The Author’s Oracle Pt. 2 | Tag Tuesday

Tag Tuesday

Hey everyone!

Like promised, I have answered the other questions for the Author’s Oracle. I’m pretty sure these were made by Holly so you can go check her out and giver her a follow because she’s amazing. 🙂

I don’t really have much else to say, so let’s get on with the questions!

0. The Fool: If you could go back to the beginning, where you had that childlike innocence and joy, what would you do differently with your writing journey?

I’ve actually answered this a lot. In fourth grade, there was this thing called Camp Writalotta (I know- dumb name- it’s pronounced “write-a-lot-a”) and it was a week long thing at my elementary school. We would go to different teachers in the grade every day and they’d each do something different like a camp-related thing and then we’d write about something. At the time, I hated writing and refused to do well in it because I thought it was dumb to go to a writing camp and it was dumb that they were making me write. Now, I wish I had kept those memories instead of throwing them away so that I can remember how that week felt. And to this day, I have no idea what I even did during that week…

1. The Magician: When times get dark, where do you find your inner balance and strength?

I like to listen to music. It relaxes me and brings me to that ‘place’. It’s kind of hard to explain, but if you’re like me, you know how it feels. 🙂

2. The High Priestess: How much of yourself do you find sneaks into your fiction?

A lot. The main character is always a shy girl (I have yet to write in the point of view of a male) who most of the time likes to read. Since I write in first person, we get to go a little deeper into the character and they always have a lot of thoughts about various things that may not be relevant (which is literally me all the time…) I write a lot of action scenes probably because I’ve never been in an actual fight (that’s a story for another time :P).

3. The Empress: What’s your fictional comfort zone?

I always write and read about a strong female character who falls in love with a man and on the outside, swoons for him, but on the inside, she knows that she can deal without him if need be. I also write a lot of death and I’m not really sure why. In every single one of my books, there’s at least one person who dies and it’s most often brutally and someone close to the character.

4. The Emperor: How do you feel about writing rules? Which ones do you throw out?

I think one of the biggest writing rules (in my opinion) that I hate is to avoid prologues. I actually just talked about prologues on Sunday, but I’ll talk a little bit about it here. The fact that people are so afraid of writing prologues and don’t want to read prologues makes me cringe. If you write it correctly, I prologue should just be like another chapter in a book. There are some instances where a prologue is NEEDED. A prologue is good if you are talking about something that happened before the book, is in a different perspective than the book, or there are specific documents or letters that are important to the story. I do agree that not every story needs a prologue and it can most likely be put into the actual story, but I like them. I write them. I read them and that’s that.

5. The Hierophant: Has there been somewhere unexpected that’s produced a breakthrough in your writing? An unusual source or mentor?

Not that I can think of, no. I have only been writing for a few years (about five) and I’m still kind of trying to find my voice and how I like to write.

6. The Lovers: Who’s a character that reflects, balances, and strengthens you? Whether one of your own or someone else’s.

I’m not really sure what to put for this one. This is hard because there are characters that I WANT to be like and characters that I AM like and those can get kind of mixed up. I guess I’d say Grace from the Shiver series by Maggie Stiefvater? Or maybe the main character from my secret project? I don’t really know.

7. The Chariot: How do you satisfy both your heart and your head with your fiction?

I don’t really know about this one either. I haven’t really been in a situation where it’s important to chose between the two. I always write from the heart (that’s why the name of my blog is ‘writings from the heart’ in French) and so far, it’s worked out for me. I guess something worth talking about is the time I almost got my book published. My head was telling me that I needed to get published and I wanted to be the youngest person to write an actual novel (I think the youngest was 14 and I’ve already surpassed that). My heart knew I wasn’t ready, though. I dropped everything and kept my book o myself because I knew in my heart that it wasn’t what I wanted.

8. Strength: What do you have the least patience with in the writing process?

The editing. I can outline and write the book perfectly fine. I love creating the characters and talking about the action, but I CANNOT edit for the life of me. It just takes so much time and all I want to do is WRITE. I’m a writer, not an editor. Therefore, I find myself writing something different instead of editing. (The novel I wrote for NaNoWriMo? I got a few pages in and started writing something else.)

9. The Hermit: What do you do when you when things aren’t working with your wip? How do you go about figuring that out?

I’m the worst at figuring this out. I don’t realize it until I’ve written the whole thing and I go back and read it again. I guess I’m just so in the moment that I’m not that worried about how the story is actually going.

