WIP Wednesday- Characters (TAG)

WIPwedfinal

Hey writerly people!

Today, I’m doing the Work in Progress Wednesday tag created by the wonderful Holly! Here’s a link to her post where she put up the original questions.

Some of you may know I’ve done the first one of this (here‘s a link to where you can find it) but Holly just made a new one and tagged me so I’ll be doing that today.

Sometimes I just have to post two in the same day and today is one of those days. I do my #1lineWed favorites on Wednesdays and WIP Wednesday wouldn’t be the same if it was on any other day, so we’re going to go with it.

I’ll stop my ramblings and get on with the questions. 🙂

 

Give us the rundown of some of your main characters

I’m going in order of the way the stories are filed in my documents because there is no way I’m remembering all of them.

Esmé Leclair is the main character of an untitled witch novel. She is a fugitive witch on the run with her older sister and mother. She’s 17 years old and she can’t do magic very well.

Crimson Damian is the main character of an untitled vampire novel. She’s 16 years old and a vampire. I have two different plots that I’ve started and I don’t know which one I want to go with. One of them, she’s a princess vampire and another she’s just a normal vampire.

Next, I have two main characters for one titled The Writer and the Artist. Rosemary is one of the main characters and she’s 15. She’s very shy and likes to write, sing, and play the piano. Daniel is the other main character and he’s more outgoing. He’s the artist in the duo and does everything from drawing to making pottery.

Next is the main character from the novel I wrote for NaNoWriMo 2015 called Mundi. The main character’s name is Margaret- she goes by Retta- Peters and she’s a 16 year old who has powers that she doesn’t know about until she’s kidnapped. She’s very stubborn and asks the most ridiculous questions. (This is the book I’m in the process of editing.)

Next up is Free. You guys already know all about her from my previous WIP Wednesday tag, but I’ll tell you again. She’s a 17 year old who was raised by zombies ever since she was little.

Then, I have a robot story titled Hollow and the main character is Victoria- she goes by Vicky- Fay. She’s a teenager who lives in a world of robots. She’s very prone to accidents and is always looked down upon. She’s extremely strong and has two different colored eyes.

The last one I’m talking about is an untitled flower story. (This is the one with the guy who’s a flower.) The main character is Juliet and she loves everything spring. She plants flowers every year by herself and she loves everything about botanic shops. Of course, this isn’t the only thing about her, but I have yet to discover more.

 

Who’s your favourite and why? 

Hmmmmm…. this is a really hard one- why would you do this to me, Holly?! I’m probably going to say Crimson Damian. She just has this way of speaking that I love and she’s so mysterious. Even though I have two different plots in mind for her, she’s the exact same in both of them and I love that.

Who’s the most difficult to write and why?

I think the most difficult to write is Free. I love her, don’t get me wrong, but I think it’s extremely difficult to write from her point of view. She was raised by zombies for her whole life but before that, she was put through so much- they gave her numbers instead of a name before her parents busted her out of the safe house and stuff like that. And I always feel like I’m not doing her story justice when I’m writing it, but I’m hoping that after a few edits, that’ll all be fixed.

If you could choose one to spend the day with in real life, who would you choose and why?

Ooh, I love this question! I’d probably pick Esmé Leclair from my witch novel. I think it’d be awesome to meet her in real life because she’s totally badass! She talks to everyone with this gracefulness that I’d like to experience for myself. And, of course we can’t forget that she’s a witch for goodness’ sake.

 

Pick one and answer the following:

What’s their basic description? Physical appearance, job, etc.

I’m guessing for this one, we don’t need to choose main characters. Plus, I really want to talk about this character and story. I’m going to go with Aster McRein from my untitled flower story. He’s 17, 5’8″, he has blonde hair and brown eyes, he’s lean but not in a very muscular way- he’s just fit, and he has a luminescent glow to his skin that’s barely noticeable. Also, he’s a flower.

In case you aren’t familiar with flower types, Aster is named after an actual aster flower:

asteraster 2aster 3aster 4

Also, as a side note, his mom’s name is Magnolia- she’s a magnolia tree- but people call her Maggie, He has three cousins named Lily (girl), Aspen (boy) and Daisy (girl), his aunt who raised him is named Calla and his uncle is Linden. All of these characters have the last name of McRein because its kind of a normal last name but it also sounds like ‘rain’ which is essential to plants.

What are their views on love?

Flower people (I haven’t come up with a set-in-stone name for them yet) don’t really think about love. They grow up being just another plant but eventually become humans who stick really close to their parents. Once Aster meets Juliet, though, it’s a different story.

What are their religious views?

Flower people don’t really have religions but they think that someone higher up (more like a court than a god, though) gives them the power to become people. All of this can be taken away (and has been in the past) so they are very serious about thinking great things of the higher plant people.

How do they feel about death?

Death is a very inevitable thing for them. Just like real plants, they die very easily. They can’t be too cold or too hot and they have to be in sunlight for a while if they want to be in shade. Aster really just accepts that one day he may die.

What’s their approach to food and cooking?

ASTER DOES NOT LIKE EATING GREEN PLANTS. This is very important if you ever meet him. Other plants like strawberries or pineapple (those are some of his favorites) never become flower people but all greens one can. He can also live off of water and or sugar if he needs to. Honey is his favorite type of food and he’ll eat it all day if he can (which most of the time, he can.)

What’s their place in the world?

I don’t really understand what this question is asking, but I’m just going to guess. Aster has been a flower person since he was five years old (before that, he was just raised by his mother as a seedling) and he’s lived with Calla and Linden as a flower person ever since. He doesn’t have any human education or a job, but his job as a plant is to provide oxygen for everyone around him- which he takes very seriously.

