13 Little Blue Envelopes- Maureen Johnson | Book Review

Hey everyone!

I really hope you had a good Easter. (or if you don’t celebrate Easter, I hope you had a fantastic weekend!) If you’d like, you can tell me all about what you did for Easter (or for your Sunday) because I genuinely would like to know! Comment down below what you did! 🙂

I’m finally here with a book review for you (I know it’s been so long and I’ve just thrown out sad updates but I promise I’ll get back to reading).

 

I don’t have much else to say for an intro so I’ll just get straight into the review for 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson.

2016-03-26_22.22.04

(Picture taken from my Instagram: @jasmine_writes_)

 

Title: 13 Little Blue Envelopes

Author: Maureen Johnson

Published: HarperTeen

Edition: 2010 Paperback, Extras Inside

My rating: *****/***** (5/5)

 

I don’t know about your libraries but when I visit my local one, there’s this little room in the front where they sell used books for extremely cheap prices. I never go in there because it’s mostly westerns (there’s nothing wrong with westerns but I just don’t read them so there’s no point spending money on them.) but a few days ago I happened to see a book peaking through one of the shelves. It could have been fate or it could have been because it’s literally neon.

Anyway, this book spoke to me and it just so happened to be 54 cents (including tax) so I had to buy it. I immediately started reading it and kept reading it until I was on page 99 and then before I knew it, I was on page 199 and then 299 and then the book was over in a few more pages.

This was a book that I could read for ever and not realize how late it was because it’s so captivating. I’m not really sure what it is. Maybe the way Johnson writes or maybe it’s the characters or even the plot? I don’t really know. What I do know is that I should have read this book sooner.

The synopsis of 13 Little Blue Envelopes is this: Inside little blue envelope 1 are $1,000 and instructions to buy a plane ticket. In envelope 2 are directions to a specific London flat. The note in envelope 3 tells Ginny: Find a starving artist. Because of envelope 4, Ginny and a playwright/thief/ bloke–about–town called Keith go to Scotland together, with somewhat disastrous–though utterly romantic–results. But will she ever see him again? Everything about Ginny will change this summer, and it’s all because of the 13 little blue envelopes.

A shorter summary type of deal is this: Ginny Blackstone gets a letter from her dead aunt telling her to drop everything and take a trip to London with nothing but a backpack and necessities. Ginny isn’t given much details but she knows she has to do it. Her first stop is to get the thirteen blue envelopes from a restaurant in London in which her aunt Peg gives her certain tasks to do and once she completes one, she can go onto the next envelope. Ginny follows by all the rules and finds out more about her aunt Peg and herself as she travels across Europe meeting with strangers and trying to survive with the bare necessities.

Overall, it’s an excellent book full of adventure and romance and scenes that make you mad beyond belief and scenes that make you laugh and scenes that make you want to meet the author in person and throw money on her coffee table and run away (that’s a reference you’d get if you read the book so you should go read it but keep my joke in mind to laugh later :P)

I read this book in one sitting with no problem and I’m a pretty slow reader (I can usually finish a 400 page book in around 3 days) so it should be a really fast read for others of you out there.

That’s all I have to say for the non-spoiler part of this review so if you haven’t read it, go read it and come back to this. If you have, continue reading to see my in-depth feelings. Good-bye to everyone else and I’ll see you all later!


 

If you’re still reading this, it means you’ve either read it or you’re like me and don’t like to follow rules. I should warn you, though. This next part MAY have spoilers and I won’t be held liable if you don’t get the full experience.

Anyways, when I first started reading from the point of view of Ginny, I wasn’t sure it was going to work out. She sounded kind of insane and I thought she’d end up making some extremely dumb decisions (which surprisingly, there weren’t much of. I mean, everyone has those moments but she didn’t seem to have that many.) but after a few chapters, I felt like I was getting to know Ginny and she was an excellent character. She wasn’t too whiny like other book characters and she wasn’t overly excited about everything, which I liked.

While reading, I wasn’t really sure how old Richard was. I know it was talking about how he was working and how he had his own house that he and Peg used to live in, but it didn’t give us a specific age. It didn’t even give us an approximate. I thought for sure Ginny and Richard would end up falling in love or getting extremely attached to one another. Considering that he’s her uncle, it makes it a little more strange and I kind of wish I hadn’t thought that throughout the whole book.

When she first met Keith at his Starbucks play (I don’t think you should ever trust a guy in a kilt by the way. Especially not one singing about Starbucks in a basement.) I thought this was just going to be a passing character like Mari or Beppe (though we didn’t even know those characters yet. You know what I mean, though) but in the end, I was glad that she was able to find someone who she really cared about like that enough to take him to Scotland and meet up with him in Paris and such. I definitely like the love going on there between the two of them.

I was EXTREMELY (do you get the extent of my madness now that it’s formatted like that? :P) mad in the end when the backpacks were stolen. Firstly, I was really starting to like Carrie and I figured Ginny could become long-distance friends with her or maybe even take them with her to New Jersey but no. Her FREAKING passport had to get stolen. And then, the last envelope was missing? The last piece to the puzzle? The one that would explain to us what the whole point of the journey was? The- okay I’ll stop.

Hopefully we’ll get to see what happens next in the second book (didn’t know there was a second book , did ‘ya? Well, me neither. Apparently it came out in 2011 and is titled The Last Little Blue Envelope.)


 

That’s all I have for you guys today! I really hope you enjoyed this review and if you read the book, I hope it lived up to the actual book itself.

I’m currently reading We Were Liars by E. Lockhart so you should have a full length review of it next Monday. 🙂

I’ll see you all tomorrow with a tag but until then, keep writing, loves.

One thought on “13 Little Blue Envelopes- Maureen Johnson | Book Review

Leave a Reply

