WIP Wednesday Tag!

wip-weds(This photo belongs to the lovely Holly and you can find the link to her blog in the first paragraph.)

Hello lovely people!

I was tagged by Holly to do the Work In Progress Wednesday tag that- if I’m not mistaken- she made herself! (Don’t correct me if I’m wrong. I like living in my fantasy world.)

I just realized a nano-second ago that it’s not Wednesday where I live yet. It’s 7:55 on a Tuesday, but I’ll do it anyway because it’s Wednesday somewhere.

I don’t have much else to say, so I’ll just get on with the questions:

 

How many works in progress do you currently have in progress?

I have *mumbles*. “What was that?” I’m working on *more mumbles*. “I didn’t quite catch that.” I’M WORKING ON 11 NOVELS, OKAY?!

Tell us about them!

All 11? If you say so…..

The first is one that I wrote when I was ten. It’s about a girl who can see ghosts and her neighbor just so happens to be a ghost and they fall in love and whatnot. I’m currently revising this one.

The second is the sequel to the one previously mentioned. This is halfway done with the first draft.

The next one is a book about this girl who meets this guy who is actually a flower. I’ve written a few chapters of it.

Next up is the one that I usually say I’m currently working on. It’s about a girl who finds out she lives in a world of robots and then joins this rebellion where they try to take over the main organization. I’m about halfway done writing this one.

What number is this one? I don’t even know. This one is the one I wrote for NaNoWriMo 2016. It’s about a girl who is kidnapped and brought to this glass dome under the Pacific Ocean where no one knows they actually live under the ocean. This is in the process of being edited.

Let’s see, next is a secret project I’m working on that I can’t tell you much about. I’ve only written a few chapters of this one.

I also have one about a human girl raised by zombies. I have the prologue up on my blog and you can find it here. I also have the first two chapter after that.

The next one is a New Adult book about a girl who was kidnapped and she sets out to find her younger siblings who’ve been orphaned after their parents were murdered by the kidnappers. I haven’t written anything other than a paragraph of this one.

I’m also writing a contemporary that follows two characters who fall in love as they struggle to belong in high school. This is a pretty long book and I’ve only written about a fourth of it.

Second to last is a vampire one. (Yes, I can hear the groaning.) I have it written two ways because I’m not completely sure how I want it to go so I can’t really tell you what it’s about. 😛 This has a few chapters as well.

Lastly, I have one about fugitive witches! It has one chapter currently written.

Who’s your favourite character from your projects?

I’m going to have to go with Free from my zombie book titled Land of the Free.

Don’t hold back, tell us all about said favourite character!

Free is a 17 year old who was raised by zombies since she was four. No, she doesn’t speak zombie because zombie is impossible to learn unless you are…. a zombie. Even though she was raised by the undead, she has a very lively personality. She loves reading the classics that she finds in abandoned houses and likes to think of her life as one big story (little does she know- it is!). She’s not one to easily fall in love until her Romeo comes along…

How did this project come about?

I don’t really remember. It was most likely a dream or something like that.

What’s the best part of  this project for you? Which bit do you most enjoy?

I think the best part about writing this is that the main character was raised by zombies! She has no idea about the outside world other than the four years she spent in a safe house where no one even had names- just numbers. It’s nice to go inside her head and see what she sees.

Share something from the project with us! A favourite line, a scene, something you feel comfortable with.

Like I said, I already posted the prologue that you can find here if you didn’t catch it the first time so I’ll put up some of the first chapter!

|*|*|*|*|

I woke up to the sound of my mother shuffling around the kitchen and grunting to herself. My face was smashed against the hardwood floor where I slept every night for as long as I could remember. It was super dirty, but my mother wasn’t that good at cleaning since everywhere she went just brought more dirt.

By the look of the sun shining through the broken window, I guessed it was around noon. The air was filled with a moldy smell that all the Febreeze in the world couldn’t get rid of. Someone passed my window and slowly turned their head to glance my way but continued what they were doing.