10. The Wheel Of Fortune: How do you do deal with things being out of your control?

I don’t think I’ve ever been out of control with my writing. It’s always been my own thing and I just wrote so there was really no time where I felt like I wasn’t in one leading the story.

11. Justice: How do you feel your past has molded you as a writer?

I got into a lot of things in Middle School that I definitely should not have and that really plays out in my books. No further questions.

12. The Hanged Man: How much are you willing to give to your writing?

Right now, I’m trying to give everything to my writing. I don’t go to school so I have all this extra time on my hands in which I try to write. I’d LOVE to have writing as a career in the future but I think I’m going to stray a little on the path and go into publishing with writing on the side. Hopefully, I can still make writing a priority when that time comes.

13. Death: How have you, and thus your writing, transformed since you started this journey?

I definitely write a lot better than before. My writing was horrible at first and it’s definitely improved. I’ve also learned to accept that this is what I want to do with my life. When I was younger, I always wanted to be a lawyer. This wasn’t one of those crazy kid dreams like an astronaut or a princess (though I did also want to be president for a while). I never would have imagined that I want to be a writer or a publisher or ANYTHING that had to do with books and fiction. It’s definitely a good feeling and I’m so glad that I made it this far to be able to say that.

14: Temperance: How much thought do you pay do the long-term with your writing?

I’m not really sure what this question is asking (I knew I’d get to an unknown question eventually).

15: The Devil: What’s your personal devil? What does the mean little imp that sits on your shoulder whisper?

My personal devil looks like Robert Pattinson (don’t ask why- I just like him that much that he’s my devil and my angel) and Rob is always telling me that I should stop trying because I’ll never be as good as other authors. This is not a Rob that I like, but  what can you do?

16: The Tower: What’s the biggest revelation you’ve had as a writer?

That I actually wanted to do this. I know I’ve repeated this plenty of times but you guys just don’t get it. I’m always wanting to try something new and it never works out. When I was 8, I wanted to knit (I of course didn’t have actual needles- just wooden skewers and some yarn). When I was 11 I wanted to be a doctor (that would have never worked out anyway…). I’ve tried so many things that don’t work and I’m so glad that writing isn’t one of them.

17: The Star: What does that moment of pure inspiration and unburdened joy look like for you?

If you’re looking at me, I’m probably looking out into space (I do that a lot anyway, but especially when I have an idea or inspiration) then I frantically try to write it down. I have so many notes written on Burger King bags…

18: The Moon: How do you deal with that moment when you can’t see where you’re going or what you’re supposed to be doing?

I do nothing. Literally. I do whatever else I need to do and let the inspiration and wisdom come to me instead of chasing it. After a few menial tasks where I can just think, I get an idea and then I’m good to go.

19. The Sun: Which area of the writing process are you most confident in? Which do you know you’re good at?

I think I’m excellent and murdering characters. It sounds brutal and you may be thinking “we need to get this girl some help” but it’s absolutely true. The characters I kill are most often so important to the MC and I can feel the pain that they’re feeling. The killing adds to the plot and adds emotion to an otherwise boring character.

20. Judgement: If you could go back and change one thing along your writing journey, what would it be and why?

I don’t really know. I guess I’d stop being so hard on myself because that’d definitely help me now, but that did strengthen who I am, so I don’t really know…

21: The World: How much of what you’ve learnt from each project do you feel you take into each new project?

I try to take as much as I can.We always strive to be better than our former selves (and this goes for anything- not just writing) so it’s a human instinct to remember what you’ve learned and figure out where you went wrong in order to be better than who you were even if it was last week.


 

Thank you so much for reading and I hope you enjoyed this Tag Tuesday. I know I liked getting a little more in-depth into the writing process and who I am as a writer.

Thank you Holly for tagging me to do this as I’ve had a blast!

I’ll see you all later with another post (get ready for #1lineWed tomorrow!) but until then, keep writing, loves.

cropped-white-1.jpg

4 thoughts on “The Author’s Oracle Pt. 2 | Tag Tuesday

  1. I completely understand what you mean with music, music is really important to me and I have it playing most of the time. 😀 It’s great that you’re so certain about your path as a writer, it took me until my twenties to figure that out and settle into it! I hope you get your dream job in publishing, you’re clearly dedicated and determined. 🙂 Thanks for joining in, they were awesome answers 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

