Surviving Adam Meade by liveandlove10 | Book Review

Hey everyone and happy Monday!

I recently joined Wattpad in order to read one of my friend’s stories on there (If you want to find me, my Wattpad name is jasmine_writes_. If you want to find Shannon aka liveandlove10- the fabulous author of this book- her Wattpad name is…liveandlove10)

Anyways, I discovered this WONDERFUL book while browsing through what Wattpad has to offer and I was immediately drawn in.

For those of you that use Wattpad already, go read Surviving Adam Meade (here’s the link), follow Shannon (here’s the link), and add it on Goodreads (here’s the link).

For those of you NOT using Wattpad, go sign-up because Wattpad is fantastic (here’s the link), go read Surviving Adam Meade (here’s the link), follow Shannon (here’s the link), and add it on Goodreads (here’s the link)

I got permission from the author herself to post this review so we’re just going to get on with it! 🙂

samcover

Title: Surviving Adam Meade

Author: liveandlove10

Published: Wattpad

Edition: 2015 Wattpad

My rating: *****/***** (5/5)

 

Let me just start by saying, I LOVE the cover. People always say, don’t judge a book by it’s cover, but it’s just what humans do. We see something and automatically assume. In this instance, I automatically assumed this was going to be a great story and guess what? That was exactly the case.

The summary of this book goes as follows: Claire had a life most girls wanted. She was pretty, popular, and peppy, until she found herself at a new high school with a guy hell bent on destroying her.

With his own set of issues and a future full of expectations, Adam wanted a good season and a football scholarship, but even he couldn’t resist the feisty demeanor of the new girl in school.

Hormones will clash. Some will make it. Some won’t.

This is: Surviving Adam Meade

Doesn’t that sound SO GREAT?! My thoughts exactly!

I loved how the characters developed and how the story emerged like a beautiful…book butterfly. It’s probably one of the best things I’ve read this year! Claire is BEYOND funny (some of my favorite lines being:

‘Meh.’ I tried to come up with some witty remark, but somehow only managed to say, ‘Orange is the color of pumpkins and pumpkins remind me of Charlie Brown.’

‘I have a nagging feeling that I’m going to run you over if you don’t let go.’ I added a smile for good measure and a, ‘Please and thank you.’ Neither of which Adam seemed to find any solace in.

‘And I don’t give a damn what it has to do with. Touch her again and you’ll be eating out of a straw.’

My hero!

Just kidding, it was only Adam.“)

And Adam is equally as funny (but there are far too many hilarious quotes from Adam to choose so I’ll just let you read it and enjoy for yourself.) I feel like all of the characters had a big purpose in the story whether they were minor characters or not, which I love in a story.

As a bonus, it isn’t love at first sight. You always read those books (some of which are my favorites, but I’m just pointing out flaws) where the female character is head over heels for the male character as soon as the chapter begins. This, however, was a different story (literally :P). Both of the characters hate each other beyond compare (which makes for extremely funny dialogue in my opinion) but it makes the story seem even more real.

Speaking of being real, this story hit that mark. The characters, the plot, the setting, and everything were just so real that it was hard not to keep reading. It deals with a whole bunch of stuff including, but not limited to, high school, drama, relationships, teenagers, college, and surviving. (I just had to put that last one in there- it was too good an opportunity to miss. :P)

I don’t think I have anything left to say for the non-spoiler portion of this review, so if you haven’t read Surviving Adam Meade, go read it (here’s the link) and come back so we can discuss further. 🙂

Skip to the end, though, for special extras! 🙂 Bye you guys!


 

If you’re still here, it means you’ve either read it (to that I say, congratulations! Wasn’t it great!) or you’ve ignored my warnings for spoilers (and to that, I say, it’s your own fault and this is your last warning. This next sentence will be pretty spoilery…)

I want to cry. Like, I wanted to cry so bad after reading that last chapter. Thankfully, I held it in because I was in a public setting but still. The feels were real.

I hated Adam and then I liked Adam and then I hated Adam and then I hated Marcus and then I liked Marcus and then I hated Marcus. It’s this ongoing battle with my feelings and it’s really hurting my heart. Shame on you and bravo at the same time, Shannon.

I still don’t really know how I feel after reading the end of it, but I guess we’ll have to see after I read the sequel. (YES, THERE’S A SEQUEL. IT’S OKAY- I SCREAMED TOO!)

Okay, now let’s backtrack, there were so many times when I absolutely hated Adam but I knew deep down that Claire couldn’t stand to not be around him. There was clearly affection there and there’s no denying it.

Backtracking a little more, every time we got to learn about Adam a little more, my heart literally ached. There was a literal quiver in my heart. His sister and dad, his mom, his grandma, his past girlfriends. All of them made my heart ache in different ways but it still ached all the same.

Now on a lighter note, I loved all the characters and thought they were extremely funny (if I ever got to meet Shannon in real life, I bet she’d be the most hilarious person ever of this is what she writes about! :D). Case, Riley, Tate, Wanda, Eva, and Claire being some of my favorites.

The last thing I want to say before I end this review doesn’t really have much to do with the story but kind of.

So, do you know that part when Wanda invites Claire over for cobbler (I looked constantly but couldn’t find the chapter. If someone knows, please comment below and I’ll edit this) and then a few paragraphs? Chapters? I forget. Anyway, Claire says the line “Ooo…cobbler” which is pretty funny. What makes it even funnier is that while I was reading, I was hanging out with my aunt and she looked over to see what I was doing. Upon reading that line, she said it aloud in the funniest way I can ever think of so it’s become an inside joke of ours.

To make it even funnier, there was another line where Claire says “Ooo…cake” so when my aunt says “Ooo…cobbler” I reply by saying “Ooo…cake”. So, there you go, Shannon. Your writing has achieved at making multiple inside jokes. 😀

If you don’t believe me, here’s the text message that we sent each other three minutes after I wrote this part.

2016-04-10_21.40.07


 

This is where it all ends. If you liked this review, go follow Shannon on Wattpad and like all of the chapters of Surviving Adam Meade to get her book even higher up on the rankings. Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, currently Camp NaNo updates on Fridays, and Thoughts on Things on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves. 🙂

But wait, do you remember those extras I promised? They’re coming up now!

claire1Here’s Claire in all her glory.

claire2And more Claire!

adam2And some of Adam.

adam3And more of Adam.

adam1And just because, more Adam!

 

Now, I know those are just GIFs of actors, but Shannon casted them! No? Well, here are some other beautiful covers and a special trailer for Surviving Adam Meade!

samcover2samcover3samcover4samcover5samcover6

 

Find my previous post here: So it begins… | Camp NaNoWriMo Week 1

 

People mentioned and where else you can find them:

Shannon: Twitter, Instagram, Wattpad, Tumblr, and vote for Surviving Adam Meade becoming a movie here!

 

None of the media in this post belongs to me. They were borrowed from liveandlove10’s Wattpad or Giphy. All written works are mine unless otherwise noted.
2 thoughts on “Surviving Adam Meade by liveandlove10 | Book Review

  1. Pingback: Writers Bucket List | Tag Tuesday | Écrits du Coeur

  2. Pingback: Author Interview with Shannon (liveandlove10) | Écrits du Coeur

Leave a Reply

