7 Deadly Writing Sins | Tag Tuesday

7deadlywritingsins

Happy Tuesday, lovely people!

I was “officially tagged” by Mollie to do this so here I am. Doing it. I think this should be really fun and I love seeing other people’s answers to these questions.

If you haven’t been tagged yet, I’m tagging you right now. Go do this.

 

Pride- share a line or small scene that you’re really proud to have written

“It was a gloomy day outside as the heavy moisture fell from the dark sky. Little daylight shone through the dull clouds that made the sky look like midnight.

I quickly thought of a poem to remember that exact moment.

 

The bleak sky

Is filled with dread

As pictures pass by

With important words unsaid.”

This is a piece from a contemporary novel I’m working on which is actually based on a song. I might make a blog post about it sometime.

Envy-Tell us about the book you wish that you’d written.

There’s a lot of these. I kind of wished I had written the Harry Potter series, though. Not really for the fame (although that would be a great bonus) but because the series is a big part of my life and I know a lot of other people’s as well so it’d be a huge accomplishment.

Wrath- Tell us about the trope or cliche that makes you furious.

I don’t know if this can really be considered a trope or a cliche, but in every single YA book that I’ve read, the characters always say “I let go of the breath I didn’t know I was holding.” When I read this, the story and the author immediately become cheesy and I no longer want to read it.

Glutton-Tell us about the trope you just can’t get enough of.

The bad boy in the story. I’m talking about that one guy who has a bunch of tattoos or calls characters names that I’m not actually going to say or even if they’re something badass like a werewolf. I will forever read stories with these people.

Lust-Tell us about a character you’d do unspeakable things to.

Probably to a person with the qualities mentioned in the answer above. Some of the top characters would include: Noah Shaw from the Mara Dyer series and Dimitri Belikov and Adrian Ivashkov both from the Vampire Academy series. Of course, there are many more but I’m just naming a few.

Sloth-Tell us about your favorite form of procrastination.

My name is Jasmine and I have a problem. I’m addicted to scrolling through online bookstores. I’ve tried to stop it, but nothing works. I don’t even have money but I still continuously add things to my shopping cart. It’s slowly taking over my life and driving the people I love away. I have a problem.

Greed-Tell us which authors top of your auto-buy list.

John Green is probably my number one. During the P4A (Project For Awesome. If you haven’t heard of it, you should really look it up) campaign that he and his brother made a 48 hour livestream for, John told us about a book he’d been writing and I’m just waiting for a name so that I can buy it. 🙂

Number two is probably Kiera Cass. The Crown is coming in May and you better believe I already have it preordered.

The last one I’m going to say is probably Kiersten White. She wrote the Paranormalcy series and is working on a new book which I believe is called And I Darken. I haven’t preordered it yet mostly because I have no money. I really need to get a job. How else am I going to fuel my book buying addiction?


 

Thank you so much, Mollie, for tagging me to do this! I had a lot of fun answering.

“That’s it for this episode- thanks for tuning in!” Thank you for reading and I’ll see you guys later!

6 thoughts on “7 Deadly Writing Sins | Tag Tuesday

  1. I haven’t read Paranormalcy by Kiersten White but I’m really excited for And I Darken, it sounds amazing!

    Thanks for sharing that awesome snippet from your work in progress, it’s a lovely little scene 🙂

    Instead of scrolling through online bookstores I add books to my to be read shelf on Goodreads lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paranormalcy is really great! I don’t know why, but when I read it, I always feel like I’m cozy and my mind is solely in the book and I LOVE books like that.

      The cover for And I Darken is so pretty! I’m so excited for it to come out. Hopefully by the time it’s out, I have money. 😛

      Awww! Thank you! I worked for about a week on that scene. In the future, I’ll be talking a little more about it because the process I went though to write what I’ve written is kind of crazy. The inspiration, like I said in the post, was from a song that I love which I think is awesome. It was the first time I’ve ever taken a song and turn it into a story.

      Goodreads is another addiction of mine. It’s hard to look away from all of the pretty books. 🙂

      Sorry for the verbose comment, but when I get going, I can’t stop. Thank you for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your little excerpt! I can’t wait to find out more about it. Sounds intriguing 🙂
    Harry Potter holds such a special place in my heart as well and would definitely top my books I wish I had written list.
    I haven’t read the books you’ve mentioned, but I’ll definitely be looking into them now!
    I also have a penchant for spending hours on book buying sites (I recently discovered Book Depository & its offer of free delivery was too much to pass up!) Also Goodreads consumes a lot of my time. I love looking for great new ideas for books to read.
    Thanks for sharing your replies with us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! That excerpt is definitely something I’m proud of. 🙂 I’m glad you think it’s good!
      The books I’ve mentioned are GREAT and you really should check them out.
      I’ve never heard of Book Depository. Thanks Faith. Now I have to go look at more books I can’t buy…. 😛 I’ll have to look it up because free delivery is a huge deal!
      It was my pleasure! Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

        • So far, there has been no procrastination (other than writing these comments because I’m technically supposed to be doing my school work ;P). I fully agree with that statement. It seems that if I was GOING to procrastinate, books are the best way to do it. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

