Ask Me Anything (Kind of???)

Hello lovelies!

I was tagged by the wonderfully amazing Holly to do these questions and they sound like fun, so here we go!

What time do you wake up in the morning when you have a day of writing planned?

I don’t wake up on a schedule. I have repeatedly set alarms for various times and I never once hear them (maybe because I snore or because I’m a heavy sleeper or because my sister turns it off? I have no idea). My mom gets angry at me at around nine or ten when I don’t wake up, so that’s going to be my answer! 😛

Do you energise yourself with tea or coffee?

This is a good question…I like drinking tea just around the house or when I’m writing but it doesn’t really energize me. I like drinking coffee when I’m tired or I need a little boost, but it wears off fast so I just need more coffee. So, I think my answer is coffee?

Where is your favourite writing location?

I write on my bed and at my kitchen table. I used to write solely on my bed because I could be alone and listen o my music and whatever, but I’ve recently started up school again after a long Winter break. After I finish school, (I do my school at the kitchen table or else I’ll fall asleep :P) I just open up my writing and get to it immediately.

Where would you love to visit and sit and write?

My very lame answer is a coffee shop. (Firstly, I’ve never been to a coffee shop, so that’d be an experience.) I think it’d be so…professional to at least write in a coffee shop once.

My more awesome answer is France. I’ve always wanted to visit France and it’s wonders so yeah. France.

Do you use pens and notebooks? Pencils? Laptop? Computer?

When I get an initial idea for something, I write it down in my idea notebook with my favorite purple pen (it writes in purple ink!). When I write poems, I write it in my composition notebook with a pencil. When I’m writing my books or a blog post, I write everything on my computer.

I do outline my novel on four sheets of printer paper taped together and color coded with sticky-notes!

outlinepic
You may have seen this on my Instagram! This was when I was outlining my NaNo novel for 2015. (Sorry it’s kind of blurry- it was dark out.)

How do you relax after a day of writing?

Sleeping….

Nibble you must have whilst writing?

My absolute favorite type of cracker snack while writing is Goldfish. But only the original kind- not any of that pizza shit.

I also like Coca-Cola floats (like a root-beer float but with Coke instead of root-beer) while I’m writing.

Favourite treat to offer yourself after writing?

I eat DURING my writing, so after, I sleep it all off until the morning when I do it all again!

If you could choose one book to read for the rest of your life, what would it be?

What kind of question is this? If I chose one of my favorite books, I’d get tired of it within weeks. I think I’m going to cheat on this one and say the book that has all of Shakespeare’s works in it (it made a feature here a few posts back).

My uncheaty version of this answer would be Paper Towns by John Green. There’s so many metaphors and hidden messages that I’d like to eventually find.

If you had the chance to meet any author, alive or dead, who would you meet?

I don’t really know…. Shakespeare would be cool for this question. He was kind of wacky and insane so that’d be fun. We can be crazy together! 😛

Name a character you feel you relate most to in one of your own stories and another authors?

In one of my books, I’m going with Rose from The Writer and the Artist. She’s a writer and a singer and is extremely shy. Her parents are relatively strict but it makes her more disciplined and helps her out in the long run.

I don’t know about from someone else’s book…maybe Grace from Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver series? I don’t know why, but she reminds me of myself.

Favourite factual book?

I don’t read very much non-fiction. Actually, I read no non-fiction.

If cookbooks count, then I read a lot of those. My favorite is probably The Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook or something like that (it’s not the actual title- I just can’t remember what it’s called.) It’s just  cookbook that has recipes from the Harry Potter books and it’s pretty cool.

If you were to write an article on anything, what would it be about?

I could write an article on a few things. Singing, writing, books, colorful pens, zombies. Ooh, for my answer, I’m going with zombies.

