Write for Yourself | Thoughts on Things

Hello lovely people!

I know most of you know this about me, but if you didn’t, I’ll tell you.

When I was younger, I wanted to write a book. I would open up a word document on our desktop computer and start writing. Mind you, it wasn’t very good at all and they’ve all been since deleted, but I still wrote, thinking that one day, someone would read it in a book.

When I was ten, I had a dream about a ghost and I was the only person who could see this ghost and his family because I had some kind of power. This train of thought led me to a story and then it occurred to me that I should write it down. It was called A Ghostly Kiss and I was extremely proud of it.

It took me three years to finish the first draft, but I finally finished it and wanted to get it published. I thought about all the routes from self-publishing to writing my very first query letter (which is extremely hard, especially for a 13 year old). It never turned out and I don’t think that I’ll ever actually publish it.

It got me thinking recently that I wrote that book for the sole purpose of having it in a book.

Recently, thanks to the help of a good friend , Al, I started writing short stories. I had never thought of writing a short story because I was so worried about getting a book published. I gave it a shot, though and it turned out pretty good. (If you want, you can check it out here.)

There are so many great advantages to writing short stories. First, you don’t have to make a huge plot with tinier subplots to keep the story moving. Second, the characters don’t need a huge introduction (unless you want to write it). And then we get to one of my favorites; you can write it for yourself.

When you write a book or a novel, you find that you want to show it to everyone because you spent a year (or in my case 3) working on it and everything, but when it’s a short story, you can keep it for you. It doesn’t matter what you write because you’re the only one to ever read it.

Of course, this might not include you, but I’ve met plenty of writers who like to write short stories that are never meant to be shared.

I hope this makes sense to everyone because sometimes everything is so clear in your mind that you can’t get the right words down. ;P

By the way, since I’m no longer doing my inspirational quotes on Sundays, I’m thinking about doing more of my thoughts on things. What do you think of this idea? Do you like the name I picked (Thoughts on Things) because if not, I’m willing to change it. 🙂

That’s it for this episode-thanks for tuning in! I’ll see you guys later.

4 thoughts on “Write for Yourself | Thoughts on Things

  1. I totally recognise myself in this! I’m actually still trying to finish a book, but it’s taking A LOT of time. Maybe I should start writing more short stories 😉 so thanks for the tip. By the way, you’re talking about keeping the stories for yourself, but I’d love to read some of them :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • Book ARE really hard and it takes a lot of attention (kind of like a cat :P) Short stories are my way of telling a whole bunch of stories in a shorter amount of time. I will be sharing some more of my short stories in the future- I’m glad you’re interested in reading them! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the idea for this new series of posts 🙂 I look forward to the rest. Your description of writing books and short stories makes plenty of sense to me. I love writing short stories and sharing them on my blog because it offers a chance to let others discover my writing without the stress of publication. It’s great that I’m not the only one who feels this way 🙂 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Short stories are great, aren’t they? I feel exactly the same way. With short stories, it’s easy to get your point across and show people how you write and what you write, but they don’t have to read as much. This is especially good for feedback.
      Thanks for reading! Glad you liked it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

