So It Begins… | Camp NaNoWriMo Week 1

CNW_Participant

Happy Sunday everyone!

If you’ve been living under a rock, (or didn’t see the giant banner above) you would have no idea that I’m doing Camp NaNo April 2016!

I actually changed my story idea (if you read my other post about Camp NaNo then you’d know I was writing Blossom. Well, I changed it.) I’m now writing The Writer and the Artist which is a book I’m so excited about and I can’t wait for it to be finished so it can be beta read and then published!

Anyways, I decided that I would document my journey through April kind of like a diary but for everyone on the planet to see! 🙂

Every Friday, I’ll post one of these that have the journal entries from the whole week and tell you my word counts for each day! I know, this one is up on a Sunday, but you’ll find more about that later in the post.

Without further ado, my attempt at journaling:

April 1st, 2016, 12:42am

It’s almost one in the morning I just managed to pass my word count of 833 by getting 878. Later on (after I wake up) I have to start packing to go on a camping trip with my family so I won’t get much else done writing wise. I’m going to sleep so I guess that’s it. 😛

 

April 2nd, 2016, 12:14pm

I’m currently at the lake! It’s absolutely FREEZING right now despite it being Texas and I’m bundled up with a blanket and my dog and I figured I’d give you an update! I haven’t written anything nor do I plan on writing anything, but hopefully tomorrow night! My count is currently still at 870. (*Silly me. I wrote this in a notebook and didn’t have my word count in front of me. It’s 878 not 870. :P*)

 

April 3rd, 2016, 6:31pm

We just got back from our camping trip and I’m literally exhausted. I wrote 187 words and I don’t think my brain is capable of writing anymore. At least I wrote something. My count is now at 1065.

 

April 4th, 2016, 10:57pm

I’m feeling way better than last night which is saying something considering it’s Monday. 😛  Now, I know so many of you are going to be mad at me, but I’ll say it anyway. I was so busy today that writing totally went passed my mind. I got zero words today, but I’m going to sleep and can’t write for my book! I figured I’d at least write an entry, though. My word is still at 1065.

 

April 5th, 2016, 2:03pm

I have a few things I need to do later so I tried to get as much as I could before then. I’m so behind and I don’t know when I’ll be on track again, but for now, I’m just trying to write any time I can. I just did a word sprint and managed to get 1125 words more bringing up my count to 2190! It’s not a lot but it’s a start. 🙂

 

April 6th, 2016, 7:48pm

I’m here with my brother and sister (they’re also doing camp but with much lower word counts) and we just finished a word sprint and now my word count is 2232. I’m planning on doing a few more sprints and then watching Netflix. I know, I should be using my extra time to catch up but I really want to watch an episode of iZombie (if you haven’t seen this show yet, you really should- it’s magnificent!)Update 2 of the night: We just did I think three word sprints and I got my count up to 2438 words. I’m done for the night.

 

April 7th, 2016, 6:50pm

I just finished doing a few word sprints and I’ve been slowly getting my word count up. Right now, it’s at 4012 and I’m planning on finishing the chapter I’m working on and then reading. These past few days, I’ve been watching cooking shows in the background of my writing and it makes me focus a lot more. I don’t even know why it makes me focus more, haha! Update 2 of the night: I did a word sprint for at least an hour (does that make it not a word sprint then? :P) and my count is now up to 4416. I was going to read, but I’m so close to catching up that I think I’ll just write until I hit that point. Update 3 of the night: I got my word count up to 4738 but I really want to read so I’m giving up for the day.

 

April 8th, 2016,?:?

So, this one is actually being written on Sunday. I know, but what are you going to do? I had some family stuff on Friday and it was pretty unexpected. That said, I wrote a little right before I had to leave for the weekend and got my word count up to 4964. Not a big improvement but I did what I could.

 

April 9th, 2016, ?:?

This one is also written on Sunday! Like I said, I was gone all weekend and wasn’t able to get any words down. Therefore, my count was still at 4964 on Saturday.

 

April 10th, 2016, 10:22pm

Finally one written on time! 😀 That smiley face was me apologizing for not getting any words done today. I got home from the family thing at 7:00pm and spent the rest of the time unpacking and…..reading. Yes, I was reading instead of writing. But, it was a really great book and I’ll have the review up tomorrow so a bonus for you! After I post this, I’m going to clean up that review to be ready for tomorrow and then sleep. I’m exhausted and coffee only makes you crash harder…


 

 

Well, that’s it you guys! I’m sorry if this was boring, but I wanted to try it out. If you thought it WAS boring, don’t be afraid to say so in the comments below because I honestly do care what you think (you’re the reason I still write these posts).

Like always, I post reviews on Mondays, tags on Tuesdays, my favorite #1lineWed tweets on Wednesdays, sometimes excerpts or short stories on Thursdays, currently Camp NaNo updates on Fridays, and Thoughts on Things on Sundays. I’ll see you all later but until then, keep writing, loves. 🙂

 

Find my previous post here: #1lineWed Favorites- April 6

9 thoughts on “So It Begins… | Camp NaNoWriMo Week 1

  1. Pingback: Surviving Adam Meade by liveandlove10 | Book Review | Écrits du Coeur

  2. I think this diary is a great idea! If not for us, then for yourself. Maybe it’ll be good to keep you motivated. 🙂

    If I wrote a diary for the month of April so far, it would probably look something like this:
    April 1 – Didn’t believe anything anyone said today. Got into trouble for tearing up a ticket a police officer wrote up on me. In my defense, look at what day it is. He kind of didn’t buy that excuse, though.
    April 2 – Couldn’t write anything today as I visited that officer at the police station and gave him a box of Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Everything is cool now. 🙂
    April 3 – Received a ticket in the mail for trying to bribe an officer with one box of doughnuts. Maybe I should’ve given him two boxes?
    April 4 – Couldn’t write anything today because I had to go into the city to pay my fine. The least they could’ve done is offer me a box of Krispy Kreme doughnuts for my trouble.
    April 5 – Couldn’t write anything today as I had to see my therapist to ask if I now have Post Traumatic Stress Disorder for what’s occurred in the past four days.
    April 6 – Took a day off because that’s what my therapist recommended yesterday and I couldn’t afford a second session today.
    April 7 – Took another day off because my therapist wouldn’t give me the medication I asked for.
    April 8 – Took another day off because I took someone else’s medication. Not. A. Good. Idea.
    April 9 – Couldn’t write anything today as I needed to stay in the hospital an extra day for complications that arose when I got my stomach pumped.
    April 10 – Lying in a hospital bed, with nothing else to do for the whole day, I got a chance to finish Chapter 3 of my third book.
    April 11 – I’m thinking of faking a relapse so I can check back into the hospital. I seem to get a lot of writing done there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well…..that was very funny…and then worrying…and then kind of sad. Nevertheless, you made me laugh so if that was your goal, you succeeded. 🙂

      I also saw that you have only 1 word on the Camp NaNo website which actually made me laugh more than it should have. And then you picked some random number as your goal. (or maybe not so random?) Brielle, my younger sister in the cabin, actually pointed out those two facts and I replied with “Well, that actually doesn’t surprise me. Gabriel is unpredictable until you see what he did and then you think…yeah, sound like him.” xD Which I think is a pretty good representation of you. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