BTW, I’ve been wanting an excuse to recommend this book to you guys. It’s called Hollowland by Amanda Hocking and it’s a NA (new adult) book about zombies and it’s FANTASTIC. As a bonus, you can get it for free on Amazon Kindle. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes action, zombies, strange love interests. (Disclaimer: there are some sex scenes in there somewhere, so if you’re sensitive to that or don’t want to read it, you probably don’t want to pick this up.)

Would you rather be famous with a one hit wonder or stable With a long run?

I don’t really know what this question is asking. (Turns out, there’s always at least one question on these Q&As that I don’t understand.)

I guess I’m going to go with stable with a long run because being stable seems like the good answer to choose.

How long does it take you to write a book?

I know you guys are tired of hearing me talk about my first book I wrote, believe me, I am too, but it pertains to this question, so bear with me. My first book I wrote took three years to write. It was mostly because I was ten, twelve, and thirteen at the time and I wasn’t that serious about writing so I wrote maybe a chapter every month.

I wrote my NaNoWriMo novel within a month (actually it was completely finished a few days after NaNo ended, but it was about a month.

I’ve also been writing my other books for maybe a year and a half, but again, I haven’t been that serious about writing until recently, but also , I have a bunch of them and I can never find which one I want to do. Therefore, there’s like ten of them in different stages.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I’m pretty sure most writers do this, but I like to make the faces that my characters are making to make sure it makes sense in the context. I also like making up names that shouldn’t be names. For example, in one of my books, there’s this girl called Amulet and another called Kerakuh. And in the same book, there’s a boy called Rav which is short for his full name which is Ravishing.

In another book, I created a mythical animal called a Zeboiegira. (You say it like zeb-wah-gee-rah.) It’s part zebra, part goose, part giraffe and knows English but doesn’t speak it. In the book, the ghost girl finds this animal and names it Crystal because when the Zeboiegira licks something, it disintegrates but then comes back in the exact shape it was before in gem form.

Do you have any suggestions to help people become a better writer? If so, what are they?

I’m probably not the best person you need to be asking for writing advice, you know, because I’m fifteen? Since you’re asking me, though, I’ll tell you what I think.

Believe in yourself. That’s the best thing you can do in your writing. When I was ten, everyone looked at me like I was crazy when I told them I wanted to write a book. After awhile, you start to believe that you can’t do it- that it’s a crazy idea. Believe in yourself from the start and then when it’s the future and you’re fifteen years old, writing whole books and talking to other writers online, you’re going to be the best writer you can be.

How does your book relate to your spiritual practice or other life path?

I’m a Christian and my family are hardcore believers of Jesus and God and Heaven and Hell and all of that. This makes it a little harder to write what I like to read because I read a bunch of paranormal/ possessions/ books with different gods and goddesses. In my ghost book, it has pretty much all of that. The main character can see ghosts, so she’s kind of possessed (but that’s not really how it’s explained in the book), she slowly turns into a ghost after kissing her ghost boyfriend, and the ghosts in the book have their own goddess.

I don’t think that by what I write, I’m changing my beliefs, but it doesn’t match what I believe at all either.

Mostly, though, I don’t like to get too much into religion, politics, or social order because people are extremely sensitive to that and if it doesn’t HAVE to be in there, I try to avoid it.

Now for the last question that I was prompted to make up: What’s a word that you use all the time that you wish you could stop using (but you can’t for the life of you?)

I don’t know if I’m supposed to answer this myself, but I will anyway. For this, I’m going to go with the word ‘though’. I hate it and use it all the freaking time (you can probably find a whole bunch of thoughs in the previous questions). It’s a word that needs to be used, though! (Dammit, used it again.) This is the most used word in my books and posts and everything else that I write…

I’ve already tagged some people to do this on Twitter, but if you’d like to do this, then go on ahead!

Thank you guys so much for reading and I’ll see you all very soon! (Tomorrow actually. I have a Valentine’s Day post planned!)

18 thoughts on “Ask Me Anything (Kind of???)