I got up, folded my blanket, and shoved it in the corner then went to the kitchen to greet my mother. When she heard my footsteps, she turned around and crouched in a low animal stance. I laughed and she got back up to give me a brown banana. It was still edible, but not the tastiest. You learn to live with it, though, when it’s the only thing you have to eat other than humans.

I sat at our small kitchen table and ate my old banana as my mother came over to me and licked my hair. It was something she did every morning and it ensured that I smelled like the undead, so I wouldn’t get eaten.

“Free,” my father breathed as he walked in the house from doing God knows what. My mom and dad called me Free and for three reasons; a) It’s easy enough for them to say and remember, b) it’s my favorite word, and c) I never had a name, so Free seemed like a good choice.

I heard ‘free’ frequently on my neighbor’s battery powered radio. “Land of the free and home of the brave. We won’t be free and brave forever,” or “No survivors can risk being free. Everyone needs to be in a safe house immediately.”

My mother grunted to my dad and he sighed in response. Thirteen years of living with zombies and I still have no idea what they’re saying. Some things you pick up on and other things, you fit them into context. Like if something’s on fire (that actual happens a lot) the zombies yell loudly. Obviously they are tired of things catching on fire.

I speak English, but I don’t really speak. I can’t talk to zombies and I don’t understand zombies, so there isn’t really a reason to speak a language no one else knows.

She finished licking my hair and then wiped her dirty hands down my face. She gave me one of her kitchen knives like she did every day so that I could stab whoever tried to eat me.

Usually when she gave me her knife, it meant she had things to do and wanted me out of the house, so grabbed my favorite book, Little Women, and left, throwing my banana peel on the counter in the process.

I waved at my neighbor who doesn’t have a name as he put another rusty bicycle on top of his junk pile. It was at least as tall as me, but he just kept stacking more things. He’s what I like to call a hoarder zombie.

There are four categories of zombies that I have come up with; the hoarder zombies who take anything and everything, the military zombies who will kill anything that gets in their way, the caretaker zombies who take care of the children and the house-ones like my mother- and then there are the regular zombies. Those are the ones that just roam around looking for food. They may not get back for weeks at a time and some don’t even make it back.

 

|*|*|*|*|

We’ve done happy positive stuff, so tell us, what’s the most difficult part of this project?

I think that the most difficult part of writing this is setting. I’m not very good at writing setting in general, but for some reason, I’ve been having a lot of difficulty in this book.

What do you feel is the weakest point of this project?

I think that the weakest part of this is the tone. I don’t know if you can see from the excerpt above, but everything Free says sounds flat or like she’s a zombie herself. I’ve tried to edit it the best I can, but it’s only the first draft.

Now what’s the strongest point?

The plot definitely. I’m not going to tell you the whole plot because this’ll be published one day and I don’t want to spoil you. I really like it, though, so you should take my word for it. 🙂

Who will this project appeal to?

I don’t really know. When I’m writing, I don’t usually think about who will read it, so I’m going to go with teenagers? It is a YA book after all.

What are your plans for this project?

Like I said before, I’m hoping to get it published. I don’t have any kind of agent or publisher yet but I’m crossing my fingers. There might be a sequel, but I don’t really know because I haven’t gotten that far into the story.

Which project/s will you work on next?

Maybe the one about the guy who’s a flower? I don’t know. I usually write whatever I’m feeling at the time.

Tell us anything you’re bursting to tell us here! Then tag in all and sundry, because we love hearing about other peoples writing!

Everyone who’s blog I read was pretty much tagged on Holly’s post, but I’ll tag a few people.

Gabriel

K.J.

Jedidja

 

Thank you again, Holly, for tagging me to do this! It was tons of fun and I love to talk about my writing!

Thank you for reading this rather long post and I’ll see you all again very soon!

9 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday Tag!

  1. You have some really interesting ideas in there! I’m so curious about how you tackle the guy who’s a flower, you definitely caught my attention with that one.
    I didn’t think your excerpt sounded flat either, there’s definitely some of Free’s bubbly self in there 🙂 I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who has lots of different projects at different points at once!

