The Retribution of Mara Dyer- Michelle Hodkin

Hello everyone!

Just like the last two book reviews, I read this book while on my online hiatus a few weeks ago (What can I say? I had a lot of extra time.). This review was written right after I finished reading the book on January 13 but I wanted to review it so here we go.

Also, I want to say that this review has been up on my Goodreads page for quite some time so you should go add me as a friend and then you can see the reviews before I write them for my blog!

2016-01-13_21.19.11

(Photo taken from my Instagram: @jasminedawn_writes_books)

 

Title: The Retribution of Mara Dyer

Author: Michelle Hodkin

Published: Simon & Schuster

Edition: 2014 Paperback

My rating: *****/***** (5/5)

 

The Retribution of Mara Dyer is the third and last book in the Mara Dyer trilogy by author Michelle Hodkin. This book takes place after the ending of the second book (The Evolution of Mara Dyer) when Mara wakes up in a room and doesn’t remember getting there. She realizes that Dr. Kells has taken her and is experimenting on her and her friends. A bunch of things play out and she ends up leaving the hospital room and finding Jamie and Stella and goes on her search to find Noah.

Jamie, Stella, and Mara uncover secrets about their powers as well as about the real Dr. Kells and why she wants to take them to testing all the while trying to find out who kidnapped Noah and why everyone is telling her he’s dead.

This is definitely not a book you want to read before going to bed (but I did and I’m still here) because it leaves you feeling pretty vulnerable. All of the mysteries from the first two books are revealed in this fantastic ending to the series.

Of course, if you haven’t read the first book, you should so that you can come back here after you finish the series and we can talk. Even though this will be published in February, you can leave comments anytime you want or you can send me a tweet or comment on any of my reviews and we can fangirl (or boy) over it!

That’s the end of the non-spoiler section and I would suggest you really leave if you haven’t read the series yet because this next part has huge spoilers. Thanks for joining me while I talk about one of my favorite series’!

______________________________________________

Take a deep breath in and out. Good, now we can start because this book had so many scenes here I held my breath until I felt light-headed.

It was definitely a lot less action packed than the other two because she wasn’t really being chased by psycho killers (not that Kells wasn’t a psycho) but it still had such great craziness in it that I couldn’t put it down!

Every second that Mara had doubts that Noah was still alive, I wanted to kick her because I just knew he was going to be (and he was!!!!). I also never understood why Stella left (and Jamie was afraid of Mara) because she was doing the exact same thing that she was doing in all of the other books. Maybe it was because neither of them had seen her do her thing in real life before?

I have to admit, I kind of hoped Mara was going to pregnant (though it would complicate things) because I wanted her to have something she could love and that could have her genes. After I read the book, though, I concluded that it was better if she didn’t have a child because 1) it was most likely not going to be Noah’s, 2) I wouldn’t wish Mara’s power on anyone, and 3) she just has too much going on to be ready to raise a child.

When Mara walked off the subway because of a text, I wanted to kick her (many instances where I wanted to kick her). She put herself, Jamie, and Daniel at risk. And then she realized her mistake once she was inside the building with David and Jude and Noah was forced to kill her.

I actually cried you guys. I cried when Noah killed Mara and I cried when Jude killed Noah and I cried when Mara woke up and Noah was dead and then I cried when he woke up again. I was just full of tears towards the end of this book.

I kind of hated that we never got to see what happened to Stella after she left. There was no other mention of her other than when Jamie was passing out the letters, there was one for Stella, and everyone just shrugged it off because she wasn’t there.

I was also disappointed that we couldn’t find out Mara’s real name. I mean, I get it and everything since the whole book is her telling the story and her lawyer told her to change the names and everything so that they wouldn’t get sued, but upon Googling what her name actually is, I found Michelle Hodkin’s tumblr. She tells us that she will never reveal Mara’s real name because the books are over and whatnot, but she’s the author and obviously the book is fake so I had hope that she would tell us anyway.

I wish this series didn’t have to end because I loved reading it and I’m going to miss the characters, but it’s okay because the ending was perfect. I think it tied everything together just great.


 

Thank you again you guys for reading my review because I had so much fun reading the Mara Dyer series and writing about it. I’ll see you later!

Leave a Reply

