Friday Prompts #4

Hey y’all!

Last Friday, (go ahead- sing the Katy Perry song if you must.) for a Friday Prompts, I used a picture. I’ll do another one with a picture in the future, but today, we’re going back to our regularly scheduled program.

In Friday Prompts, I give you two choices to choose from that have to do with a theme and you write something-anything- using the prompt. I have a lot of fun doing these even if you don’t choose to write one, but it’d be fun to see what you come up with.

Today’s theme is happy.

Prompts:

  1. Write about your character’s happy place. The place they feel most comfortable or safe.
  2. This next one is a sentence I came up with that you can use as a prompt: The birds were chirping and the grass felt warm beneath their toes as they walked in the park.

 

I’m going to be using prompt #1!

 

Stargazing

I slipped my feet out the window, eager to get rid of all of the stress. My little sister was already asleep next to the family cat, but I checked once more before I left. Her arm was curled around the furry lump and it ended with her thumb in her mouth.

I wasn’t wearing shoes, but it was okay because you didn’t need to while stargazing. The night was warm but extremely still.

My feet touched the paneling on the roof extension under my window and I got giddy like I did every night.

It wasn’t that much of a climb, but pulling myself up every night for a year took a toll on my arms. The first few months my arms felt like Jell-O but now, there were visible muscles.

I made my way up and sat with my hands behind me, propping me up. The best view of the stars, in my opinion, was on a roof. The darkness surrounds everything, making it much better to see the small points of light in the sky.

I slowly transitioned to my back over time and spent hours counting them and finding the shapes.

This was my idea of bliss.


Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed it! I’d be more than happy if you joined in with me and commented below telling me where to find it or sending me a tweet (my twitter is @jasminedawn22). I’ll see you all on Sunday. 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Friday Prompts #4

  1. A truly beautiful prompt. I love the idea of stargazing; it’s something I’ve always imagine doing, but never have actually done. Now, you make me want to even more. A perfectly captured experience. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

