Reader Problems Book Tag

readerproblemsreal

Welcome back to another Tag Tuesday, my lovely readers! I’m going to be doing the Reader Problems Book Tag originally created by About To Read on YouTube.

Here we go with the questions:

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I usually just read whatever I’m feeling at the time. I might buy a book and not read it until years later because I wasn’t feeling it.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

Neither and both at the same time. My problem is that I’ll start reading a book and about halfway through, I feel like reading something else. I tell myself that I’ll come back to it after I finish reading the other book but it ends up sitting on my currently reading she;f for a year and a half (literally). I eventually pick it back up after reading a million in between.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

It depends. In 2015, I made a goal to read 65 books. Three days before January, I had read 64 books so of course I tried to catch up (and I made it!) but if I had only read half of it, no. I would most likely give up. To answer the question of how: the last day of December, I read a short play by Shakespeare to get that last book.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

I don’t think I’ve read any books where the covers in the series don’t match but one comes to mind when I read this question. Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins sort of matches Rebel Belle (but not really) and I only mind a little. Yes, the covers do catch our attention first, but it’s what’s inside that matters.

5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

No one I know likes books as much as I do so I don’t tell anyone my feelings either way. I do occasionally rant to my mom about it but she usually doesn’t know what I’m taking about. 🙂

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Just let it out. If a book makes you cry, then it’s a good book, and if you cry, people try to comfort you and you have an excuse to tell them about how good the book you’re reading is. Now, you’ve helped someone.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?

Sometimes I re-read the book if I absolutely loved everything about it. If not, I just go straight into the sequel and if I have questions, look it up!

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

Just tell them no. Be assertive.

spongebob assertive

(Yes, I just used Spongebob to tell you my feelings.)

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

Read an easy book such as The Selection by Kiera Cass and soon, you’ll want to read again. If that doesn’t work, quit and watch Netflix.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

All of them. I’m usually the girl to preorder every book that I want as soon as the author says the title. After that, they’re already bought and you have to keep buying them. 🙂

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

It really depends. Again, I read a book and then get a new one and put it down but sometimes that’s not the case. I bought a book for my birthday from Barnes & Noble and I was excited to read it, but now it’s been sitting on my shelf since July, just waiting for me to pick it up.

_______________________________________________________________

Thanks for reading and I hope you liked it. If there are any tags you’d like to see me do then comment them below!

6 thoughts on “Reader Problems Book Tag

  1. I, too, will get distracted half way through a book and decide to read something else. Its why I currently have about five books started–all in various stages of reading completion.
    Depending on how long it’s been in between books, is the basis of whether or not I’ll re-read before the sequel. I had to do it with the Harry Potter books bc four years was a long time to remember what happened in 700 pages 😛
    Loved you answers! Thanks for sharing them 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

