Write, Write, Write.

Hey everyone!

wave

I was going to have a book review for you yesterday, but it’s been a very unproductive weekend/ Monday and I was supposed to read 300 pages which I did not. This means that you’re getting a writing update (and a few videos because why not?)

Firstly, I wrote a total of 8K words and edited a few chapters of my NaNo novel this week which I think is pretty good. I haven’t done that much writing in one week in a while!

For your entertainment, I’ll give you a little taste of my NaNoWriMo novel titled Mundi. I won with this book in November of 2015 and it’s been like my child ever since. I love the characters and the plot reminds of the things I love to read, so I really hope you enjoy this. (Keep in mind, this was only edited by me once so I can’t promise there won’t be grammar or spelling issues.)

 

“Who are you?” I asked.

“Alistair,” he said. Were you supposed to trust your kidnappers? I wasn’t so sure, but how could I tell if he was lying?

“Why am I here?”

“That I can’t tell you yet,” he said.

“Why not?” I asked. I didn’t really care, I just wanted to distract him while I looked for something, anything, that even slightly resembled a weapon. Finding a pencil stuck in between the seats, I sighed in relief feeling much better that I had some kind of defense.

“I’m not allowed to tell you that either,” Alistair said with a tiny laugh. “Just don’t panic. I’m not telling you now, but you’ll find out soon enough.”

“Where’re we going?” I asked although I had a feeling he wouldn’t tell me.

“Mundi.”

“Moon-Dee?” I said, feeling the word on my tongue. It sounded strangely familiar but I didn’t know where or why I would’ve known it.

“It’s Latin. It means ‘world’.”

“Why are you wearing gloves?” I asked him.

“That’s something else you’ll have to find out once we get to Mundi.”

I leaned my head back against the seat and closed my eyes. It dulled the pain a little, but I still felt the pounding in my skull.

I felt something solid being thrown at me from where Alistair sat and opening one eye carefully, I found it was a bottle labeled with pain medication. “I’m not taking anything from you.”

“Margaret, we don’t want to hurt you.”

I whipped my head up which didn’t make my headache any better. “How do you know what my name is?”

“I knew your father,” He said simply.

“My father?”  I asked, a little shocked at hearing him talk about my dad.

“Mm-hm. I was with him when he was executed,” he said with a sad tone coming through his words.

“Wait,” I said, holding out my hand to stop him even though he wasn’t even talking anymore. “My dad was EXECUTED?”

“I probably wasn’t supposed to tell you that, but you know now.” He paused and took a deep breath. “Your father was executed by the people of Mundi because they didn’t like him. I believe it was a little over seven years ago. I was with him, taking care of him, until he died in a public execution.”

“What was he like?” I asked. Why was I trusting his answers- I didn’t know. For all I knew, he could be just trying to get me to believe him so I would do what he says and he would kill me.

“He was a great man despite what anyone says.” He paused. “You never met him did you?”

“No,” I said and shook my head. “My mom told me he died before I was born so I never met him. I don’t think I have ever even seen a picture of him before.”

Then he reached up into a compartment above his head and pulled out a card type thing attached to a lanyard. He handed it back to me and said, “This was your dad’s work ID.”

I looked down at it in my hand. ‘Robert Peters’ it said. ‘Official Spy of Mundi’. Then it had a picture of him of the left side. He had curly brown hair like me and brown eyes that matched his brown goatee. He was wearing a flannel shirt that was tight over the bulges in his arms. “He was really strong?” I asked aloud.

“He was the Spy. He had to be. It was a very important job.”

“What does a Spy do in Mundi?” I asked.

“You’ll find out in just a minute because we are reaching our destination in three, two, one.” He turned a corner and a quaint lighthouse appeared in front of us. “The Coquille River Lighthouse,” he announced with a big gesture of his arms.

“Why did you bring me to a lighthouse?” I asked him, a little suspicious as he put the car into park but did not get out.

“Because this is where the submarine awaits to take us to Mundi,” He said as if it was nothing.

“We have to take a submarine to Mundi? Where is it? Hawaii?”

“No it’s maybe 500 miles from here.”

“There’s no land there. That would mean it would be in the ocean.”

“It is. There’s a dome under there where everyone is able to breath. We get shipments of oxygen every week, though no one has noticed yet.”

“How big is this dome?”

“Maybe the size of Oregon.”

“And that’s the whole town of Mundi?”

“Actually,” he said. “It is a world not a town.”

“A world such as a planet?” I asked. He could not be serious.

“Exactly,” He replied.

“Are you trying to tell me that you live inside of a dome under the North Pacific Ocean where you tell people its its own planet?”

“That is what I’m telling you,” He said and nodded as if it was obvious.

“You can’t be serious. Do people not know they live under the ocean?”

“Nope,” he said. “We try to keep it a secret the best we can, but that is all I am telling you. The rest you have to let Genna tell you.”

“Who’s Genna?”

“Oh, she’s the council president.”

“So like the President of the United states of America except she’s the President of Mundi?”

“Yes. We also have a Vice President and his name is Peter, a handle that’s me, and a Spy. Well, we don’t have one now. That’s why you are here.”

“Isn’t that what my dad was before he died?”

“Yes,” he said. “And stop asking questions. I’m not allowed to tell you anything else. When Genna tells you things, pretend like you did not know anything until she told you, okay.”

“Okay,” I said, though I had no intention of even getting into a submarine let alone going to Mundi. If Mundi even was a real place.

“I’m going to let you out, but you can’t run, okay? We want you to help us so I don’t want to hurt you.”

“I won’t run,” I lied.

“Okay,” He said cautiously and pressed the unlock button on the car door. As soon as I heard the click, I opened the door and started running, making a mad dash towards the road. Maybe I would be able to find a building or catch a ride with someone; I was not too sure at the time. I just knew I needed to get out of there.


One of my favorite covers is The A Team by Birdy. I love Ed Sheeran, but I think I like the way Birdy sings it just the same.

 

I also found some really funny videos online so you’re going to get to see those today!

This first one is funny for reasons that I don’t even know…

 

This next one, I’m sure you’ve all heard and if you hadn’t, you do now!

 

This last one was on Jimmy Fallon. I just love these types of skits that he does and this just so happens to be with Jennifer Lopez.

 

Before we go, I wanted to share this video as well. It was in 2011 but it never gets old!

Leave a Reply

