Writing Q & A! (My first post)

I was tagged by Mollie to do the Writing Q&A so here I am…my first post….about me…

Maybe I’ll do some more posts? I don’t know we’ll see!

When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to?

I first started writing maybe five years ago in 2010/2011. I never imagined being a writer. In school I hated reading and writing and really school in general but I loved to tell stories and figured I might as well write them down.

What genre do you write?

I like to write all kinds of YA (Young Adult) fiction. I have written some contemporary, some paranormal, some post- apocalyptic. It really depends on how I feel at the time.

Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?

Right now, I’m working on a story titled Hollow. It’s a sci-fi book about robots! I started writing it at the beginning of 2015 but stopped to take on my NaNoWriMo novel.

What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?

The first actual piece was called A Ghostly Kiss and it was based on a dream I had about a ghost who was really hot. The book was about a ghost who was really hot. Maybe once I spruce it up, I’ll get it published. 🙂

What’s the best part about writing?

In my opinion, the best part about writing is before you do any of the actual writing. I like thinking about the story and working out all of the details in my head before it’s actually written out.

What’s the worst part about writing?

The editing. I. Hate. It. Reading the same terribly written story over and over again to get it right is boring and hard. That’s probably why I don’t have anything published yet.

What’s the name of your favorite character and why?

My favorite character at the time is this guy I named Stone. He’s really funny and acts like a total jerk to impress everyone, but the thing about being the writer is that you know who the person is on the inside. He’s actually a sweetheart.

How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?

“I try to write everyday” is everyone’s answer, but I actually DO try to write everyday. I’m still in school so it takes up most of my time, but I count that as writing because it is writing. If we’re talking about writing my WIP, I try to write about it a few days a week at the least. I like to write at night, but it’s pretty impossible with all the things going on once everyone gets home from work and school.

Did you go to college for writing?

I’m still in High School, so nope. I do intend to go to college to be a publicist, though.

What bothers you more: speeling errors; punctuation, errors, or errors for grammar?

Although all of those bother me, I have to say spelling. NaNoWriMo was hard for me since there were so many spelling errors. But I survived!

What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?

Nobody in my family are writers so the only thing I really know is what people tell me on Twitter. “Write what your heart tells you.” Is most likely my favorite.

What advice would you give to another writer?

Exactly what I was told. Write from your heart. Write what you love to write and don’t let anyone tell you it’s wrong. Literature is personal and you can make it any way you want.

What are your favorite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?

I really like The Creative Penn. She gives out such great writing tips. I also like Mollie’s Musings. She always has extremely funny posts and they never fail to make me smile.

Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?

I like reading (that’s a given) and playing my violin. I also like doing DIYs although they never turn out right. Lastly, browsing bookstores is something that I’ve been doing for years and I love it because books smell nice.

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?

The best book I read this year was probably “Eleanor and Park” by Rainbow Rowell. It was such a sweet and heartfelt book and if you haven’t read it yet, you should.

What’s the best movie you’ve seen this year?

Paper Towns” definitely. I loved both the book and the movie so much.

What is your favorite book or series of all time?

That’s a hard one. Maybe The Selection series by Kiera Cass? It really is like picking a favorite child.

Who is your favorite author?

Mmmm…. Kiera Cass or John Green. I have a lot of more favorite authors, but those are my top two.

What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?

Try to write some of my Sci-Fi novel and maybe edit my NaNoWriMo one.

Where else can we find you online?

You can find me on Instagram and Twitter!

 

I don’t read very many blogs, so I can’t really tag anyone who most likely haven’t done it so I’ll just leave it at that.

 

I hope you liked that one and if you want me to do more, just say so and I’ll try. Also, would you like me to post bits and pieces of my writing? I wouldn’t mind doing that at all!

10 thoughts on “Writing Q & A! (My first post)

  1. Hey. I caught your comment about your first post over in Mollie’s Musings. Since I enjoy reading first posts (Did I really just say something that cheesy?), I figured I’d take a look at yours.

    So far, so good. I’ll look forward to reading more posts from you. And yes, I’d love to read an excerpt or two (or how many you feel like posting) of your writing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. *SQUEE* This post made me so happy 😀 Great Job!!! And welcome to the blogging community. It was great getting to know more about you. I love these types of things because we’re so limited on Twitter with what we’re able to share about yourselves. I really hope that you’ll start posting more because we’d all love to read your stories…and yes, by we, I mean the ENTIRE Internet since I obviously speak for everyone.
    I had no idea you were still in high school *starts to frantically read back through Twitter history to make sure I haven’t warped you* You have a matureness about you and it shows in your writing. I think you’re wonderful (but you know this already!) Keep up the fantastic work and I look forward to reading more. Thank you again for doing this little Q&A ! It’s fun when everyone plays along 😀
    *bounces off to stalk you on Instagram and send you gif on Twitter*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Mollie! I always forget that people think I’m older but I’m pretty used to it. 🙂 I’ll prepare myself to post some of my writing since NO ONE ON THE PLANET has read anything I’ve written. You guys get to be the first! Mine will be nothing like your posts but I’ll try! (I love getting gifs BTW so you can send them any time!)

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re so welcome. I used to get that all the time as well 🙂
        YAY for posts! We’d – the collective Internet and myself – be honored to be the first to read your stuff. Posting is a great way to get a lot of great feedback and everyone is extremely supportive. PLEASE don’t write posts like mine!!! Write BETTER ones. If you want to read great blog posts, go read Al’s or KJ’s…someone good like that ;p But I’m sure whatever you decide to do with your blog will be amazing!!! And if you have any questions or need any help at all, don’t hesitate to ask. But maybe ask someone who knows what they’re doing…SPOILER ALERT: it isn’t me. LOL! I’ll be over here finding the perfect gifs for you! XD

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m actually writing something right now that I might put up in the next day or so so be ready for it!
        I haven’t read KJ’s blog but I’ve read Als’s and I can agree that it’s pretty good, but yours is as well!

        Like

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Ecrits du Coeur! | Writing Q&A – Écrits du coeur

Leave a Reply