  1. Thank you for joining in! I use coloured post-its to plan too, they’re not always colour-coded because I just love colour, but I do use them lol. My over-used word is definitely just, I’m awful for it.

    I think you’re completely right about believing in yourself too. Writing is hard, and personal, you need to have faith in yourself. Thanks for your great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading and thanks for tagging me! I had a lot of fun doing these!
      I pretty much color-code everything. Even, my closet! I think I may need therapy if this continues… 😛
      I’m bad about using just too! Not as much as though, though. (See what I mean?) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I do exactly the same with the faces, but I sometimes do it when I’m out in public and have my music on and all I’m thinking about is my book. I’ll just suddenly stop or pull a strange face at someone, then laugh so I look even more weird than I did.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is really funny! I don’t do it in public but I do it around my family. Or sometimes, when one of my family members makes a face and I think ‘that reminds of one of my characters’ I make them do it again so I can study it. 😛

      Like

      • I’m terrible for it. In one scene of Invisible, my main protagonist is stood on the edge of a building. I was out one day and saw a small wall so I stood on it, trying to replicate his feelings. I kept getting comments like ‘don’t do it, the 6 inch drop might hurt your feet.’

        Liked by 1 person

          • I wanted it just right. There’s another scene where he drives a car off a bridge into a river. The bridge is real so I drove to it to see how feasible it was to drive into it (I didn’t actually drive into it) Was asked to move along by the police who took all my details

            Liked by 1 person

            • :O Oh my goodness! First, I’m glad you didn’t actually drive off of that bridge, but it does make for a good story. Second, the police incident is hilarious! I’ve never heard of that happening before!

              Like

              • Sometimes, if the police see you looking over a bridge, they think you’re getting ready to jump. When I told them it was research for a book, they just looked at me as if to say ‘yeah, a likely story.’ Should have seen the looks on their faces when I said the main guy drives over the bridge into the river. I’m sure they followed me for the rest of the day.

                Liked by 1 person

                  • You’re right but they never do. I once threw a stress ball at someone I used to work with. When they asked why, I said I was researching their reaction to suddenly getting hit by a squashy object. I got told not to do it again so naturally, I did it again for a laugh.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    • 😀 I could listen to these writer stories all day! I’ve never done anything like that but I have listened to people’s conversations to see how they talk. They always ask me why I’m eavesdropping, but it’s not even like I care about who’s cheating on who. It’s just research.

                      Like

                    • Don’t worry, you’ve got plenty of time. If you don’t do this already, try this trick for listening to conversations. Get a book and some music. Put earphones on, play your music on low and sit next to someone you want to listen to. Pretend to read and turn your music right down so you can hear them but keep it playing. Keep your hand over the volume button in case they become suspicious. If done right, they will never realise what you’re doing. I do it all the time

                      Like

                    • Hmm…I might try that someday. I’ve always just been seated the other way doing nothing but staring off into space. That doesn’t exactly work. Nice to know a new trick!

                      Like

  3. Making faces while writing has gotten me a lot of puzzled stares. I like to write in public areas like libraries, at the school where I work, and at a Barnes & Noble or Starbucks.

    By the way, I’ll keep in mind your hatred for the word “though” and try not to use it while writing a comment to you. Heck, maybe I’ll attempt to write future posts on my blog without using the word. You know, so that my blog will be a “though-free zone” that you can read in full comfort. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t mind READING the word ‘though’ but I hate using it because it takes longer for me to write it than read it so when I’m writing, I dwell on the word a few seconds longer than I would whilst reading it.
      It might me a fun challenge, though (It always happens to me…). Maybe I’ll try that too. (But I’ll probably fail like I’ve already failed at this comment.)

      Liked by 1 person

        • Hmmm…. how about your opinion on mattresses. (It’s strange, but you’ve got to have SOME kind of opinion. You either like ’em or you don’t.) Or the fact that gummy bears are in the shape of bears. (I feel like it’s insulting to bears.) 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

