous post here: It’s Just a Southern Thing | Random Ramblings

 

People mentioned and where you find them:

Tabi- Twitter, Instagram, Inkshares, Tumblr, Facebook, Goodreads

 

All reviews and opinions are my own and are not influenced by anything or anyone. All of the images above are mine and may be used with permission from me. All other writings unless otherwise noted are mine. If you have questions or concerns, you can email me at jasminedawn.writes.books@gmail.com and I’ll get back to you.
2 thoughts on “Five Minutes by Tabi Card | Book Review and GIVEAWAY!

Leave a Reply