What’s their big dream?

At first it was to get his mother back to a flower person (she got her privileges taken away by the higher council) but once he meets Juliet, he hopes to figure it out together and he wants to spend his whole life with her from the moment they meet.

How did they come about?

This is a really funny story. 🙂 During the Spring of 2015, my family and I went to go buy flowers at our local botanical shop. I’m always on the lookout for cute guys my age, me being single and all, and there just so happened to be one where we were shopping. Of course, I didn’t think it was so cute when he screamed bloody murder when a bee came up behind him, but it got me thinking about if he was friends with bees. Who on earth would be friends with bees? People who were secretly flowers! That is how Aster was born! I was originally going to tell the story from the point of view of Aster, but I thought that it’d give the readers a better insight of what was going on if Juliet told the story.

If you were to ship them with another character, yours or someone else’s, who and why?

Of course I ship Aster and Juliet. In the story, they’re the perfect couple, but I’m going to go with something different to spice it up a little. I ship Aster with Laurel from Aprilynne Pike’s Wings series. If you haven’t read it, (you really should- it’s a great series) Laurel finds out she’s a faerie after sprouting a weird petal-like thing on her back. It turns out that the faeries in this story are based on flowers. The faeries’ wings (they can’t really fly, though so I don’t know why they’re called wings) are literal flowers that grow in their backs at different seasons. Anyway, Aster being a flower person and Laurel being a flower faerie, they’re a prefect match.

Finally, if you can, share some lines or a snippet focused on this character!

Here’s a piece of the prologue where he was in it:

“I’m so sorry for your sister’s grave departure.”

The six year old boy stood behind Mrs. McRein, his aunt, and shivered. He didn’t like the old woman for reasons he didn’t understand.

“Thank you,” Mrs. McRein said. “It’s been hard for him.” She nodded her head in the direction of her nephew.

“I can imagine. So, when’s the funeral?”

“We’re not having one,” she replied.

“Why not, dear? If the boy’s mother died, you should show him that she was properly taken care of.”

Because you need a body for a funeral, she thought. “For complicated reasons.”

“Well, I’m sure the boy will understand when he’s older.” The old woman reached out her flabby arm and touched the top of the little boy’s head with her gnarled fingers. “I must be going now, dear, but I came by to offer my condolences and give you this.” She held out a deflated cake that was frosted poorly with black icing. Mrs. McRein took it and said her thank yous. “And I have something for you, too, boy.” She made a ‘come here’ motion with her fingers, but didn’t give him enough time to move before she just grabbed his hand and placed a circular metal locket in it. “Don’t lose it. It was my mother’s and she gave it to me in a hard time like this one.”

The boy nodded and the old lady left. “Throw this away, honey. And make sure to not put that thing in your mouth. You don’t know where it’s been,” Mrs. McRein said to the little boy. She put the unflattering cake in his hand and nudged him towards the kitchen.

He made it to the kitchen, but turned in the opposite direction of the garbage can and towards the table. Why would he let cake go to waste? So, he sat down and ate cake as he tried to open the locket.

It was rusty on the hinges, so it took a bit of work, but he finally managed to shove his fingernails in and get it opened. Inside he found a picture of a ball of light. He wasn’t sure how he knew it was light because in the picture it just looked like a purple ball, but he knew it meant something. What that something was, he had no idea.

In case you didn’t catch it, the little boy was Aster. Next up is one from the middle of the first chapter:

The guy was there with his hand outstretched towards a small pink flower that I couldn’t really see to name. His hand was cupped underneath it and was looking at it like it was the most beautiful thing in the world. He dropped his hand and let it fall to the edge of the pot and brought it to his cart. He smiled at me and I dropped my eyes, feeling my cheeks get hot.

John, who was walking a few feet behind me, rammed the cart into the back of my ankle and pain shot up my leg. “Ow!” I groaned.

“Sorry, Jules. I didn’t know you stopped.”

“It’s fine,” I said. I started walking again and tried to hide my limp. “Hey, John,” I whispered. “Do you see that guy over there?” Some would say that boy talk with your brother is weird, but he was the only friend I had and he understood. Most of the time.

“The blonde one?” He asked.

“Yeah. I wonder why he’s here alone. I mean, I’ve never seen a guy go to a flower shop so willingly.”

“Maybe he was forced,” John smirked and inspected a strawberry plant and when he found it up to his standards, he put it in the cart.

“Maybe,” I said. But I didn’t really think so. He looked so content being here. He looked like he belonged.


Thank you for reading and thank you Holly for tagging me to do this! Following with what Holly did, I’ll be tagging some people (the same people I tagged last time):

Gabriel

K.J.

Jedidja

That’s it for now, you guys! I’ll see you tomorrow! Au revoir and don’t forget to écrire du coeur. :*

 

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday- Characters (TAG)

  1. I was hoping to learn more about your flower boy! It sounds like a really interesting concept, I love how different it is and you’ve clearly put a lot of thought into it. The excerpts are great, you bring across your character’s voices so strongly, it’s easy to slip into their shoes.

    Thanks for taking part, I really enjoyed your answers and learning more about your projects!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually picked my flower boy so that you and everyone else who asked about it last time could know more! He’s such an interesting character and I think it’s really fun how he does things.
      That means so much so thank you! I always feel like my ideas are boring and my characters a bland and my writing is the same as every other time I write, but that makes me feel a lot better. 🙂
      Thanks again for tagging me! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

