Friday Prompts #3

Hello, lovelies! I just realized that I haven’t done a Friday Prompts in ages! I’m back, though and ready to do this!

I went to the park with my dog on Wednesday. It was a nice relaxing day since it wasn’t 100° (I live in Texas) and I was feeling a little stuffy in my house. For some reason, as we were at the park, I noticed this set of trees (pictured below). I felt compelled to them and I knew I wanted to write about it.

2016-01-27_15.50.46

I’ve seen many people doing this type of prompt (using a picture) and I think it’s a good idea. Since this one’s a little different, you guys don’t have to do it but you can if you’d like.

If I ever stop rambling, you’ll get to read my short story so here we go:

 

Trees of Love: A Short Story

“What are we doing here?” I asked him with suspicion in my voice. The sun was shining brightly on that chilly January day. Not many birds were chirping, but every once in a while you could hear the call of a crow somewhere in the distance.

I’d been to the park near our house a few times so I wasn’t sure exactly why I was there, but I was going to go along with it.

He stopped pulling on my hand and turned around to face me. “You’ve been asking that for ten minutes straight. You. Will. See. When. We. Get. There.”

I just laughed. He kept reaching his hand in his pocket and rummaging around before pulling it back out and wiping his hand on his jeans.

What was he hiding? I swiftly stuck my hand in his pocket and grabbed what was there before he jumped away from me. “Hey!” he said.

“What is this?” I asked, confused. It seemed to be some kind of seed and there were two of them.

“Why, they’re seeds,” he said matter-of-factly.

I looked at him with my lips pursed, “I clearly see that.”

“Then why’d you ask?”

A sigh, “Why do you have seeds in your pocket?”

“It’s a surprise.”

“Just tell me.”

“Fine, since we’re almost there. I paid the park to let us have a tiny plot of land. It’s only big enough to fit two trees.”

“So you’re taking me on a gardening mission?” I asked. “Why’d you even buy it? We can plant trees in our backyard.”

He smiled that sweet smile of his that made me say ‘I do’. He knew I couldn’t resist that smile. “Come on,” he said and started to pull my hand once again.

After a few minutes of us walking, he stopped at a small piece of grass with four wooden stakes in the shape of a square. “This is our plot of land.”

“Wow,” I said. “We can build a house on it.”

“It’s not about a house,” he said and pulled a small shovel out of his other pocket. “It’s all about the trees.” He began digging two holes, both no more than a few inches wide and a few inches deep. “Here.” He placed the seed in my hand and gestured to one of the holes.

I placed it in carefully and threw some dirt over it, patting the earth down flat. He did his next, following the same steps I did.

“What was the point of that?” I asked him.

“If you don’t know, you’ll have to find out later.”

****

“Where are we going?” I asked.

“You never catch on, do you?” he said back.

Suddenly, a thought came to me. “The seeds?”

He gave me that heart-melting smile and nodded. “I’ve been checking on them and they’re finally grown.”

It was a little over two years that we planted those seeds but I never once thought more about them. He always did things on a whim, most of which I’m never sure the point of. But here we were, in the middle of April, looking for our trees.

I was kind of excited and I didn’t know why. He led me down the same path all those years ago and we finally made it to our piece of land.

It looked completely different. Other weeds and grasses had grown in the dirt and a new building- a bathroom- was built right behind it. And where there were two freshly dug holes, were now two beautiful trees.

One of them leaned into the other one and it looked almost as if arms were out to catch it, holding it in a hug.

I started to cry. “I get it now,” I said through my tears.

He smiled and pulled me into a hug.

Those trees were us. We grew from nothing into something so lovely. His arms enveloped me just as the tree’s arms did the other.

We were the trees of love.


 

Thank you so much for reading and I really hope you enjoyed this! See you later!


All written works are mine.

 

3 thoughts on “Friday Prompts #3

  1. This story…ugh…I have tears! Real. Tears. So beautiful and such a great message! “We grew from nothing into something so lovely.” That quote is going up on my wall–I LOVE IT!!! Awesome use of a picture prompt. You should do more of those in the future. Great job! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I actually didn’t think that it was tear worthy but I guess I was wrong. Looking at that quote from a different angle, I can see what you mean. 🙂
      I like the idea of picture prompts so I’ll be taking more pictures!
      Thank you for your nice comments. You never fail to make me smile. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