    Thanks for sharing, it was a fun read 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! The flower one is going to be kind of difficult, but I have most of the plot figured out, so that SHOULD help. I’m glad you’re interested- I’ll keep you updated.
      Maybe it was just me, then. For some reason I could feel that the tone was flat, but I guess not. Free’s personality does show through a lot in the first chapter. 🙂
      I’m always working on more than one project but it gives me the freedom to write whatever I feel like at the time.
      Thank you for reading it! (It was kind of long- so I’m sorry for that.) 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re just like me Jasmine! I have too many ideas. I’ve narrowed down to the six I’m most invested in right now. You have such interesting ideas. The story about the guy who’s a flower has especially peaked my interest 🙂 Your secret project must be something you’re especially close to. I also love a good story about witches. So much goodness offered!
    I actually really enjoyed your excerpt. Definitely not flat. I’m already interested in discovering more about Free and her life! Best of luck with it 🙂 You have a lot to share with the world. Don’t be afraid to pursue those dreams!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad I’m not alone! I HAVE narrowed mine down. I used to have at least fifteen different ideas before I chose the ones I didn’t really care about or the ones that would never be written.
      Thank you! I thought that my ideas were normal like a writer’s brain would come up with but I guess not?
      I’ll definitely have to share some of my flower story with you. I also don’t have a name for it so we’re just going to refer to it as a flower story or the one with the guy who’s a flower. 😛
      My secret project is pretty special to me. 🙂
      I think my witch one can go places. Like I said in the post, it’s about witches who are fugitives which I think is an interesting concept.
      Thanks again! I’m glad you liked the excerpt! Free is definitely a character I want to write about more.
      Good luck to you, too! Those words are much appreciated. 🙂 Thank you for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I can see what you’re saying about the tone in the excerpt being a little flat, but I just took that as who Free is. You know, like, why shouldn’t she sound a bit zombie-like? She’s been living with zombies for thirteen years. Her personality does come through, though. I think the flatness of it comes from her explaining how things are but not reacting very much to how things are. For example, her mother licking her hair. I had a reaction to that (a huge reaction), but she didn’t. But after a decade of her mother licking her hair, she wouldn’t have a reaction to it. She would just sit there while her mother licks her hair. So it’s like her personality has been eroded a bit over the years as she’s grown accustomed to the way things are. That’s actually a pretty genius way of writing her. If it helps, you can say that you purposely wrote her that way. Haha. 🙂

    By the way, in the third paragraph from the bottom, the one that starts with, “Usually when she gave me her knife,” there’s a part later on that reads, “so grabbed my favorite book.” Was that supposed to read, “so I grabbed my favorite book?”

    By the way again, I love zombies and zombie stories. I even posted a romantic zombie story last Valentine’s Day that I wrote while in my first creative writing class. If you feel like reading it (link below this paragraph), remember to play the videos as they come up. Yes, there are two less-than-30-second videos that are important to the story. If you don’t have time to read it, that’s fine. I just wanted to throw it out there since we’re talking about zombies.
    https://gabriel360live.wordpress.com/2015/02/14/romance-of-the-dead/

    Anyway, I loved your excerpt (and I love the name Free) and I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love that! It might sound kind of cheesy because every writer says it and I don’t believe that bullshit for a second, but I feel like Free as a character just wrote her own lines. I guess since she WAS raised by zombies, she would sound like that so I like the way you explained it. Thanks for giving me a little insight. 🙂

      Yes, it was just a typo. It’s supposed to say “so I grabbed my favorite book.” Thanks for catching that.

      I love zombies, too! I spent a whole summer playing zombie games on the Xbox with my younger brother. 🙂 I’ll definitely check it out!

      Thanks for reading! I’m glad you liked the excerpt. 🙂 I figured that Free was the perfect name and the title too (Land of the Free) they’re both pretty ironic considering the situation. I’ll be posting more excerpts from it in the future. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: WIP Excerpt: Land of the Free | Écrits du Coeur

  5. Pingback: WIP Wednesday- Characters (TAG) | Écrits du Coeur

Leave a Reply

