Author Interview with Shannon (liveandlove10)

Hey everyone and happy Saturday!

I have something very special for you all today! Do you remember Monday? Yeah, that one. Well, I posted a review of Surviving Adam Meade by liveandlove10 (find my review here) and today I have her as a guest!

Shannon so kindly agreed to do an interview with me so we’re going to go right into her answers!


J: Our first question is a pretty simple one. What books/ writing are you working on at the moment?

S: I’m currently working on the sequel for Surviving Adam Meade, Finding Claire Collins. I have a few projects that I’ve pushed to the side until I’m done.

I’m also heavily editing Surviving Adam Meade, so that takes up any additional writing time I would have. 😦

(Finding Claire Collins is actually in progress on Wattpad so if you’d like to read it as it’s written, click this link here)  I’m definitely excited to read the final edits for Surviving Adam Meade.


Question 2: Which one of your writings is your favorite? (writing style, characters, plot, etc.)

I would probably have to say Finding Claire Collins. I know that originals are usually better than the sequels, but with this particular story I think you can really see how the characters have evolved — primarily Adam. The first story was focused on Claire and how Adam impacted her, but with this story you get to read Adam’s POV as well and that gives you a true idea of who he is and how he thinks. That, to me, would probably be why this is my favorite. I’ve never gotten to explore character growth to that level and it’s extremely fun and exciting!

It sounds exciting! I can’t wait to get to that part! 🙂


Question 3: You talked about editing Surviving Adam Meade; do you have any plans for the books? Are you publishing them or keeping it how it is?

I do want to get them published. Right now, I’m trying to finish up the editing and revising process so I can make sure the manuscript is polished enough to get an agent. While I’m waiting to hear back, I will continue working on the sequel. I do hope to eventually get that published as well.

Well good luck with that! When the physical copy comes around, I’ll be the one to preorder five copies. 😛


Question 4: Do you put any aspects or situations on your life into your writing?

Absolutely! There are actually a few things in Surviving Adam Meade that are straight out of real life. Growing up we moved around a lot, so it was easier to get in Claire’s head when I reflected on my own experiences. Also, there were various high school events (hide and go seek being one) that I really did partake in. It just made it so much more fun to write.

(In response to my Hide and Go Seek comment which you can see below) It just happened when I was in high school, particularly during my senior year! One of my friends lived on a property with a massive building that was super creepy and we would go out there and play hide and go seek. There was always a huge group of us and it was tons of fun! It’s probably one of my fondest memories. Not gonna lie.

:O That variation of hide and go seek is REAL?! That’s so amazing! (If you didn’t know, that scene was my favorite out of all the scenes) I think it’s extremely hard for a writer to NOT put themselves in the story one way or another.


Question 5: How long does it normally take you to finish the first of something?

Usually I get the first draft done within 3-4 months. It honestly depends on how much time I can carve out to write, but I try to get a minimum of two chapters written per week

That also depends on the material too, though. If what I’m writing is a super heavy topic, I might take me longer to get through it.

I can barely write a book in six months. 😛


Question 6: Do you act out your scenes in real life?

 

Question 7: Was there a scene in your own writing that made you extremely emotional.

I think the most emotional I’ve ever gotten in a book, so far, was when I was writing about Adam bringing Claire to meet his dad. I’ve been through that, not in the same way that he went through it, but I understood what it was like to want to introduce someone to them but not be able to. In a sense it was a very good way for me to channel emotions I hadn’t really tapped into in a while, and it was a good way to get it out. Writing is one of the best outlets for emotion, in my opinion, and sometimes it’s easier to write about an experience than it is to accept it.

I actually cried during that part so I know exactly what you mean and I have no shame in admitting it.


The next question will be a bit lighter. Question 8: How do you pick the actors listed in your books on Wattpad? Do you already have them in your head or do you pick one after you’ve made the character?

I usually scour IMDB for actors that look like they would fit the age and physical description I’m trying to portray. Then I write the story picturing whoever I’ve chosen as the leads. That was actually kind of odd when it came to Surviving Adam Meade, though, because I’d seen most of the actors on t.v. before but I hadn’t seen Adam. It wasn’t until a little ways into the second story that I actually decided to watch one of his shows. Seeing him at that point was honestly a little weird. Cool, but weird.

I love IMBD! So many hot actors to ogle at! 😛


Question 9: Speaking from the idea that you’re in the middle of writing Finding Claire Collins, do you have any plans for more Adam and Claire? Will we see any more books in this series?

Right now I’m mulling over doing Surviving Adam Meade from Adam’s prospective. The story was written from Claire’s prospective, as you know, and there were a lot of things leading up to the big plot twist that the reader didn’t get to see. Also, there were things before Claire got there that I think would be interesting to read about. That story will more than likely happen.

There are other plans for a spin-off involving one of the minor characters, who shall be unnamed for the time being, but I think that could be really fun to read as well.

Shannon, I need these book right now. Now that you’ve told me, I need them. 😛 In my opinion, they’d be VERY interesting. 🙂


Question 10: Are you as funny in real life as you are in your writing? If you are, I think we all need you in our lives! 🙂

I think I’m funny, but other people would probably disagree with me! I will say that a good chunk of what you read in my stories is probably something I would say in real life, so yea. I tend to ramble off a little unfiltered at times. Usually I can get by on it, but sometimes it gets me in trouble. It really depends on who I’m talking to and how well they know me.

My life would be a hundred times less boring if I had you as a friend! 🙂


Thank you again to Shannon for allowing me to interview her as it was an incredible experience. If you liked this interview, go tell Shannon! (I’ll leave all of her links down below like always).

I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, currently Camp NaNo updates on Fridays, and Thoughts on Things on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves.

Find my previous post here: Still Catching Up… | Camp NaNoWriMo Week 2

People mentioned and where you can find them:

Shannon: Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, Wattpad

 

All written works and opinions are mine unless otherwise noted and are not influenced by anything or anyone. If you have any questions or concerns, email me at jasminedawn.writes.books@gmail.com
One thought on “Author Interview with Shannon (liveandlove10)

  1. Pingback: It’s Just a Southern Thing | Random Ramblings | Écrits du Coeur

Leave a Reply

