WIP Excerpt

Hey y’all!

I have a special sneak peek of this novel I’m writing for you! (I have the sneak peek for you, not the novel is for you. What- do you think you’re really that special? ;P)

If you haven’t read anything about this story, (I think I talked a little bit about it in a tag I was tagged in) it’s a New Adult novel in the point of view of Vanessa (who everyone calls Vani) a 22 year old who was kidnapped and raped after her parents were murdered. I’m currently working on the first few chapters, but I figured I’d give you all a preview!


 

“Do you need help, mom?” I asked as I stepped into the kitchen. The smell of pork-chops filled the air and I couldn’t wait any longer.

“No, it’s almost done,” she said back. Her brown hair was pulled into a low ponytail at the nape of her neck and she took her heels off, but she was fully dressed in her work clothes and makeup. Her earrings were swinging back and forth, as she mixed the mashed-potatoes.  “Can you set the table for me? It should be done any minute.”

Grabbing the plates and napkins she had set out, I made my way to the dining room where Dad was drinking his coffee and reading a book. “Where’s Rosaline and Max?” I asked him. They were usually inside by now and begging mom to let them eat ice cream for dinner.

“Oh, hey, Vani. They’re in the front playing with the neighbor kids,” his eyes never left his book, but he held out his arm for a hug.

I put the plates down and gave him a full bear hug, crinkling his book in the process. “Hey!” Dad yelled, but laughed at the same time. He set his book on the table and wrapped his arms around me, his beard rubbing against my cheek. “Did you have a good day at school?” he asked, letting go and taking his reading glasses off.

“Yeah,” I told him. The chair to his left was my chair for dinner and I sat in it every day when he was reading as we talked. It was one of those strange rituals that no one knows where it started but we just went along with it. “We had a test in school and the teacher gave everyone seventies because we were talking before class.”

“Well, that’s not right,” he muttered. “Do you want me to talk to her?”

“I’m sure it’s fine. My grades have been pretty good so far so I don’t think one seventy will ruin my report card.”

“If you say so, kiddo.”

“Vanessa,” Mom yelled from the kitchen. “Did you set the table?”

“Yes!” I lied and winked at Dad who looked at me over his glasses as I hurriedly set out the plates.

Then a loud bang, a shrill scream, and glass shattering filled the air. The bang from something in the kitchen, the scream from my mother as she ran into the dining room to hide behind Dad, and the glass that sat around my feet told me that I was the one who dropped the plate.

“What happened?” Dad said as he tried to shield Mom with his body. It was rare when she screamed, as she was usually the one shielding Dad (he never liked bugs).

“Th-th-they…” she stuttered. “Oh, GOD, my babies!” I figured I knew what she was talking about. She was referring to Rosaline and Max who were playing outside, probably oblivious to what was happening.

I ran for the window overlooking our driveway and quickly unlocked it. “Mom, Dad,” I yelled. If they could just climb out the window, we’d be safe from whatever Mom was afraid of.

Just as I yelled out those words, two people in masks strolled into the living room with guns. One was a tall male with a smile forming on his lips and the other a woman, a little shorter than Mom, with bright red hair. What kind of burglar had bright red hair?

I slipped my feet out the window and as I turned to look for my parents, a shot rang through the house. Dad was on the ground, his blood spilling out from his chest all over the rug. I screamed as two more shots were fired. One, I was sure was at Mom and the other missed my head by a few inches and made a bullet-sized hole in the wall.

I didn’t stay long after that. I hurried through the window and ran as fast as my bare feet could take me. “Rosaline! Max!” I yelled while sprinting towards them. Their figures were just a shadow cast against the purple sky. There was someone else there, too, though I wasn’t sure who it could be. Maybe Adrian? Or it could have been his sister Mia? I didn’t have time to look before more loud bangs came from the house.

“You need to get out of here,” I told Rosaline. She was the oldest at the age of thirteen. I knew she’d take care of Max until I could go with them. “Go to the neighbor’s house.” When they didn’t move, I pushed them forward and then started crying. “GO!”

I watched as their small bodies scrambled across the yard and went to the neighbor’s house across the street. I was about to reach for my phone to call 911 but a strong pair of hands grabbed me from behind and put a hand over my mouth.

“Stay quiet,” the husky voice whispered in my ear. His other hand reached up and squeezed my boob and that was where I drew the line. I screamed and tried to pull away, digging my elbow into his ribs, but nothing worked. He took his hand away from my chest and wrapped it around my stomach to make it easier to pull me to his truck which was not-so-secretly parked in the neighbor’s driveway.

I couldn’t help but look at the figure of the neighbor, Adrian, as I was whisked away to my doom. His hand was over his mouth and he was staring right at me, but he made no move to stop the man dragging me to the truck. He finally ran towards his house and that was the last I saw of him.

I tried to remember the details as best as I could in case I ever managed to escape. The man was at least a foot taller than I was with tanned muscles and a deep voice. The truck was dark blue with a missing license plate on the back and small tires, most likely made for a smaller car. The woman had red hair and that was all I knew about her.

I was thrown into the backseat of the truck and he bound my wrists with duct-tape only after covering my mouth with it. I started crying even more and screamed until my lungs burned and my throat was sore. The man was ruthless, yelling at me to stay quiet and, after that didn’t work, throwing a blanket over the top of me.

After a few hours of driving and screaming, I had tired myself out and felt as my eyes drifted to sleep and my voice faded into my last scream.


 

I really hope you guys liked that one! As always, your input is welcome, so if you’d like, you can leave a comment telling me what you think. I’ll see you all later with more posts. Until then, keep writing, loves.

cropped-white-1.jpg

8 thoughts on “WIP Excerpt

  1. You had me at “pork chops.” So this is going to be a thriller I see Jasmine. This excerpt of your novel became intense near the end. Poor dad.

    Note: I recently checked my notifications to make sure I will know when you post articles. They were turned off, and you were not showing up in my feed. Don’t know how that happened. It is resolved now. Take care Jasmine

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

