We Were Liars- E. Lockhart | Book Review

Hey everyone!

I have yet another book review for you! This one is for We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I’ve had this book on my shelf for a while and I’ve been meaning to read it but never got around to it. I finished this book on March 27 which was the day right after I had finished 13 Little Blue Envelopes (I have a review for that book) and was in the mood for more contemporary. I figured it was as good a time as ever to read We Were Liars so I did.

By the way, I post all of my book reviews on Goodreads (find the link in my ‘Let’s Get in Touch!’ page) as soon as I finish the book so if you’d like to see the review sooner, add me as a friend and you can get notifications!

we were liars

Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Published: Delacorte Press

Edition: 2014 Hardcover

My rating: *****/***** (5/5)

 

I wasn’t so sure about this book at first. It was really slow going, the characters seemed like brats and I wasn’t sure I wanted to spend my time reading it. I kept on, though, pushing through it and discovered I was really enjoying it.

Sure, the book isn’t perfect but I think it’s the way the events happened that draws you in and even though you don’t think you like the book, you can’t stop reading it.

The synopsis of this book was: A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

I like giving you actual summaries, though so that’s what you’re getting next. Cadence spends every summer with her family on their private island. Especially, her two cousins and a boy that visits with one of her aunts every year. These four people are called the Liars. One day, on summer fifteen, Cady is found on the shore of the family beach with a head injury and extreme migraines. Better yet, she can’t remember anything from that summer and her family seems to be keeping secrets. Cady has to find out what happened along with keeping her fling with Gat, the fourth Liar, at bay.

It has a lot of mystery, a lot of romance, a lot of agony and suffering as well as secrets and lies. The romance between Gat and Cady is infuriating and not knowing what actually happened makes the story so suspenseful.

This is such a great story and I think everyone should read it.

That’s the end of my non-spoiler review, so if you don’t want to be spoiled, this is where I leave you.


 

The ending of this book hit me hard. I was literally crying (which wasn’t so good because I finished this book on Easter when everyone was in a good mood and it was strange to see me cry like that).

I usually read the last page of books (I don’t really know why but I can’t keep myself from doing it. Luckily, this time I didn’t read the last page and I was glad because I’d rather have the full experience of reading without the spoilers.

After reading the ending, it all made sense. Why Mirren was getting sick. Why Penny wouldn’t let Cady go into Cuddledown. Why the Littles were acting so strange.

I was thinking that the ending would be something like Cady made the Liars mad or made the aunts mad or something and they took her to the water and tried to make it seem like an accident. I was thinking about how I’d come on here and say “I knew the ending from the very first page so it wasn’t that much of a wow factor” but boy was I wrong.

I did think that the ending was drug out longer than it needed to be. I get that she cried over the fire and over killing her best friends and over killing the dogs and everything, but it was literally four pages of how she cried and how she was sorry for it.

I’m glad the ending turned out like it did, though. Cady needed to see the Liars one last time before they went away- just to talk to or to be reassured.

There were so many things that were messed up about this book. Why the grandfather couldn’t just be happy for Cady or Carrie or how the aunts were all fighting over the estate and material things. I know that it happens, I was just pointing out that it was messed up.

I don’t have much else to say. Actually, I have a lot of feelings about this, but I don’t want to start crying again so I’ll leave it at that.


 

Thank you so much for reading and I hope you enjoyed! I might have another review up next Monday but I don’t know for sure. I’ll see you all later with another post, but until then, keep writing, loves.

One thought on “We Were Liars- E. Lockhart | Book Review

  1. Pingback: Sixty Second Story | Tag Tuesday | Écrits du Coeur

Leave a Reply

